We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“One of the most interesting & delicious meals I have had...” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Martinjak am Ring - CLOSED

Martinjak am Ring
Price range: $24 - $39
Cuisines: Austrian, European, Central European, German
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Large groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Inner City
PencilPrincess
Level Contributor
39 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“One of the most interesting & delicious meals I have had...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

The last night of a visit to Vienna (which already included many delicious and interesting meals) I could not have been more satisfied after our experience at Martinjak am Ring.

The interior itself had a bit of an upscale, rustic feel. We had already scanned the menu before coming in and knew that we had a set of rather interesting options to choose from.

Bread with sweet pepper dip & pumpkin seed dip arrived at our table as we were making our decisions on what to order. Our appetizer was a quirky and fascinating take on "Fish & Chips": “Fish & Chips”: Marinated salmon with pomegranate & smoked blue marlin with avocado fruit salad & chips.

Months later, as I write this, I can still remember my main meal very clearly and the delicious (albeit unusual seeming) combination of ingredients. "Skreifish filet with beetroot poppyseed noodles & chocolate fennel foam"- the fish melted in my mouth and the ingredients accompanying it were a lovely, surprising match that I thought about long after I left the restaurant!

Truly a surprise & memorable meal!

  • Visited February 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank PencilPrincess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

96 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    44
    15
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vlaardingen, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“It's okay”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

The place is chic and waiters are friendly but the food that we ordered had either too much salt or sauce.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank charedbv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilsonville, Oregon
Level Contributor
235 reviews
122 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“This is now one of our favorite restaurants in Vienna”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2012

We were staying at the le Meridian and passed this place several times until we looked in the window and saw a cozy, modern, restaurant with a burning wall mounted fireplace. We took a look at the menu and decided to come back for dinner. What a great decision. We had the 3-course meal with paired wine for myself and spouse and our son had the 3-course meal without wine (of course). Every dish we chose was exceptionally well presented and prepared. The flavors were fantastic!!! The service was outstanding, friendly, and expedient without being intrusive. We will be back for lunch tomorrow. We highly recommend this restaurant for anyone living in or visiting Vienna.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Corina B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
95 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Wonderful meal with great service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2012

We walked past this restaurant by accident but after looking over the menu decided to give it a try
The waiter greeted us warmly and seated us at a great table with views overlooking the street and restaurant
The setting is modern but the menu offers both tradtional and contemporary dining
Our table had pasta with cabbage,wiener schnitzel, and calamari and all meals were beautifully presented and very tasty. The wine list was comprehensive and good value for money
Highly recommended, great service and food and the bill came to 180 euros for four including two bottles of wine

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank chriswalsh365
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Strasbourg, France
Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great snitzel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2012

nice terrace, friendly staff wich are quick and polite. The restaurant is close to Le Meridien

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Thomas Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Martinjak am Ring also viewed

Vienna, Vienna Region
Vienna, Vienna Region
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing