We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Easter Weekend”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Steigenberger Hotel Herrenhof Wien
Ranked #30 of 360 Hotels in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Memphis, Tennessee
Level Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Fantastic Easter Weekend”
Reviewed May 11, 2013

We visited Vienna with our college aged daughter over the Easter weekend, and thoroughly enjoyed our stay at this hotel. The staff and concierge were fantastic, and the hotel itself had a fantastic location, within walking distance of all of the sites in the central city, and right next to a subway stop which made getting around a snap. The breakfast was excellent,and we had dinner one night in the hotel restaurant and thoroughly enjoyed a wonderful dining experience. I would highly recommend this hotel, it offered spacious rooms, great staff, and a location that can't be beat. It offered a good value for the money in the heart of Vienna.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MidtownerMemphis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,739 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,765
    737
    172
    44
    21
See reviews for
478
1,321
105
532
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
82 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2013

We booked this hotel because it was only 2 minutes from the Hofburg. The hotel was very modern and stylish (not typically/old fashioned Austrian). Very well appointed and quite large room on the side of the hotel. Nice bar/cafe. Friendly staff. Beds were not the most comfortable though. Not cheap - but good value for the location and level of the hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vanturnhout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EPerwanger, General Manager at Steigenberger Hotel Herrenhof Wien, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Dear vanturnhout,
thank you for commenting on your stay here in Vienna and especially on our hotel.
We are happy to read that you enjoyed it so much. If there ist anything we can do, to make your sleep more comfortable next time, please let me know. with kind regards
ep
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
christchurch
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2013

This is our first visit to Vienna. We arrived around 9 a.m. After catching the night train from Zurich. First impressions were immaculate reception area and very friendly welcoming staff. They allowed us an early check in, which was very much appreciated. The room was beautiful with a excellent bathroom. Free mini bar and wifi included in our room rate. Located very close to Spanish riding school, Sisi museum etc. and underground a few metres down the road. Location was excellent with all the designer shopping close by also. We are already planning our next trip to Vienna and will definitely stay here again! We also dined and had breakfast and the food is also of a very high standard.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank romeochristchurch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
55 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2013

The hotel has a very good location. Walking distance to center, St. Stephen cathedral, shopping area & restaurants.
Rooms are Ok, but furniture are a bit old despite of the fact that I booked a superior room.
In general staff are very nice and helpful. Reception staff are a bit slow when checking-in and out. Breakfast is convenient, but I see it a bit expensive compared to other Steigenberger hotels where I pay same value but I find richer buffets. Reception area was repeatedly busy with big groups of tourists & their luggages. I certainly recommend the hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Victors_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2013

I visited the Hotel Herrenhof in October 2012, and returned in April! The hotel was just as good as in October. Staff are really helpful and courteous. Room beautifully clean and well maintained. Love the free minibar - it contains water, fruit juice, 2 beers and soft drinks - a really nice touch. I think the best thing about the hotel is the proximity to the U-bahn, the entrance is right next to the hotel - perfect!
Breakfast is pricey at 28 euros however the hotel has now introduced a 7.50 euro breakfast in the bar. Not sure what it covers as we went round to corner to the Der Mann bakery but it's new since we last visited.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lulu405
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
83 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2013

Stayed for 3 nights in April, fabulous service - even added a cot in the room for our 10 year old daughter free of charge. ( 1 child can share for free, the bed with the parents in this hotel - which incidentially is a great idea and keeps costs down!) The location is second to none, just at the end of Graben street, and beside the Hofburg and Spanish riding school. Just outside the hotel is Herrenhof underground station.
BTW got a great rate using Trivago
This is a hotel where the service is fantastic and not "in your face"
I have paid a lot more for considerably less in other hotels!
Highly recommended!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nairb356
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2013 via mobile

The location of this hotel is outstanding. It is not more than 800 meters from St Stephen Cathedral and right next to both the high end shopping and
Hofburg Palace. The hotel has great rooms and an amazing bar, though the room service menu is rather limited. The service was outstanding. We had booked an evening concert through the Hotel Concierge same morning but unfortunately my wife came down with fever in the afternoon, we were resigned to losing the entire payment on our tickets but the folks at the concierge not only got the tickets cancelled but also got us a full refund. Given the Location, Quality of Rooms and Service it is a "Great Bang for the Buck".

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Manpar14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Inner City
Radisson Blu Style Hotel, Vienna
Inner City
The Ring Hotel
The Ring Hotel
#26 of 360 in Vienna
986 reviews
Inner City
The Guesthouse Vienna
The Guesthouse Vienna
#2 of 360 in Vienna
814 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Inner City
Park Hyatt Vienna
Park Hyatt Vienna
#9 of 360 in Vienna
1,012 reviews
Old University Quarter
Hollmann Beletage
Hollmann Beletage
#5 of 360 in Vienna
1,052 reviews
Inner City
Hotel Am Stephansplatz
Hotel Am Stephansplatz
#11 of 360 in Vienna
2,035 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Steigenberger Hotel Herrenhof Wien? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Steigenberger Hotel Herrenhof Wien

Property: Steigenberger Hotel Herrenhof Wien
Address: Herrengasse 10, Vienna 1010, Austria
Phone Number:
Location: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Inner City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Vienna
#11 Spa Hotel in Vienna
#25 Luxury Hotel in Vienna
#26 Romantic Hotel in Vienna
#27 Business Hotel in Vienna
#33 Family Hotel in Vienna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Steigenberger Hotel Herrenhof Wien 4.5*
Number of rooms: 196
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An unforgettable performance at the Burgtheater, window shopping on Graben, a business dinner overlooking Stephansplatz, or a leisurely tour in a horse-drawn carriage, amid the imperial grandeur that gives the city its unique charm - Vienna is in a class of its own.Many of Vienna's greatest attractions are right on our doorstep. Located in the government quarter in the first district, the Steigenberger Hotel Herrenhof is in the very heart of the old town. The hotel, restaurant, cafe and bar are popular among business and leisure travellers alike. Take a stroll past the Hofburg, Kohlmarkt, State Opera House and the many other nearby sights. Most of Vienna's cultural treasures are just a short walk from the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Hotel.de so you can book your Steigenberger Hotel Herrenhof Wien reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Steigenberger Hotel Vienna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing