We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Disappointing” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Rainers Hotel Vienna

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Rainers Hotel Vienna
Ranked #167 of 369 Hotels in Vienna
Bournemouth
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

We had a 3 night stay with great rail journeys. The location was not good as it was too far out to walk after our evening meal. The staff were friendly and helpful and the bedrooms very clean but the air conditioning was non existent. It was 40 degrees when we were there so sleep was uncomfortable. It seemed that there was a shortage of staff to clear and reload the tables on the terrace for breakfast and we ended up searching for cutlery ourselves. The evening meal was good but very slow due again to lack of staff. It was extremely busy with groups like ourselves but in order to cope they have to increase the staff.

Room Tip: One with working air conditioning not floor 1.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LizzieBournemouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WernerMagedler, Manager at Rainers Hotel Vienna, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Dear guest,

I would like to thank you for taking the time to write a feedback about your stay. We do take all guest comments very seriously.

Whilst I am glad to hear that our staffs behaviour and housekeeping service have met your expectations, I am disappointed however that we lacked good performance in the restaurant. Please be assured that we will take appropriate action.

In regards to our air conditioning system, due to the extrem hot weather we have had over quite a long period of time, we did experience big difficulties with our the cooling system, but this as well will be looked into.

I hope, never the less, that you have enjoyed your Great Rail Journey, and especially your trip to our beautiful city.

Best regards from Rainers Hotel Vienna,

Werner Magedler
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

456 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    117
    216
    85
    25
    13
See reviews for
69
210
29
59
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
kidderminster
Level Contributor
27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

Nice clean modern hotel,but the location of it is the worst.15-20 minute walk to keplerpletz station where you will find plenty of shops.two iMacs in lobby with free Internet.if this was in centre of vienna it would be perfect(but the price would be higher)

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank chop04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WernerMagedler, Manager at Rainers Hotel Vienna, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Dear Guest,

thank you very much for taking a few minutes to write a short feedback about your stay.
I am glad that, in general, you seemed to have enjoyed your stay with us.

As you mentioned, the hotel is located outside the city centre and a good walk of approx. 10 minutes (or 3 bus stops) away from the next underground stop.
However, our reception is more then happy to help with directions, as there is a quicker way to reach all the main sights of the city.
The tram number 1 for example, which runs every 5 to 10 minutes, depending on the time of day, takes you to the Vienna Stateopera withing 12 minutes. If you take the trams 6 or 18 and the U4 you can reach the Schönbrunn Place within a good 20 minutes.

I would be our pleasure to welcoming you back to our hotel in the near future.

Kind regards,

Werner Magedler
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

My wife and I -seniors- stayed for 5 days at this hotel, a few days ago.
The front desk staff was extremely helpful providing us with info, maps,
directions and printouts on all major tourist attractions. The rate was a burgain
and our room comfortable and clean with a very nice bathroom.
The neighbourhood was modest without any suitable restaurants, but
only 15-20 min from hotel to Vienna center on a tram.

Room Tip: away from main road
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Harrysonia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WernerMagedler, Manager at Rainers Hotel Vienna, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Dear Guest,

thank you for your positive feedback and for taking the moment to write about your recent stay in our hotel.

We are happy that you enjoyed your time with us and that our staff could support you with helpful information. We will forward your nice words to our reception staff.

It was a pleasure to have you here as our guests and we hope to welcoming you back in near future.

Warm regards from Vienna,

Werner Magedler
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuttgart, Germany
Level Contributor
35 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

The hotel is located close to the tram line. It is about a 2 minute walk to the station. You can reach the city center by tram in about 10minutes.
The staff was extremely helpful. The rooms are roomy and clean, and the cleaning service did a great job every morning. Our room (415) was equipped with a flat screen LG TV, a fridge and mini bar, a safe, and complimentary coffee/tea (this was refilled each morning).
The hotel lists parking as 16 Euros per day but they were nice enough to let us use their parking lot for 48 hours free of charge.
Great value for money. Highly recommend it!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MariaZP_81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WernerMagedler, Manager at Rainers Hotel Vienna, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Dear Guest,

thank you very much for taking a few minutes to write a feedback about your stay in June.

We are happy to hear, that we were able to make you feel comfortable and you have enjoyed the size and the equipment of our rooms. Depending on the season, we offer room packages including parking - so when thinking of coming back, ask for this special offer again!

As you already described, the hotel is close to Matzleinsdorfer Platz Station and by tram you reach the city center within 10 - 15 minutes.

We look forward to seeing you again!

Warm regards,

Werner Magedler
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dover, kent
Level Contributor
44 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

Very pleasant reception staff.
We had room 318 which was lovely and quiet, comfy bed, bathroom appeared to have been recently renovated and was spotless.
Breakfast was plentiful and had lots of choice.
The transport system was close by both tram and u-bahn. Easy walk to centre.
We bought combined Sisi ticket and found it great value and all the places very interesting with audio tours.

Room Tip: We requested a quiet room and that is what we got.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank juandrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WernerMagedler, Manager at Rainers Hotel Vienna, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Dear Guest,

I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us, and that our team was able to contribute to a warm welcome to Vienna.

I am happy to hear that our fascilities and services were to your liking and I have shared your feedback about your stay with the entire team.
As you mentioned the Sissi Tour, our reception team is around 24/7 and more than happy to assist with tickets and recommondations.

I do hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to the Rainers Hotel Vienna in the near future.

Kind regards,

Werner Magedler
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
75 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

Pleasant hotel with very pleasant and willing to help staff. Very close to public transportation and city center. It is very quiet neighboourghood. Breakfast at hotel restaurant has a lot of different foods and drinks to choose from.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Jadranko D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WernerMagedler, Manager at Rainers Hotel Vienna, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Dear Guest,

thank you very much for taking a few minutes to write a comment about our hotel.

I am glad to hear, that you have enjoyed your stay in Vienna and that our team was pleasant and helpful throughout your stay.
I have shared your feedback with the team, also the comment about our breakfast.

Thank you again, and we hopefully see you again soon.

Best regards,

Werner Magedler
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arad, Romania
Level Contributor
138 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

I had 2 nights in Rainers at the beginning of June. Very large room, with comfortable bed and good quality linen. Breakfast is very rich, nothing to complain. Dinner and lunch very well prepared. Good food! The service in the restaurant was very good, fast and careful, a little bit slow at the bar in the evening. Wi-Fi excellent! Large parking for the cars. As the hotel is placed in the Favoriten district you might need 45 min to walk to the city center, but you van take a taxi or the buss which has the station in front of the hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Călin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WernerMagedler, Manager at Rainers Hotel Vienna, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
Dear Guest,

thank you very much for taking a few minutes to write a feedback about your stay in June.

We are happy to hear, that we were able to make you feel comfortable and you have enjoyed the size and the equipment of our rooms.
Your comment about the Restaurant and Bar service, aswell as the quality of breakfast, lunch and dinner will be shared with the team and is much appreciated.
As you said, the hotel is located in district Favoriten, if you like to walk to the city center it is about 45 minutes, with the public transportation on the other hand just about 15 minutes till you reach the state opera house.

We look forward to seeing you again!

Warm regards,

Werner Magedler
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Ottakring
Hotel Senator
Hotel Senator
#158 of 369 in Vienna
4.0 of 5 stars 744 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ottakring
Hotel Exe Vienna
Hotel Exe Vienna
#220 of 369 in Vienna
3.5 of 5 stars 563 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rainers Hotel Vienna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rainers Hotel Vienna

Property: Rainers Hotel Vienna
Address: Gudrunstrasse 184, Vienna 1100, Austria
Location: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#121 Luxury Hotel in Vienna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Rainers Hotel Vienna 4*
Number of rooms: 179
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4-star Rainers Hotel Vienna is a trendy, modern business and city hotel. Located near the city centre of Vienna, it is the perfect base for discovering Vienna and its important sights. Combining history with modern elements, the hotel creates a unique atmosphere of well-being. For lovers of culture, city tourists and business travelers, the hotel offers a modern and stylish ambiance with dedicated employees who know the value of professional service. The variable room design of the seminar hotel's 640 m² events area provides an excellent setting for conferences, presentations, seminars and exclusive meetings. State-of-the-art technology, natural daylight and professional on-site support ensure a comfortable work environment for up to 350 people. The restaurant, with terrace dining in the summer, and the individually adaptable banquet rooms can also be made available for festivities and celebrations. Discover the magic of our creative, light and vitamin-rich cuisine! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Rainers Hotel Vienna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vienna Rainers Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing