We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place if you like deserts.....”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Gerstner K&K Hofzuckerbackerei - CLOSED

Gerstner K&K Hofzuckerbackerei
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Austrian, Cafe, European, Central European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Brunch, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Inner City
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great place if you like deserts.....”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2013 via mobile

Great place if you like deserts.....prices are reasonable and service is good. Some employees speak English but not all of them. We had a delicius Apfel Strudel. Cappuccinos are also great!

Helpful?
Thank Fernando S
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.

454 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    213
    170
    43
    16
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Worth, Texas
Level Contributor
113 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Sweet Delight”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2013

Gerstner Cafe is a great place to satisfy you sweet desire. There is a wonderful selection of cakes and torts, along with a wide range of chocolates and other treats. There is also seating outside on Karnter Strasse, great location for people watching, dessert and a nice cup of coffee. Staff friendly and efficient.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Heisenberg787
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
298 reviews
173 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 710 helpful votes
“Gerstner, my first and last stop in Vienna!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2013

On my next visit to Europe, I plan to make Vienna my last stop before returning home. Thus, I hope to transport some delicious souvenirs from Gerstner. Hand-carrying a whole Klimt Torte (in honour of Gustav Klimt and almost as beautiful as his paintings), a few slices of the Esterhazy Torte, maybe half a Gerstner Torte (for chocolate fans). I wonder how well their strudels will travel... we might have to conduct an emergency eating session on the airplane. Gerstner offers the traditional apple, as well as sour cherry and apricot. According to my son, they are pretty delicious but would be even better if served warm (like at Cafe Residenz at Schonbrunn Palace). Perhaps I should have asked if the strudel could be heated...

A cake lover, I tried many of Vienna's finest shops (Heiner, Oberlaa, Cafe Central, Cafe Residenz, Cafe Landtmann, Gerstner, Demel) but liked Gerstner and Cafe Residenz the most.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Gigis_mum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cote d'Azur
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“fantastic!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2013

Great find for a cold, wet afternoon..... Strudel was the best ever and super-smooth coffee.
thoroughly recommend this for an escape for an hour or two.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ToniCoted_Azur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
5,424 reviews
1,739 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11,778 helpful votes
“Not so great melange or strudel during our visit”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2013

We stopped at Gertsner on the crowded Kartnerstrasse street to try their coffee and strudel during our recent trip to Vienna. Unfortunately, our luck wasn't as good as many reviewers who have visited this establishment. Our coffee and strudel orders compare particularly well to other konditorei and coffee shops we tried around the city center.

We visited during weekday brunch time period so it was not too busy. Staff were friendly and courteous, making a nice impression while we ordered. Lots of delectable looking cakes, truffles and macarons in the window and display counter but we were here for strudel and coffee.

We sampled the apple strudel with vanilla sauce (5.20 euro). This was a large serving but the taste wasn't great. The apples were a overly tarty to a point of being bitter and there was little traditional filling (see picture) within the strudel wrap, mostly just apple cuts. The vanilla sauce helped temper the tartiness, making the strudel taste ok. However, in the end, this was just not one of the better strudels we tried during this past trip (rating 2.5 of 5).

Melange coffees (3.50 euro) were also sampled. Serving size was quite small and both drinks were too milky, seemed to be using very little espresso (rating 2.5 of 5) in the drink, which unfortunately made us feel a bit like we were being given tourist coffees. Oh well, Gertsner is in a very touristy area on the Kartnerstrasse so perhaps this should be expected.

Overall, we preferred coffee and desserts at several other konditoreis and coffee shops around the city centre much more than what we experienced at Gertsner Cafe on Kartnerstrasse and will seek them out first when we return to Vienna next.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank BradJill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gerstner K&K Hofzuckerbackerei also viewed

Vienna, Vienna Region
Vienna, Vienna Region
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing