We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best place to stay in Vienna” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Steigenberger Hotel Herrenhof Wien

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Steigenberger Hotel Herrenhof Wien
Ranked #31 of 367 Hotels in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
New York
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Best place to stay in Vienna”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2011

Being from the U.S., we had no experience with the Steigenberger chain. We picked the Steigenberger Herrenhoff Wien in Vienna on the basis of it's 5-star rating, location and relatively affordable price. It was a great choice! To start, the hotel is superbly located, right in the Inner Stadt, which is where you want to be as a tourist. The hotel is literally round the corner from the Herrengasse subway stop, 100 m from the Spanish Riding School and less than 5 mins walk to the Graben and Kohlmarkt streets which form the main shopping and eating drag of the Inner Stadt, and is 6-7 mins slow walking to the Stephansdom. You could not be better located! The hotel itself is beautiful. The rooms look like they have been recently renovated, with high-end furniture and fixtures and all amenities laid on, including free wi fi! We were not happy with our initial room on check-in (we had booked a deluxe room but felt the room was a bit small and lacked a good view) and Frau Muller at reception immediately changed our room to a lower floor but the room was huge, and directly overlooked the Hofburg Palace! The service was impeccable throughout. Like most hotels, breakfast is a rip off at 28 Euros a head, but right down the street is the wonderful Cafe Centrale which I consider Vienna's best cafe where you can eat amazing food at a fraction of the price and soak in the atmosphere to boot! Another great cafe up the street in the other direction towards the Spanish Riding School is the Cafe Greinstadl, also with great food and atmosphere. The proximity of the metro means you save time and money going everywhere. I just can't recommend this hotel highly enough. For us, this will be the only place to stay on future visits!

  • Stayed June 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BabyBearNewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,400 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,546
    645
    150
    39
    20
See reviews for
412
1,151
90
475
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago
Level Contributor
28 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2011

The location of this hotel is ideal, just steps from everything, including the U-bahn. I absolutely love the decor of this hotel. The silver, purple, black, and white color scheme and damask motif makes the room both funky and gorgeous. The bedding was heavenly comfortable and the bathroom was big and very nicely designed (I esp. like having a separate WC). The staff was really helpful in securing me a cab for this morning at an ungodly 4:30AM, with a prompt wake-up call at 4:00. The only negative I can see for this hotel is the price, which is a bit steep. Otherwise, excellent choice in Vienna.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WanderingSusan123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EPerwanger, Manager at Steigenberger Hotel Herrenhof Wien, responded to this review, June 3, 2011
Dear WanderingSusan, thanks a lot for taking the time to comment on our hotel and our services. We are really glad you had a great stay at the Steigenberger Herrenhof here in Vienna an I do hope to see you back very soon. Vienna offer so many attractions all year round... so why no being back for the Xmas Markets in November/December or maybe at really attractive rates and hot deals that we offer in July/August and January/February !
Thanks and a warm Servus
Elisabeth Perwanger, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scandinavia
Level Contributor
92 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2011

I only had one night at this wonderful hotel. The decor is quite gorgeous and modern. I stayed in a room with a shower and courtyard view, which was quite nice and peaceful. The minibar (no alcohol) was included in the room rate. I also enjoyed the steam bath and saunas in the wellness area, which was quite pleasant after a day of walking on the crowded streets of Vienna. The breakfast buffet was FANTASTIC. I wish I'd had hours to spend there. I will definitely stay at this hotel another time as well. I've found a new favourite hotel for Vienna!

Room Tip: Cheapest and most peaceful option: courtyard room)
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NikkiNovak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2011

Stayed here for a long weeknd in October 2010 with my wife.

The hotel is in a great location, just a short walk from all the major sights and attractions.
Our room was beautifully appointed and trendy without being ridiculously minimalist. The decor was lovely and the room was large and very comfortable indeed with nice views across the city rooftops.

The staff were fantastic. They were friendly and helpful from start to finish and when they knew our trip was a celebration they even arranged for champagne and chocolates when we returned from dinner. Absolutely faultless service.

The restaurant was very good. At first we were concerned as it was so empty during evening service but the food was delicious and the service very personal. The breakfast was everything you would expect from a luxury hotel and more than enough.

We really liked this hotel and would definitely return.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank EnglandDB88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2011

The location was perfect. The room very upscale and comfortable. The bathroom was just fine. I loved the decor. The people who work in this hotel are happy and knowledgeable. They smile when you approach.
The restaurant I wondered about. The room was very attractive, but there were never any patrons in it.
The value for the room rate was spot on.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bswtravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
95 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2011

The location of this hotel is perfect. The hotel is situated right in the city centre, with most of the main attractions in Vienna just a few minutes walk away. The hotel is very easy to get to. There is a metro stop (line 3) just outside the hotel. We took the S7 train from the airport to Wien Mittre and then got the line 3 metro straight to the hotel. This only cost 3.60 Euros. Taking the S7 train to Vienna city centre is much cheaper than taking the CAT service, and the S7 train only takes about 5 minutes longer than the heavily publicised CAT service.

The staff at the hotel were very helpful. I asked for a room with a view of the city, and they delivered by placing us in a superior room on the 6th floor of the hotel with a view of the Hofburg palace.
The room was nice and quite spacious, but we go two twin beds pushed together. It would have been nice to have a double bed or a king sized bed. The bathroom was a good size, but it would have been handy to have a shower cap and maybe a couple more toiletries in there. For a 5 star hotel, they were a bit stingy with their provisions. For example, you only get 1 black tea bag and 1 herbal tea bag a day. We felt that this wasn't enough.

We didn't eat breakfast at the hotel, as breakfast there is very expensive. It's 28 Euros per person. I had read previous reviews on this site, and took the advice of going to Cafe Central for breakfast on one of the days that we were in Vienna. This was much cheaper and the food was good.

The hotel bar was quite busy and lively, and they had a live piano player in the evenings. However, smoking is allowed in the bar, and it was a bit smoky in there.

The hotel has a spa, which we visited on two occasions. The sauna, steam room and relaxation area are fine, but we felt that they missed a trick by not putting in a swimming pool, or even a Jacuzzi.

Room Tip: Eat breakfast at one of the local cafes
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BSesay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmond
Level Contributor
77 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2011

We very much enjoyed our stay here. We arrived early and our room was ready to check in much to our surprise.
The hotel is modern and elegant and could not be better situated, less than 50m from Cafe Central to one side and a similar distance to the Hapsburg Palace. It is also located immediately on the U3 stop at Herrengasse, just four stops from the Westbanhoff train station. Could not be more simple. Of note, the exit that is immediately next to the hotel is stairs only, so you may want the exit with the lifts, which puts you only about a block away, especially if you have heavy luggage.
The staff here were superb and helpful giving us great information and suggestions.
The hotel often runs weekend specials and some at other times of the year, so continue checking for this before you arrive. We were able to save nearly 50% on this weekend stay, making it not only perfect but highly affordable. If you are lucky enough to get one of these rates, you might not get the breakfast, which is very expensive as an add on. However, places to eat around the area as an alternative abound, and are reasonable.
We highly recommend it.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank SoonerWiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Inner City
Radisson Blu Style Hotel, Vienna
Inner City
The Guesthouse Vienna
The Guesthouse Vienna
#2 of 367 in Vienna
5.0 of 5 bubbles 729 reviews
Inner City
The Ring
The Ring
#28 of 367 in Vienna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 936 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Inner City
Park Hyatt Vienna
Park Hyatt Vienna
#5 of 367 in Vienna
5.0 of 5 bubbles 894 reviews
Inner City
DO & CO Hotel Vienna
DO & CO Hotel Vienna
#34 of 367 in Vienna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 648 reviews
Old University Quarter
Hollmann Beletage
Hollmann Beletage
#6 of 367 in Vienna
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,002 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Steigenberger Hotel Herrenhof Wien? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Steigenberger Hotel Herrenhof Wien

Property: Steigenberger Hotel Herrenhof Wien
Address: Herrengasse 10, Vienna 1010, Austria
Phone Number:
Location: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Inner City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Vienna
#11 Spa Hotel in Vienna
#26 Luxury Hotel in Vienna
#26 Romantic Hotel in Vienna
#27 Business Hotel in Vienna
#33 Family Hotel in Vienna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Steigenberger Hotel Herrenhof Wien 5*
Number of rooms: 196
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An unforgettable performance at the Burgtheater, window shopping on Graben, a business dinner overlooking Stephansplatz, or a leisurely tour in a horse-drawn carriage, amid the imperial grandeur that gives the city its unique charm - Vienna is in a class of its own.Many of Vienna's greatest attractions are right on our doorstep. Located in the government quarter in the first district, the Steigenberger Hotel Herrenhof is in the very heart of the old town. The hotel, restaurant, cafe and bar are popular among business and leisure travellers alike. Take a stroll past the Hofburg, Kohlmarkt, State Opera House and the many other nearby sights. Most of Vienna's cultural treasures are just a short walk from the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, HotelsClick, Hotel.de, HRS, Reservation Counter and Despegar.com so you can book your Steigenberger Hotel Herrenhof Wien reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Steigenberger Hotel Vienna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing