We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for Business, bad for pleasure”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Steigenberger Hotel Herrenhof Wien
Ranked #29 of 360 Hotels in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Vienna
1 review
“Great for Business, bad for pleasure”
Reviewed December 5, 2013

The hotel is well set up for business traveller's but not for a couple there to enjoy the weekend. The location is good but the staff were too busy with a corporate event and the rooms are functional.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Hermione G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EPerwanger, General Manager at Steigenberger Hotel Herrenhof Wien, responded to this review, December 15, 2013
Dear Hermione G,
thank you for your feedback. Of course we deeply regret you did not feel at your ease when staying with us. Of course we take this very seriously and would very much like to have some more details on what made you stay not comfortable enough. If you find the time to give us some more detailed information I would be very thankful.
With kind regards
Elisabeth Perwanger
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,745 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,770
    737
    173
    44
    21
See reviews for
478
1,324
105
535
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed December 4, 2013

Hotel di rango elevato, ottima posizione centrale (con accesso alla metropolitana a soli 5 metri dall'albergo), bell'arredo (da notare il coordinamento tra moquette, pareti, maioliche, ecc.), molto apprezzabile il consumo gratuito delle bevande nel minibar (una sola volta per le camere superior, sempre per le camere de luxe). Unica pecca reale è che Internet sia gratuito solo a velocità ridotta.

High rank hotel, great central location (access to the underground within 5 meters from the building), nice decor (to note the coordination between carpeting, walls, tiles, etc.), very appreciable the free consumption of the drinks inside the minibar (once in the superior rooms, for the entire stay in the deluxe rooms). The only real flaw is that the Internet is free only at reduced speed.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Filaks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EPerwanger, General Manager at Steigenberger Hotel Herrenhof Wien, responded to this review, December 5, 2013
Google Translation
Caro Filaks
Siamo lieti che Lei abbia apprezzato il Suo soggiorno con noi. Grazie per aver preso il tempo per condividere Le Sue imressioni. Speriamo di riverderLa presto qui a Vienna. Con cordiali saluti
Elisabeth Perwanger, direttrice
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
38 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed December 1, 2013

I boked this hotel for one night in August this year and was pleasantly surprised at both the quality of the rooms, and the staff.

We were upgraded to a suite on the top floor which had an amazing view of Old Vienna and was more like a mini-apartment than a hotel room with electric blinds, living room and large bedroom.

The staff were really helpful on exiting the hotel and very keen to please.
If I'm ever in Vienna again I'd visit this hotel, the room rate was pretty reasonable for Vienna and particularly given its very centralised location.

Room Tip: If you can get upgraded then you're in for a treat, we stayed in a suite on the top floor, it wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IanADolan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rancho Cucamonga, California
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed November 27, 2013

We stayed here in mid-November 2013, and don't have a bad thing to say about the hotel and its staff. Our room was clean, and the bed is one of the most comfortable (if not the most comfortable) beds we have slept on. The staff was courteous and polite, and was always accessible to us. The concierge helped me confirm some tours I had already pre-booked, and gave us some excellent suggestions. The location could not be better - it is literally steps away from a U-Bahn station that can easily take you anywhere in the city. Don't worry though - the hotel and rooms are very quiet. The Hofburg complex is across the street, and Kohlmarket shopping and Stephensplatz are less than five minutes away. We aren't big breakfast eaters so we only ate the Continental breakfast one of the mornings we were there. It was fine although there are many other places to eat in the area. The Central Cafe is a few doors down, and has some spectacular pastries. There is also an excellent bakery a few doors down in the opposite direction. The only thing lacking from this hotel was a jacuzzi. It would have been nice to have access to one in the spa area. There is a sauna and steam room, but no jacuzzi. This hotel is an excellent choice for a Vienna visit. Without a doubt we will stay there the next time we are in Vienna.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 30somethingtravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2013

A very elegant and stylish hotel. The staff was very friendly and most helpful. The food was absolutely awesome (Mathias was an excellent bartender too!) It was a great location. Would love to stay here again on our next visit!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rde_dallas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
97 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2013

This is a nice hotel for business travel. It has a great location next to the U-bahn and easy to reach by taxi. The reception staff is very friendly and polite. I had a conference there and the conference rooms are of great quality and well equipped. The restaurant: breakfast is perfect, lunch and dinner even better. It has a small gym with good equipment and very clean like the rest of the restaurant. The rooms are in Vienna style somewhat traditional in my taste but very nice indeed. The bed slept really comfy and the room was spacious and very clean. All in all good value for money.

Room Tip: Rooms are all fine
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NRoos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EPerwanger, General Manager at Steigenberger Hotel Herrenhof Wien, responded to this review, December 5, 2013
Dear NRoos
Great to see that your stay with us was up to your expectations. We do hope to see you back soon.. Kind regards
Elisabeth Perwanger
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2013 via mobile

I would happily spend a few weeks in this hotel. Not only is the actual building a design dream but the staff, rooms and food are all well worth the price. I stayed in a superior room for two nights with a huge bed, comfortable space and stylish decor. The wall prints, lamps and linens are beautiful and the light and ease of use of the room is perfect. The clothing storage areas are really well designed, two storage areas with plenty of hanging space. The bathroom was impeccable with white and beech wood fittings, a huge bath tub, excellent storage, heated towel racks and a separate toilet. The rooms and the entire hotel were spotless. I ate dinner in the hotel restaurant the first night and could not fault the food or the staff. The breakfasts are delicious with lots of healthy options as well as the favourites. I would definitely return to this hotel but next time, I'd stay much longer.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DivaAdventures
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Inner City
Radisson Blu Style Hotel, Vienna
Inner City
The Ring Hotel
The Ring Hotel
#26 of 360 in Vienna
987 reviews
Inner City
The Guesthouse Vienna
The Guesthouse Vienna
#2 of 360 in Vienna
817 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Inner City
Park Hyatt Vienna
Park Hyatt Vienna
#9 of 360 in Vienna
1,014 reviews
Old University Quarter
Hollmann Beletage
Hollmann Beletage
#4 of 360 in Vienna
1,052 reviews
Inner City
Hotel Am Stephansplatz
Hotel Am Stephansplatz
#11 of 360 in Vienna
2,038 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Steigenberger Hotel Herrenhof Wien? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Steigenberger Hotel Herrenhof Wien

Property: Steigenberger Hotel Herrenhof Wien
Address: Herrengasse 10, Vienna 1010, Austria
Phone Number:
Location: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Inner City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Vienna
#10 Spa Hotel in Vienna
#24 Luxury Hotel in Vienna
#26 Romantic Hotel in Vienna
#27 Business Hotel in Vienna
#33 Family Hotel in Vienna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Steigenberger Hotel Herrenhof Wien 4.5*
Number of rooms: 196
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An unforgettable performance at the Burgtheater, window shopping on Graben, a business dinner overlooking Stephansplatz, or a leisurely tour in a horse-drawn carriage, amid the imperial grandeur that gives the city its unique charm - Vienna is in a class of its own.Many of Vienna's greatest attractions are right on our doorstep. Located in the government quarter in the first district, the Steigenberger Hotel Herrenhof is in the very heart of the old town. The hotel, restaurant, cafe and bar are popular among business and leisure travellers alike. Take a stroll past the Hofburg, Kohlmarkt, State Opera House and the many other nearby sights. Most of Vienna's cultural treasures are just a short walk from the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Agoda, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Hotel.de so you can book your Steigenberger Hotel Herrenhof Wien reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Steigenberger Hotel Vienna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing