We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Insecure online booking”
Review of Twin City Liner

Twin City Liner
Ranked #113 of 586 things to do in Vienna
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: The Twin City Liner links Vienna and Bratislava, center to center. From Schwedenplatz in Vienna to Bratislava´s Old Town. The Twin City Liner is a high-speed catamaran which speeds up to 70 km/h. It also provides a high level of comfort. The catamaran is fully air-conditioned and equipped with luxurious first-class seating, panoramic windows, an open-air deck, an additional passenger cabin Captais Lounge) and outdoor seats on sun deck. The catering service board offers snacks, drinks and souvenirs. Travelling time: 75-90 minutes. The best way to discover Vienna and Bratislava!
London
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Insecure online booking”
Reviewed August 14, 2013

The boat trip, was okay.. broadly as you might expect. The online booking form sends your credit card details without any security. A few days later my bank called to suspend my card after some small fraudulent transactions. So keep an eye on the SSL certificate and don't book online until they have this sorted. There's little advantage in pre-paying anyway as you still have to queue on arrival to collect your tickets, and the situation was chaotic and may test your patience.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Daniel L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

262 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    103
    97
    36
    10
    16
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
138 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Thieves and crooks”
Reviewed August 9, 2013

Just been totally ripped off. Bought a return but got given the wrong time. They insisted on ten euros each to change the tickets to the time we asked for and said that there was only one free seat left so we had to pay another five euros to get a reserved seat. Funny thing is we spoke to another couple who were told that there was only one non reserved seat left and as there were loads of seats left it is clear this is a scam by the company or its employees.

Thing is Bratislava is so boring everyone will pay extra to get out. No point in leaving Vienna for Bratislava, don't bother and you won't be scammed

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
5 Thank Clive59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool
Level 6 Contributor
147 reviews
44 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
“Not the Blue Danube.”
Reviewed July 15, 2013

We took the trip from Vienna to Bratislava by boat at the beginning of July. I booked the tickets on line, but from a bank statement noticed that I had booked two tickets twice, because on one attempt there was what I thought was an error message. I thought it would be easy to sort out when we went to pick up the tickets at their office by the boat landing stage. The woman behind the counter wasn't interested and insisted on printing off all four tickets, and said 'use the internet'. We thought we might be able to sell them on the day but the 9.00 boat wasn't busy, and people had bought tickets in advance. I don't expect to get my money back.
I had bought reserved seats for an extra 5 euros each so we had four on the first row, and thought at least we would have a good view. The journey is basically due east so the reward for the first four rows of paying extra is a greenhouse experience at this time of the morning, all the way to Bratislava. Row five and backwards is in shade. Before we set off there were people sitting on the outdoor seating on the upper deck who obviously thought they had the best seats. When the hydrofoil reaches the Danube proper it travels at speeds of up to 60 km an hour and even on a warm day its like sitting in a wind tunnel. Only the hardiest stayed on the upper deck.
The first stretch of the journey is along the canal which has little of interest along its banks, and that is even truer of the Danube itself. Both are brown. There are trees along the bank in a low lying landscape, with the odd barge or fishing hut being the only points of interest. The only scenic part is immediately before Bratislava. There is very little information on the boat, but someone comes round selling a tour of Bratislava.
The good thing for us was that we were staying at Marrol's Boutique Hotel, which I do highly recommend, and it is only 200 metres from the the Bratislava landing stage. Overall it is worth asking yourself whether it is worth paying a lot more than travelling by train, to spend an hour and 40 minutes ploughing along a boring stretch of river. If you do want to, book a place but don't reserve a seat in the first four rows. We were travelling by train on the rest of our holiday and saw a lot more of the country side than on the boat.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank petefLiverpool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensboro, North Carolina, United States
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Pleasant trip”
Reviewed July 10, 2013 via mobile

This was a nice relaxing way to get to Bratislava for a daytrip from Vienna. Even the booking agent will tell you the bus is cheaper, so you can do boat bus combo. The boat was a nice option for our family traveling with children and a teenager who need to move around. The boat announcements provided a little information about the journey.

Helpful?
Thank Amy K
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Oslo, Norway
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
43 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Oh, well...”
Reviewed May 19, 2013

Ordering tickets online is easy, boarding is in the city center - an easy way to travel between capitals. Not the cheapest way though, and honestly not too much to see along the river (and no information). We went in by boat, returned by train - a good compromise.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank llrree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Twin City Liner also viewed

 

Been to Twin City Liner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing