We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Steigenberger Hotel Herrenhof Wien
Ranked #29 of 358 Hotels in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed June 10, 2014

My friend and I check into this centrally located hotel and were very happy with our choice. For anyone who is not familiar with Vienna this is a perfect place to stay. Our room was very well appointed with comfortable beds and a great bathroom with shower..We were only one block from the Hofburg Palace and Spanish Riding School and within easy walking distance of shopping and other attractions. Those attraction that are a little further afield like the Schonbrunn Palace are easily reached from here via the subway which is literally around the corner. If you are flying in you would simply take the train to Landgrasse station from the airport and then take the U3 to Herrengasse station which is only three stops and right around the corner from the hotel. Instead of paying the 37 Euro over the top taxi fare from the airport this is a nice alternative and very cheap. The staff were very helpful and you can also have them book tours for you if you are so inclined. However stay away from the Vienna Sightseeing Tours which I have reviewed previously as they are hopeless and definitely not worth the investment. You can get to just about anywhere you want to from this hotel without doing a tour and the staff are happy to explain how to get from point A to B using one of their many maps available at the desk. Vienna is a stunning city and should not be missed.

Room Tip: Corner rooms are the best as they usually have a nice view and are laid out slightly differently. We...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jbarton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EPerwanger, Manager at Steigenberger Hotel Herrenhof Wien, responded to this reviewResponded July 3, 2014

Dear “JBarton”,
Thank you for staying at the Steigenberger Hotel Herrenhof and for sharing your experiences with us. It is fantastic that you had a wonderful time in Vienna and in our hotel. Receiving feedback like yours shows us that our daily efforts are being appreciated.
We hope to welcome you back very soon.

Best regards from Vienna,
Yours Elisabeth Perwanger
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,318)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,335 - 1,341 of 3,319 reviews

A TripAdvisor Member
73
Reviewed June 9, 2014 via mobile

Although the City is one of the most gorgeous in the World the Hotel rounded up everything. Nice personal, perfect breakfast ( i die for it - esp. the pancakes )
Total stunning Bar in my oppinion ( youll See directly when entering the hotel ) very Professional Barista Service and the Most important: the rooms are clean and modern and you just feel good.

Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EPerwanger, Manager at Steigenberger Hotel Herrenhof Wien, responded to this reviewResponded July 3, 2014

Dear guest,
thank you very much for your nice words about your stay at the Steigenberger Hotel Herrenhof. We are proud to read that you liked the services in our hotel and restaurant.
We hope to welcome you back soon.

Best regards from Vienna,
Yours Elisabeth Perwanger
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2014

we have been in this hotel 4 nights, i must say that everything was absolutly perfect! we came quiet early and got a room which didn't seem to look like de-luxe room: narrow bed, small room, we went back to the reception and the woman there was very nice, imidiantly gave us another room which turned to be much bigger and wide bed. so, we had a wonderful time there, very recommended. if somebody from the hotel is reading it, i would suggest - its time to buy new towels, and be more generous with soap, shower cap ect. but these are small things.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank binadresner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EPerwanger, Manager at Steigenberger Hotel Herrenhof Wien, responded to this reviewResponded July 3, 2014

Dear guest “binadresner”,
thank you for staying at Steigenberger Hotel Herrenhof and for giving feedback to us. We are glad that our employees and our standards fulfilled your expectations. We made a note in your guest profile and for your next stay in our hotel you will get a bigger amount of amenities in your room.
We look forward to welcoming you back very soon.

Best regards from Vienna,
Yours Elisabeth Perwanger
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2014

Really nice hotel, extremely helpful reception. Not the largest room, but fine for one night. Not enough room around the sink in the bathroom. Good location for exploring.
Breakfast extremely overpriced.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank katiecake83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2014

I liked the hotel. A lot.

Pros:
Location was perfect for touring Vienna.
Reception was quick and courteous..
Room 509 (corner room) was large and quiet, and 6 windows were great for light and fresh air.
Bathroom was perfect size, and very well maintained.
Beddings were top quality.
WiFi signal was good throughout.

Cons:
Mattress was slightly too soft for my taste. Really, just slightly.
Bathroom amenities were not top notch.
WiFi required registration several times a day.
There were 3 news channels in English, and one sports channel - a rather poor selection.
By far my biggest gripe: the "Business center" is neither. A single computer with German keyboard, running Windows 7, with Internet Explorer browser and Office 2013 suite - and that's it. I had to use Google virtual keyboard to type in English… I am computer literate and still found it hard to do even the most trivial thing - web check-in and printing a boarding pass.

I didn't care to sample breakfast - I thought that 56 Euros for the two of us per day were far too much, especially since there were so many close-by alternatives.
Also, I didn't check the Spa/Gym - I was too busy touring the city.

All-in-all, an excellent choice and highly recommended.

Room Tip: High floor, corner room facing Herrengasse (e.g. 509).
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Neta_Amit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2014 via mobile

This Steigenberger location has friendly and attentive staff. They greeted us warmly and later offered us high quality umbrellas for our tours of the city's sights. The staff in the breakfast buffet were friendly and efficient. The food offerings were good. The room was large, comfortable and well appointed.
The hotel is adjacent to the escalator to the efficient subway system. Recommended.

Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Maineville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2014

Stayed here for conference straight opposite however hotel is very well placed for the u3 and centre. Just round the corner from all the main sights and a safe street. Rooms good with lots of space for clothes and luggage. Air con not very effective so would not like to be here in height of summer. Lovely looking bar but as smoking allowed did not go in, they are forgetting many international visitors do not like smoking.

Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
Thank HolidayGB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Inner City
The Ring, Relais & Chateaux
Serviten Quarter
Hilton Vienna Plaza
Hilton Vienna Plaza
#41 of 358 in Vienna
1,389 reviews
Neubau
Hotel Sans Souci Wien
Hotel Sans Souci Wien
#1 of 358 in Vienna
1,555 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Wieden
Hotel Kaiserhof Wien
Hotel Kaiserhof Wien
#2 of 358 in Vienna
1,896 reviews
Inner City
Palais Hansen Kempinski
Palais Hansen Kempinski
#10 of 358 in Vienna
1,231 reviews
Mariahilf
Hotel Beethoven Vienna
Hotel Beethoven Vienna
#12 of 358 in Vienna
1,401 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Steigenberger Hotel Herrenhof Wien? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Steigenberger Hotel Herrenhof Wien

Address: Herrengasse 10, Vienna 1010, Austria
Phone Number:
Location: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Inner City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Vienna
#10 Spa Hotel in Vienna
#22 Family Hotel in Vienna
#23 Luxury Hotel in Vienna
#26 Romantic Hotel in Vienna
#27 Business Hotel in Vienna
Price Range: $179 - $720 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Steigenberger Hotel Herrenhof Wien 4.5*
Number of rooms: 196
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An unforgettable performance at the Burgtheater, window shopping on Graben, a business dinner overlooking Stephansplatz, or a leisurely tour in a horse-drawn carriage, amid the imperial grandeur that gives the city its unique charm - Vienna is in a class of its own.Many of Vienna's greatest attractions are right on our doorstep. Located in the government quarter in the first district, the Steigenberger Hotel Herrenhof is in the very heart of the old town. The hotel, restaurant, cafe and bar are popular among business and leisure travellers alike. Take a stroll past the Hofburg, Kohlmarkt, State Opera House and the many other nearby sights. Most of Vienna's cultural treasures are just a short walk from the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Steigenberger Hotel Herrenhof Wien reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Steigenberger Hotel Vienna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing