We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean Hotel with good location in a budget Price”
Review of Hotel Caroline

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Caroline
Ranked #143 of 360 Hotels in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
Ulm, Germany
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Clean Hotel with good location in a budget Price”
Reviewed March 9, 2014

The Good Points: - The Hotelstaff were very freindly and helpful
- The room was very clean. There was a floor-heating on the floor both in
the room and bathroom
- Breakfast was good. There were variety of food and the waitress were very
polite. Moreover it is included in the Hotel price so it is perfect.
- For the price it is very reasonable.
For the location: It is far from the city. But it is very easy the travel by Metro. It is 5 Minute walk from Metro Station. (The Bus Stop are right in front of the hotel. You can optionally take a bus for just one stop to get to the metro. When you are lazy to walk. :) ) So for the location, in my point of view, I don't think that it is a bad point from this hotel. Because it is not complicate at all to use transportation in Vienna.

The only thing that bother me was that I stayed in the 3rd Floor and the Signal for Wifi was too weak. So this point, It would be nice for the hotel to improve.

However when I go back to Vienna again. This hotel would defenitely one of my choice.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Yodhathai S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

247 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    92
    116
    32
    5
    2
See reviews for
68
76
37
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sussex
Level 6 Contributor
93 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2014

We were there on business for a week. We chose the rooms at the rear to avoid the noise that some reviewers mentioned. The view was of forty metal shed rooves, I am not kidding. Possibly the ugliest view in Vienna. In future, I would stay in the much nicer, larger rooms at the front. Yes, a bit of street noise but Vienna is hardly a teeming metropolis. The rooms have these funny little old fridges (may once have been mini bars). When I read this in advance I was delighted but not one of us had a fridge that worked. Take a kettle or coffee maker as there is nothing there at all after breakfast...I couldn't even find a vending machine. The hotel is in the rather undesirable area called Favoriten but we didn't find it at all scary and it was so convenient for transport. Beware Sundays in Austria, even in Vienna, everything is closed. A few minutes' from a big shopping centre, metro and bus right outside. Breakfast was very good- lovely bread, fresh fruit, the usual cheese and salami but better quality than you'd expect in a budget hotel and it's in a modern, attractive room.. I will definitely be back - not perhaps for a special break but for work it is exactly what you need - clean, quiet, efficient and excellent value for money in this expensive city.

Room Tip: Larger rooms are at the front of the building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank littlelambSussex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Novi Sad, Serbia
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed February 12, 2014

Everything was so good. We had a room facing the street but there was no noise. It was warm and clean. Metro station is not far. Breakfast was great and hotel is generally very nice place. The staff was friendly.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Snave2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belgrade, Serbia
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2014

I always stay here when going to Vienna. Clean and cozy hotel with large, warm rooms and great breakfast. Family atmosphere, the staff is great.
Good location - not very far from city center (there is a bus and subway station close by).

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lavidaesuncarnaval
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Regensburg, Germany
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2014

Have been in Vienna over the Christmas, stayed here for three nights. The location was really good, well connected by bus, tram and the U-Bahn (subway). The Keplerplatz U-Bahn stop is just a five-minutes walk. The staff were quite friendly and helpful. Well maintained rooms, quality breakfast and a quiet atmosphere made for a pleasant stay. Couldn't have asked for more for what I paid. I would surely recommend...even to families and young couples.
I found a small Christmas tree with some cookies left on my table on Christmas eve - a nice gesture!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Akash C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2013

Overall, I was very pleased with my stay at Hotel Caroline. I had a double room, which was quite large. The bed was comfortable and I hardly heard a noise during my stay. The entire hotel was clean and bright. I didn't see too many hotel staff during my stay but those I interacted with were pleasant and professional. The continental breakfast was well stocked and had good options. Wifi worked well.

The nearest U-bahn stop (metro/subway - Kepplerplatz) is only about a 5 minute walk away. You can be at the Opera House or St. Stephenplatz (cathedral stop) in about 10 minutes once you are on the subway. The only reason I gave location "3 stars" (instead of 4) is because I'm not sure I would feel completely comfortable walking alone in the area at night.

Note: Let the hotel know if you are going to arrive late as the reception desk closes at 10pm. They will wait for you if they know you are coming.

Room Tip: A room facing the courtyard will probably protect you from street noise. (Rm 204 is good, for exampl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Travelling_Prof99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lyon
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2013

Very friendly and helpful staff. Nice clean room. Good breakfast. But the room smelled awfully cheap perfume from the sheets. Warning for all people with allergic problems.
Rooms were clean and refreshed.

Room Tip: Seems like all rooms were quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bjornebs498
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Hotel Kolbeck
#223 of 360 in Vienna
218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
AZIMUT Hotel Vienna
#189 of 360 in Vienna
668 reviews
Wieden
Hotel Prinz Eugen
Hotel Prinz Eugen
#136 of 360 in Vienna
965 reviews
Hotel Schani Wien
#36 of 360 in Vienna
702 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Caroline? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Caroline

Property: Hotel Caroline
Address: Gudrunstrasse 138 | 1100 Wien, Vienna 1100, Austria
Location: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #143 of 360 Hotels in Vienna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Caroline 3*
Number of rooms: 79
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Caroline reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing