We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent food” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Martinjak am Ring - CLOSED

Martinjak am Ring
Price range: $24 - $39
Cuisines: Austrian, European, Central European, German
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Business meetings
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Inner City
USA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2013

Went here on a recommendation by a colleague. This was steps away from my hotel (Le Meridien) and had a late night dinner there on a Friday. I enjoyed the bread served with a variety of options (Austrian salt, some sort of butter, olive oil with spices and some horseradish. The smoked trout appetizer blew my socks off. It was a small plate, but packed with flavor. Trout was prepared in three ways: small filet, tartar and some sort of fried ball. Served with a mild, soft cheese, cucumbers and a couple of mild sauces, it was just phenomenal.
Wanting something authentic for my last night, I went with the schnitzel. Delicious as expected. Also had a couple of glasses of merlot. Wish I had room for dessert. Waiter was extremely friendly and accommodating. Would absolutely eat there again if I'm lucky enough to travel to Vienna again. (As with most other outdoor restaurants/cafes, be prepared for smokers - yuck!)

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank D C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

96 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    44
    15
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
52 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Great vibe, interesting food, friendly staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2013

My mother and I dined in the restaurant May 2013 and enjoyed our experience immensely. The decor of the venue is very appealing with a modern, but warm look that had inside and outside terrace seating. I found the staff to be warm and friendly, whilst they also provided good suggestions for local wines to try. I am a bit of a foodie who likes to try new dishes, so it was great to get explanations from the waiter so that I could try things that were new to me. The food was presented beautifully and very tasty. I tried a goose liver terrine entree served with jelly cubes of rhubarb and accompanied with a palate cleanser of rhubarb juice with a crouton dipped in it. I ate traditional Wiener schnitzel served with a cool potato salad with a slight onion taste and lambs lettuce on top. The food was reasonably priced as we're the drinks. Would recommend this for an inviting repast.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Francolearner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hershey, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
32 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Great Atmosphere, cutting-edge food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2013

We had dinner at Martinjak after a Vienna Philharmonic concert....what a great, late-night restaurant! The food was quite brilliant and cutting-edge..on the night we were there, we had incredible starters and main courses featuring trout and pea preparations, plus wine suggestions with each dish..including an amazing chocolate dessert and wine pairing. There is a beautiful bar for those who enjoy wine and small dishes, as well. We enjoyed the experience so much!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank operagirl21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicosia, Cyprus
Level Contributor
299 reviews
101 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
“Wonderful experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2013

Staying at Le Meridien Hotel; we were returning from our first day tour walking to the hotel from the Vienna Opera; we were very hungry and decided to eat at this near restaurant that looked very clean and pleasant.

We were welcomed warmly and being smokers we were seated outdoor overlooking the street but from a 1 meter high stage.

Every item we ordered was extremely delicious and well presented; we wanted to try the other menu items; so we decided to have lunch at the same restaurant daily in our four days visit to Vienna; our decision was absolutely right, the shrimp salad was superb we ordered it in 3 of our 4 luncheons.

We extremely enjoyed our meals; we highly recommend the Martinjak am Ring to all Vienna visitors.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Issa N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Brilliant Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

A little expensive, but the food is great, and the service matches the food. A good selection of wines, great selection of bread and dishes that I hadn't tried before.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank BonoMadrid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Martinjak am Ring also viewed

Vienna, Vienna Region
Vienna, Vienna Region
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing