We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A nice business trip”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Steigenberger Hotel Herrenhof Wien
Ranked #31 of 362 Hotels in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
61 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“A nice business trip”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 22, 2012

As a business traveller I choose the hotel for location and meeting facilities. Was not disappointed, nice place with good service and friendly staff. I believe is also well suited for leisure as well.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daniel_Melo_Spain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EPerwanger, General Manager at Steigenberger Hotel Herrenhof Wien, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Dear Daniel Melo thank you for your positive comments on your stay in our hotel. We always strive to achieve high results and a high customer satisfaction. it ist great to read, that you were happy with our services and the attitude of our team.
Not only for business a stay at Steigenberger ist an excellent choice. Also for leisure guests we offer a phantastic location, a rich breakfast buffet (on weekends until lunchtime) and good offers in our Spa and Fitness area.
Hope to welcome you back very soon at the Steigenberger. Kind regards.
Elisabeth Perwanger
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,531 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,621
    690
    158
    42
    20
See reviews for
439
1,213
96
500
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2012 via mobile

Enjoyed a super weekend in Vienna & couldn't have picked a better place to stay. Perfect location & walked to all major sights, with lots of lively bars & great cafes & restaurants nearby. The hotel itself also has a really nice bar & restaurant which we tried. The room was extremely comfortable & cosy (nice to come back to after wandering around the Xmas markets), with an excellent bed. Also loved the bathroom which was well thought out & stylish too. Would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GreekAussieChick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EPerwanger, General Manager at Steigenberger Hotel Herrenhof Wien, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Dear GreekAussieChick, great to read that you enjoyed your stay in Vienna and at the Steigenberger. Come back soon, Vienna is always good for a nice trip, in every season.
Kind regards
Elisabeth Perwanger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
89 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2012

We stayed at this hotel for 5 nights and enjoyed our time there. It is centrally located within walking distance of Stephansdom and the main shopping streets. Breakfast was included in our package and we did not miss one because the food on offer was excellent. The bar is relaxing and smoking is permitted for those who choose to partake. However, the prices in the bar are somewhat on the high side shall we say. We chose not to dine in the hotel restaurant as there are many available within easy reach. A point to note:

We were initially given a very small room for a 5 night stay. When we brought this to the attention of staff, they immediately mobilised to arrange a larger replacement room without supplement. The staff are to be commended for their customer service and we were delighted that our concern did not go unheeded.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank widows_weeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EPerwanger, General Manager at Steigenberger Hotel Herrenhof Wien, responded to this review, November 18, 2012
Dear widow_weeds,

Thank your for taking the time to write a review on our hotel and on your stay in Vienna. I am delighted to read, that you enjoyed your guest experience with us and also took the time to fully enjoy our luscious breakfast buffet.
The Team and I are glad, that you liked our service and of course,we are looking forwardt to welcome you back either here in Vienna or one of our beautiful Steigenberger Hotels and Resorts at an other place.
Elisabeth Perwanger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2012

This hotel is extremely well situated. Basically all major central landmarks are within easy walking distance. Excellent choice of cafes and restaurants nearby too. Otherwise, it's a pretty standard business hotel - fine for a night on business, but there isn't anything luxury about it. The room was perfectly decent, and looked as though it had been recently refurbished. Comfortable bed. The TV was quite small and my main complaint about the bedroom was the curtains which did not block the light very well at all. Bathroom was pretty basic and the toiletries very disappointing - a tiny bar of soap like you get in motels in the US! Staff seemed very efficient and reasonably friendly. The bar and restaurant are not very exciting so I would definitely not plan to have dinner at the hotel when there are so many restaurants nearby. Overall, it was just "ok" - but nothing spectacular and overall I felt that the hotel does not live up to its superb location.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chesham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EPerwanger, General Manager at Steigenberger Hotel Herrenhof Wien, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Dear Chesham,
I really regret that we could not meet your expectations. In effect, the Steigenberger is not a luxury hotel but ranks amongst the international 4*superior properties in Vienna, so do the room rates. This might be the reason, why our bath toiletries where not what you expected and why you maybe missed some luxury treats you may find in higher rated hotels.
I do hope, you enjoyed your stay in Vienna despite these details and remain with kind regards
Elisabeth Perwanger
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest, Hungary
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2012

We had a long weekend in Wien. When we arrived the hotel the staff was very attendant. There is vallett parking for cosy 37 eur for a day. We booked a premium room which was amazing, ultra soft bed free minibar with beers, juices, sparlking and still. The "spa" is just two saunas and a rest area, nothing special, dont expect too much. The highlits is the breakfast, which are really great and you can get a huge variations of tasty morning food. will be back.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AkosK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa,
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2012

The location is excellent and although close to the cathedral area, it was very quiet at night. The room superior room is nice but the size is just slightly cozy, not really too small but close,

I did have a few gripes, some really small but one that stands out. On the smaller ones, it took me three tries to get an iron and ironing board delivered to my room. There were no amenities one day and another day there wasn't any soap, really nothing major. The one major problem I had was with the WiFi. On the second day my laptop got hit with a malicious virus that hijacked my machine. A German language page came up every time I started my laptop demanding 100 Euros. I later found it was also telling me I had 48 hours or the police would be called. I was lucky I was on business and our IT department cleaned out the problem. They told me they believed the hotel service provider's anti-virus software was out of date. Not really the hotel's fault but I almost had a 10 pound door stop for the rest of my trip, If you're going to log in using the hotel's WiFi make sure your anti-virus is up to date.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LakesideOttawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EPerwanger, General Manager at Steigenberger Hotel Herrenhof Wien, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Dear LakesideOttawa,
we have read your comments and do regret your negative experience with some of our services.
In effect, the housekeeping services mentioned are not at all what we want to offer to our guests and I will take care to improve our performance to avoid future experiences like yours.
Regarding the WIFI I have talked to our provider, who is an international big player. He confirms that the glitches mentioned can not be avoided by a WIFI Provider or hotel but are depending on the firewalls of the computers/laptops used by our customers. Wifi networks are not able to prevent all viruses or trojans, this is whey we strongly recommend to check your own firewalls and update them regularly. We are sorry that you had this experience and do hope it could be solved quickly again.
Thank you and kind regards
Elisabeth Perwanger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
haifa
Level Contributor
47 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2012

The hotel is located in the most convenient location of Vienna's center, few steps from the
Kohlmarkt, Graben, Koertner Str. pedestrian zone, St. Stephan Cathedral, Hofburg Palace etc.
Underground station few meters from hotel.
Breakfast buffet was absolutely great with a variety of Continental & American breakfast and even with a Mediterranean touch (vegetables)..........
Service was according to the expected from a 5 stars hotel. Some disturbing fact was that we have noticed that certain documents were "taken" from the room (actually from the trolley )
and after referring to concierge we have got the unpleasant impression that it is not an unusual event. We got back those documents 2 days after they were taken.
The room descrbed as "superior" was somewhat small

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank egoldh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Inner City
Radisson Blu Style Hotel, Vienna
Inner City
The Ring Hotel
The Ring Hotel
#28 of 362 in Vienna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 950 reviews
Inner City
The Guesthouse Vienna
The Guesthouse Vienna
#2 of 362 in Vienna
5.0 of 5 bubbles 755 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Inner City
Park Hyatt Vienna
Park Hyatt Vienna
#8 of 362 in Vienna
5.0 of 5 bubbles 929 reviews
Inner City
Palais Hansen Kempinski Vienna
Neubau
Hotel Sans Souci Wien
Hotel Sans Souci Wien
#1 of 362 in Vienna
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,304 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Steigenberger Hotel Herrenhof Wien? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Steigenberger Hotel Herrenhof Wien

Property: Steigenberger Hotel Herrenhof Wien
Address: Herrengasse 10, Vienna 1010, Austria
Phone Number:
Location: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Inner City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Vienna
#11 Spa Hotel in Vienna
#26 Luxury Hotel in Vienna
#26 Romantic Hotel in Vienna
#27 Business Hotel in Vienna
#33 Family Hotel in Vienna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Steigenberger Hotel Herrenhof Wien 5*
Number of rooms: 196
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An unforgettable performance at the Burgtheater, window shopping on Graben, a business dinner overlooking Stephansplatz, or a leisurely tour in a horse-drawn carriage, amid the imperial grandeur that gives the city its unique charm - Vienna is in a class of its own.Many of Vienna's greatest attractions are right on our doorstep. Located in the government quarter in the first district, the Steigenberger Hotel Herrenhof is in the very heart of the old town. The hotel, restaurant, cafe and bar are popular among business and leisure travellers alike. Take a stroll past the Hofburg, Kohlmarkt, State Opera House and the many other nearby sights. Most of Vienna's cultural treasures are just a short walk from the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Steigenberger Hotel Herrenhof Wien reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Steigenberger Hotel Vienna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing