We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Kursalon Wien - Sound of Vienna
  
Ways to Experience Kursalon Wien - Sound of Vienna
from $50.53
More Info
from $94.33
More Info
from $88.71
More Info
Reviews (859)
Filter reviews
783 results
Traveler rating
402
209
83
46
43
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
402
209
83
46
43
Show reviews that mention
All reviews opera singers classical music concert hall course dinner entertaining evening small orchestra vip package vip seats front row piece orchestra lead violinist excellent concert chamber orchestra classical pieces blue danube cheapest tickets johann strauss
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 783 reviews
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

This review is a bit late but I will still go ahead. We attended the Christmas gala last year, just wanted to add a bit of Christmas spirit on Christmas Day. Some friends criticised us as they think those concerts are targeting on tourists, but what’s wrong with doing what tourists should do especially it is festive.

In dining hall we were sitting with our friend along with other tourists. A couple told us they have been attending this gala for 4 years, they just can’t have enough. The food was actually quite good and the people there were quite friendly. Later on we were directed to the concert hall, it was decent size with beautiful deco. We had seats with best view as we bought VIP tickets which were totally worthy. The atmosphere was vibrant and joyful as concert, opera singing and dance were all about fun, nothing too serious or pretentious. The concert lasted about one and half hours which suited us perfectly (we had 3-hour opera the next day, most of us felt asleep even we enjoyed a lot, it was just too long in winter day), at least everyone is awake. Love it.

Date of experience: December 2018
1  Thank EnjoyCruiser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2019

Very nice, classy, venue. Suggest to do everyone a favor and dress up a little. Entertainers, musicians and dancers are excellent!

Date of experience: June 2019
Thank FarAway12114684643
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2019 via mobile

The venue was easy to get to and needs a little updating. I bought the vip tix and got a normal chair in the second row, they also gave us some cd’s and a drink.. it was a little cramped but fine. The music selection from Strauss and Mozart was great. These people lived the music and rendered a wonderful performance. The dancers and singers that came out for some pieces added to a great experience.

Only thing wasn’t great was getting in to get tix, we bought them online and had electronic tix. Upon arriving, we were sent to another line to obtain our paper tickets. Then Waited a 3rd time in line to give our tix. They definitely put their talent into the art\music, not logistics. Hahahhhahah. Well worth it, great experience.

Date of experience: July 2019
Thank djleonard68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2019

We love the location of the hall, and the outside gardens are so beautiful. But the chair set up, dining tables, and concert hall looked like a cheap school auditorium. We bought VIP tickets for the 3 course meal, program, and show.
VIP to them means: one of the first 2 rows, free prosecco, & free cd and program. Nothing else. We waited in line just like everyone else, ate the same food, and drank the same wine. A bit overpriced for that.
The best part of the meal was that it was on site; so you weren't rushing across town after dinner. The food was average. The worst part of the meal was: when the show was getting ready to start, EVERY single diner stood up to "settle their tab." There were 35-50 people in line at the cash register with NO tabs, receipts or checks. The cashier looked at where she thought we were sitting, and charged us accordingly.
The music was beautiful and professional, albeit predictable choices. The singers & "ballet" dancers were college-local town play quality.
I would recommend this to anyone who has NEVER heard an orchestra before or has never been to the ballet or an opera. It is also perfect for children & school or people wanting to see a bit of classical presentations without high cost or involvement.
True opera/ballet/ music lovers & veterans will come away very disappointed.

Date of experience: July 2019
Thank Rene E K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2019 via mobile

Kursalon Wein is an absolutely fantastic and famous concert hall we passed as we were heading to Stadtpark.
Designed by architect Johann Garben and constructed between 1865 and 1867 ,in 1868 the first concert by Johann Strauss took place at the Kursalon .
It's a stunning looking building and I would dearly love to take in a concert here and on my next visit to Vienna will most certainly do this.
Easy to locate on Johannesgasse and most definitely well worth checking out if your planning a holiday to Vienna.

Date of experience: June 2019
Thank 293neilk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2019 via mobile

We bought 2 tickets 1 week in advance for the concert only. When we arrived at the Kursalon Theatre we were told that we had to be bussed to the Hofburg (many blocks away) for the concert. This is not what we paid for. Our evening/dinner reservations were set up close to this venue. We advised the staff that this is not what we paid for and insisted that we be refunded. After active resistance by the staff we insisted on speaking with a manager. We were told by the staff that we had to return the following day for a refund; however after speaking directly with the manager they approved the refund on the spot. We have been to Vienna before and know that this is a scam. Buyer beware, if you buy a ticket from an authorized vendor they will not stand to it and may move your concert to a different location. We paid for the Kursalon Theatre, not another location. The way it was handled is totally inappropriate. Be careful.

Date of experience: May 2019
1  Thank nvlinks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews