We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place to spend an evening” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cafe Griensteidl

Cafe Griensteidl
Ranked #25 of 102 Dessert in Vienna
Cuisines: German, Austrian, Cafe, European, Central European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Inner City
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
26 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great place to spend an evening”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2014

I was looking forward to visiting this place after previously being in Café Landtmann. Griensteidl seemed more casual yet still being elegant and certainly classy. We enjoyed a good meal and wonderful cake afterwards. The waiter was friendly and polite and service was efficient. It was a fairly dark and rainy evening which added to the atmosphere. Outside the window the Michaelerplatz and Hofburg Palace offer a nice view. Recommended!

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Ville T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

668 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    162
    285
    118
    55
    48
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
220 reviews
146 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Superb cafe by the Hofburg Palace”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2014

After a long mornings sightseeing this is a great place for a snack lunch and a cake. It is a popular and traditional cafe with great service and delicious food. Try the frankfurters ( the less adventurous can enjoy ham and cheese toasts) Leave room with your Melange coffee for one of the large selection of cakes displayed in the cabinet.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Imogen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
587 reviews
263 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 173 helpful votes
“Great place for a Midday Break”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2014

We stopped here between Christmas Market shopping and waiting for the unbelievable Christmas lights to come on after dark. We found the service to be attentive with good coffee and hot chocolate. Of course we had apple strudel. All were very good. We sat for awhile and never felt rushed by the staff. It was a great place to people watch. The prices were fair for this area. Take a break and have a cup of coffee in this authentic coffee house.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank SheriBobLove2Travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt, Germany
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“What a disappointment”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2014

Three days ago my boyfriend and I went to visit Vienna for our first time and were excited to enter Café Griensteidl in anticipation of first café experience. Unfortunately we were severely disappointed by the service. (It has to be said that this weekend the city was absolutely packed with tourists).
After having been rushed to our seats we were ignored despite several attempts of giving up an order. The waitress (it is still an absolute mystery to me why only one was on duty) was obviously extremely stressed and overworked and therefore far from nice, courteous, or attentive. The couple at the neighbor table was trying to get the bill ever since we were seated. Observing their struggle to pay and leave we decided to order the bill right after we made our order (Gulasch Soup and coffee). After approximately 30 min the couple next to us still had not paid and my soup was far from what I had expected it to be (and I am not a picky eater at all). Attempting to make a complaint also ended in a forever taking effort to attract the lady's attention. In the end we did not complain about the food but decided to pay and leave. Her unfriendliness peaked when she even made a nasty remark about our efforts to receive her attention respective the food. All in all it was a horrible experience which left us not only hungry but also severely disappointed.
I understand that cafés can get pretty busy but this is no reason to be so unfriendly.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank sarahkayy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
426 reviews
262 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 432 helpful votes
“Our first cafe in Vienna”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2014 via mobile

....was disappointing...the Apfelstrudel with custard was soggy, the other food non descript...oh well...it was close to the hotel but we only went once!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank jacquelinem449
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Griensteidl also viewed

 
Vienna, Vienna Region
Vienna, Vienna Region
 
Vienna, Vienna Region
Vienna, Vienna Region
 

Been to Cafe Griensteidl? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing