We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel in a central location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Steigenberger Hotel Herrenhof Wien
Ranked #29 of 361 Hotels in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed September 21, 2012

It's a nice and new hotel in a great location in downtown Vienna, with major tourist sight within walking distance. Modern, clean, good and efficient service. Rooms aren't huge (depending on what you book and what you pay), but nicely furnished. I found the bed comfortable and slept well. Breakfast is good.

If you want to stay in an upmarket and modern hotel in Vienna as a base for your excursions, the Steigenberger can be recommended. However, if you are looking for a memorable hotel reflecting the traditional 'Vienna style', this is not your place.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael-Traveller-JP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,057)
There are newer reviews for Steigenberger Hotel Herrenhof Wien
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,358 - 1,364 of 3,058 reviews

Reviewed September 21, 2012

We had upgraded to a better category with free minibar. Was not worth it, because in the minibar there were only water, juice, beer and cola.

The room itself was amazing. Large and stylish with a wonderful view and a beautiful bathroom. Everything was very clean.

Our stay started with a warm welcome and the offer to get an umbrella because of the rain outside.

The restaurant of the Steigenberger Herrenhof is amazing. Outstanding food! Not cheap but well-done and served by very nice staff. In the bar we listened to piano music in the evening - very romantic.

And finally the location is very central - only a 5 minutes walk to the Hofburg.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kid77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2012

There's no doubt that the location is excellent, the hotel is within a walking distance from Stephansplatz and other major attractions within the city. The reception staff are very helpful and friendly. The breakfast is amazingly good and Wifi connectivity is available throughout the hotel. However, the rooms are quite small and the beds are uncomfortable, I didn't sleep well during my stay and woke up with bitter back pain.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MGKhoory
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2012 via mobile

Great location about a block from Michaelplatz and Heldenhof. Clearly a spot for wealthy Germans visiting (I think it's a German chain). Lovely room with windows that open and a balcony overlooking Herrenhof. Good breakfast and surprisingly friendly service. Annoying aspects like only a shower in my room. Cleaning of rooms was sporadic and not always good, which usually means that the housekeeping staff was routinely overwhelmed. I left for the day before 9amand came back at 3:30 to find my room still unattended. The day before I came back at 2pm and it was unclean. I excused it the first day thinking it was perhaps a bit early - I spent a few days in Italy so my expectations were already low. Would I stay here again? Perhaps if everything else was full. I've gotten to know the city so know there are as nice or nicer places to stay and perhaps for the same rates, they are better.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Houston3214
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2012

Steigenberger has a perfect location, right in the middle of the old town. The interior and rooms are pretty ok however our room was facing a wall of another building. Once we arrived we were given a room with separated beds however we booked for a king bed. We had to go all the way back to reception with our luggage and were given another room – which was exactly the same as the previous one! After that we left the hotel and asked the reception to move our room to a proper king size bed. When we came back nothing was done and took us a while to explain everything again to another receptionist ( who could barely speak English). Next morning we were disturbed around 4-5 times starting from 8 am by housekeeping who were trying to enter the room all the time even though we had a DND sign on the door. When we were leaving the room the housekeeper complained that our room is last one left on this floor that is why she was ringing all the time. Later in the evening we were trying to order room service (which supposed to be 24 hours however the answer we got is that only chicken wraps are available. Breakfast was alright, but not really special.
Needless to say that we expected much more from a 5 star hotel and we would chose another place to stay next time.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hotelier58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EPerwanger, Geschäftsführer at Steigenberger Hotel Herrenhof Wien, responded to this reviewResponded October 16, 2012

Dear hotelier58
I am sorry to read, that your stay in our hotel was not, what you expected. In effect, I really apologize for the inconveniences caused at the time of check in and during your stay. Please be ensured, that this is not the level of service we want to give to our guests and I will of course make all necessary steps to avoid such incidents in the future.
I do hope, you will give us another chance to prove our quality and service. With kind regards
Elisabeth Perwanger. General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2012

Our stay started out very well; the rooms are beautiful and the location is perfect for sightseeing and exploring the city. The concierges were very helpful and knowledgable and the breakfast is very good. We stayed in a Deluxe Room which was 35m2 and very spacious. The service was very good until...

About halfway through our stay, the temperature of the city dropped quite a bit and our room became very hot and the air-conditioning wasn't working properly. We asked NUMEROUS times to have it fixed but the technician never turned up, so we had a swelter in a hot room for the last few days. Despite asking numerous times we only had face washers replenished in our room once and the tissued were never replaced. Overall I would recommend this hotel for it's lovely rooms and unbeatable location, but you will have to keep on top of the housekeeping and maintenance people.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank smbsstt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2012

We stayed here for the first time in July of 2012, and we will be back on our next visit to Vienna. the hotel is in a great location, near transportation and within walking distance of many attractions. We had a suite on the top floor and found it extremely clean, well designed and luxurious. The view from our terrace was beautiful at night. Staff was very professional, in the Austrian tradition, and spoke perfect English. Really nice and highly recommended.

Room Tip: the suites on the top floor are great!
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Inner City
The Ring, Relais & Chateaux
Inner City
The Guesthouse Vienna
The Guesthouse Vienna
#8 of 361 in Vienna
905 reviews
Inner City
Radisson Blu Style Hotel, Vienna
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old University Quarter
Hollmann Beletage
Hollmann Beletage
#5 of 361 in Vienna
1,093 reviews
Inner City
Hotel Am Stephansplatz
Hotel Am Stephansplatz
#11 of 361 in Vienna
2,131 reviews
Serviten Quarter
Hilton Vienna Plaza
Hilton Vienna Plaza
#39 of 361 in Vienna
1,299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Steigenberger Hotel Herrenhof Wien? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Steigenberger Hotel Herrenhof Wien

Address: Herrengasse 10, Vienna 1010, Austria
Phone Number:
Location: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Inner City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Vienna
#10 Spa Hotel in Vienna
#24 Luxury Hotel in Vienna
#26 Romantic Hotel in Vienna
#27 Business Hotel in Vienna
#33 Family Hotel in Vienna
Price Range: $210 - $736 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Steigenberger Hotel Herrenhof Wien 4.5*
Number of rooms: 196
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An unforgettable performance at the Burgtheater, window shopping on Graben, a business dinner overlooking Stephansplatz, or a leisurely tour in a horse-drawn carriage, amid the imperial grandeur that gives the city its unique charm - Vienna is in a class of its own.Many of Vienna's greatest attractions are right on our doorstep. Located in the government quarter in the first district, the Steigenberger Hotel Herrenhof is in the very heart of the old town. The hotel, restaurant, cafe and bar are popular among business and leisure travellers alike. Take a stroll past the Hofburg, Kohlmarkt, State Opera House and the many other nearby sights. Most of Vienna's cultural treasures are just a short walk from the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Steigenberger Hotel Herrenhof Wien reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Steigenberger Hotel Vienna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing