We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent food and service”
Review of at eight

at eight
Ranked #148 of 4,341 Restaurants in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $9 - $68
Cuisines: Austrian, Contemporary, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Neighborhood: Inner City
Description: Welcome to a culinary adventure! Welcome to the casual-luxurious presentation of the so-called "aroma cuisine". Delicious, unforgettable and twice toque-decorated! The young chef de cuisine Roman Wurzer plays with textures and aromas. . His dishes are made of high quality products, which harmonize perfectly, and of course they are presented in an extraordinary way. This applies also to gluten, lactose, fructose and histamine free dishes. The service is cordial, personal, professional, and absolutely inconspicuous. And always caring for the guest's well-being! With pleasure the wine accompaniment is adjusted for each guest individually. The service team is young, as specific focus lies on the support of young talents. During the day the restaurant radiates freshness and clarity for breakfast und lunch. In the evening a colour world of red and violet creates an entirely different atmosphere: At 3 p.M. The restaurant is getting changed. Subconsequently it welcomes its guests in a top smart evening dress: with covers for chairs, table cloth for the tables, "earrings" for the lighting fittings, curtains for the windows, mirrors for the walls, candles and decoration for the final touch a romantic mood and a perfect atmosphere for a sublime dinner is created.
Reviewed May 7, 2014

As guests of The Ring hotel we decided to eat in the restaurant on our first night. The food was of a very high standard and the service impeccable. There were nice little touches like a complimentary amuse bouche and petit fours. We were expecting the bill to be very expensive but it was around 120 euro for 3 courses with aperitifs and wine which I thought was very reasonable for the standard of food. It was a shame that we were the only diners!
One minor dislike was the hand written specials on the glass divider.
Would go back without hesitation.

Thank Bupsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jasmin S, Manager at at eight, responded to this reviewResponded May 24, 2014

Dear Bupsy,

thank you very much for taking the time to give us your feedback here on tripadvisor.

We are glad that you did enjoy your dining experience with us and that we could lift up to your expectations.

Whenever you will be in Vienna again we would be more than happy to welcome you again in our restaurant at eight.

Thank you for being our guests!

With kind regards from Vienna

Jasmin Schneider
Restaurant and Service Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (375)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

159 - 163 of 375 reviews

Reviewed April 28, 2014

We finished our workouts and massages in the excellent hotel facilities and showered before supper and walked down in our own version of casual luxury; croc sandals and jeans.
The maître de was phenomenally hospitable and we treated ourselves to the sparse, but excellent menu with plenty of treats coming out of the kitchen from the amazing and talented chef.
WONDERFUL.

Thank bagelx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jasmin S, Manager at at eight, responded to this reviewResponded May 24, 2014

Dear bagelx,

thank you very much for rating us on tripadvisor.

We are glad to read that your visit in our restaurant at eight was a rememorable one and that you enjoyed the food and service.

On behalf of my Service Team and our Chef Fabian Philler and his Crew we want to thank you for your appreciation and your kind words and are very much looking forward to your next visit!

With best regards from Vienna

Jasmin Schneider
Restaurant and Service Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2014 via mobile

Arrived at 10 pm and was served three courses plus some surprises and everything tasted perfect. The waiter was very proffesional and knowledgable. Presented each dish and each wine.

Nice interior also. Only strange thing was that one guest had their dog inside by the table. STRANGE... but this restaurant gave us the best experience in wien this weekend and also value for money.

Thank Stein H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jasmin S, Manager at at eight, responded to this reviewResponded March 18, 2014

Dear Stein H,

thank you very much for sharing your dining experience with us here on tripadvisor.

We are glad to read that you had a decent dinner in our restaurant at eight and that we could live up to your expectations.

Dogs are welcome in our restaurant if they do not disturb other guests. The floors in restaurant are made of wood and there are no carpets in the hole dining room which makes us decide to accept dogs as there is no fear for any hygienic vitiation.

Thank you for being our guest and we are looking forward to your next visit in our restaurant at eight.

Kind regards

Jasmin Schneider
Restaurant and Service Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2014

The restaurant is expensive, and the portions aren't big. The food is very good though. Also, we don't eat sea food and most of the menu is sea food, so we didn't have that many options to choose from.

Thank Gilgordon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jasmin S, Manager at at eight, responded to this reviewResponded March 18, 2014

Dear Gilgordon,

thank you very much for your review on tripadvisor.

I am sorry to read that your dining experience with us was not exactly what you did expected.

The restaurant at eight is rated and suggested in Gault Millau, Michelin and many other high quality restauant guides and is located in "The Ring Hotel" one of the 5 stars hotels at the ring boulvard. Therefore our menue is customize to that style of food and standard of prices which you will find in most of the restaurants in that category.

We are pleased to find alternatives for any guests with other preferences - if we will have the pleasure to welcome you again in our restaurant please do not hesitate to ask for!

Kind regards from Vienna

Jasmin Schneider
Restaurant and Service Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2014

The best overall restaurant experience i've ever had. We had a 4 course meal and every bite was exquisite! The service was outstanding; the right mix of nice, polite and helpful without being too overbearing. The courses came out at good intervals meaning that we didn't have to wait too long and we never felt rushed. The restaurant itself had a nice modern cozy feel without being cramped. Usually I can find something to grumble about when eating out but I can honestly say that I wasn't dissatisfied with anything. Top top restaurant. Highly recommend!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank mnoble_775
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jasmin S, Manager at at eight, responded to this reviewResponded March 18, 2014

Dear mnoble_775,

thank you very much for rating us on here tripadvisor.

We are glad to read that you had a decent dinner in our restaurant at eight and that we could live up to your expectations.

You became a part of what we call "passion for our profession" shared by either our Head Chef Fabian Philler and his Crew or each member of my Service team, and we really appriciate your kind words.

Thank you for being our guests and we are very much looking forward to your next visit!

Best regards

Jasmin Schneider
Restaurant and Service Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed at eight also viewed

 
Vienna, Vienna Region
 

Been to at eight? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing