We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic location and service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Steigenberger Hotel Herrenhof Wien
Ranked #29 of 361 Hotels in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Wicklow, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Fantastic location and service”
Reviewed September 21, 2013

We arrived at the hotel at 12 noon and were delighted that there were rooms ready for us to check into straight away. All staff without exception throughout our stay of 3 nights were really helpful and courtious. Bedrooms were spacious and really quiet - amazing for a hotel right in the middle of the city. Beds were extremely comfortable. Breakfast had an amazing choice and anything you wanted you could have. The hotel is right beside the U bahn Herrengasse station and the City Bike Hire stop. It is location beside the imperial Palace and the Pedestrian shopping streets.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ger27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,958 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,913
    787
    187
    46
    25
See reviews for
534
1,428
112
556
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
California
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2013

Many Viennese hotels are along the Ringstrasse at the edge of the historic district, this hotel is a better location close to the Hofburg complex and great shopping. Rooms are luxuriously finished to an very high standard (we were in the deluxe rooms). Rooms were extremely quiet. A subway station and a station for Vienna's free CityBIke program is next door. We did not eat the expensive breakfasts here, instead opting for the tasty and historic Cafe Central just down the street. One comment: I expected night turn down service which wasn't provided.

Room Tip: The rear rooms (not on Herrengasse) are very quiet for light sleepers.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fran9669
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodbridge
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2013 via mobile

Hotel is very convenient, as it is 1 min from herrengesse subway station. Very close to imperial palace, St Stephens church, and not too far from Rathausplatz. Rooms were a good size, modern and clean. Staff was very helpful. Plenty of restaurants and shops within walking distance to hotel. Definitely an awesome value compared to other hotels in vienna.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Darnell P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
95 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2013 via mobile

I spent 2 days there for business. The hotel is very nice, great service also in the meeting room, nice, large room with very comfortable beds, rich buffet in the morning and it is just 1 minute walk from the main shopping streets. The only negative experience was the smoking in the bar, but it seems to be an issue all over Vienna.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Krisztian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here with our teenage daughter. From the moment we stepped foot in the hotel we were made welcome. The reception staff were delightful and very efficient. Bernard the concierge was faultless in his role. The room was a corner room spotlessly clean and very generous in size and luxurious, the bathroom was well appointed with a large bath, the bed was very comfortable with pillows to match. The free wifi worked well in all areas of the hotel. The bar on the ground floor was inviting and relaxing. The location of this hotel was central to all the attractions.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank Panda59-Sydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malaga, Spain
Level 6 Contributor
3,585 reviews
108 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3,139 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2013

We just stayed for a week at the Steigenberger Hotel Herrenhof and enjoyed it. This was our second trip to this hotel because we stayed here last year also. Our room was 508 on the fifth floor and our room was quite elegant. The carpet had a color of light and dark brown with a design like brocade, very baroque. The wallpaper behind the headboard had the same design and the bathroom had tile with the same design. Our room was adequately sized and had a black desk with electrical connections. There was adequate storage room for clothes and belongings. The room was very quiet and we could not hear any street noise at all. The bathroom had a very good walk in shower.

The breakfast buffet was elegant and the chairs had a fabric that looked like crochet. The curtains looked like long fringes, which diffused the light from the windows. There was a large variety of bread, fruits and sliced meat. I was able to ask for a fried egg every morning. They also had champagne for those who wanted it. This is one of the best breakfast buffets I have experienced in European hotels.

All the employees we met were very friendly and efficient. The desk was able to book us to two day trips quite rapidly and the buses picked us up at the hotel. For me if a hotel employee is indifferent or unfriendly, it destroys the reputation of the hotel, meaning that the employee was not sufficiently trained. Hotel service is what makes the difference between hotels and not the physical layout of the hotel.

One block away from our hotel was the Hofburg Palace, so it was a good location to be able to see the Sissi Museum and the palace apartments. It took us only 5 minutes to walk to the palace.

On a street that is perpendicular to our hotel’s address in Herrengasse, there is a gourmet supermarket that is very good. It is called Julius Meinl on Am Graben 19. Also close by is a very affordable and good seafood restaurant called Nordsee, at Kohlmarkt 6. The hotel is very close to these two shopping streets and you could walk to the major sights in the historic city.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BennyMalaga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2013

We stayed in this hotel for our honeymoon last week. We travelled from the UK and had never been to Austria. The hotel was beautiful and so reasonably priced. The breakfast buffet was huge and the rooms were so clean. The staff were helpful and polite. The hotel is in the old area and has beautiful buildings around it. There is an underground right around the corner that goes everywhere. We will definitely stay in one of these hotels again. Beautiful!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank verenafoster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Inner City
The Ring, Relais & Chateaux
Inner City
The Guesthouse Vienna
The Guesthouse Vienna
#8 of 361 in Vienna
866 reviews
Inner City
Radisson Blu Style Hotel, Vienna
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old University Quarter
Hollmann Beletage
Hollmann Beletage
#4 of 361 in Vienna
1,076 reviews
Inner City
Hotel Am Stephansplatz
Hotel Am Stephansplatz
#11 of 361 in Vienna
2,100 reviews
Neubau
Hotel Sans Souci Wien
Hotel Sans Souci Wien
#1 of 361 in Vienna
1,450 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Steigenberger Hotel Herrenhof Wien? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Steigenberger Hotel Herrenhof Wien

Property: Steigenberger Hotel Herrenhof Wien
Address: Herrengasse 10, Vienna 1010, Austria
Phone Number:
Location: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Inner City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Vienna
#10 Spa Hotel in Vienna
#24 Luxury Hotel in Vienna
#26 Romantic Hotel in Vienna
#27 Business Hotel in Vienna
#33 Family Hotel in Vienna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Steigenberger Hotel Herrenhof Wien 4.5*
Number of rooms: 196
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An unforgettable performance at the Burgtheater, window shopping on Graben, a business dinner overlooking Stephansplatz, or a leisurely tour in a horse-drawn carriage, amid the imperial grandeur that gives the city its unique charm - Vienna is in a class of its own.Many of Vienna's greatest attractions are right on our doorstep. Located in the government quarter in the first district, the Steigenberger Hotel Herrenhof is in the very heart of the old town. The hotel, restaurant, cafe and bar are popular among business and leisure travellers alike. Take a stroll past the Hofburg, Kohlmarkt, State Opera House and the many other nearby sights. Most of Vienna's cultural treasures are just a short walk from the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Agoda, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Steigenberger Hotel Herrenhof Wien reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Steigenberger Hotel Vienna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing