We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good business hotel but unimpressive service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Courtyard Vienna Prater/Messe
Ranked #70 of 362 Hotels in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
47 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Good business hotel but unimpressive service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2012

The hotel is located very near to the metro and the convention centre. The service is very basic. The housekeeping personnel does not bother to tidy the room beyond the making of bed and cleaning the bathroom.All other areas are left untouched. the staff will do their job, but it is without passion. The breakfast buffet is the same for the past five days I have stayed.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Contact12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

751 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    306
    342
    75
    14
    14
See reviews for
98
224
69
270
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
45 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2012 via mobile

Large room which was quite clean but could be better. Free wifi. Breakfast was not so good. I tried honey Mellon which smelled and tasted petroleum. Disgusting. One coffee machine for hundreds of guests. Large queu with long waiting times for a disgusting coffee. Would not recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SwissRalle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kalmar, Sweden
Level Contributor
104 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2012

We came here as a couple, stayed for two nights in August 2012.

First of all: this hotel is NOT located in the centre of Vienna. If you want a central hotel, or if you mind travelling to the centre, this isn't for you.

However, it's nicely located by the u-bahn which is very convenient and user friendly. If you get a Vienna Card you can travel free within the zone 100, which is big and should cover your needs. (Not the Airport, but most of everything else.)

The hotel staff is very helpful and nice. The rooms are spacious and well planned. (Comfortable beds and despite the constructions outside I was never disturbed. There's also very little sounds from corridors, other rooms etc.) There's no mini bar but instead the hotel offers a mini market i the lobby, and a Spar-store is juts a few minutes walk away - and they have almost everything you could possibly need at veeeery good prices.
The fitness area is very nice and the gym seemed great too. The sauna doesn't have "panoramic view" as I've seen stated, but it DOES have a nice view. Be aware that it's a nude area.

The breakfast is nice. I was a bit taken aback by the fact that ALL the "fresh fruit" was marinated in some kind of sugary solution - which was not to _my_ taste but is probably just normal in Vienna. :)
We only tried the restaurant once (apart from breakfast), and ordered a'la carte. DH loved the Wiener Schnitzel, while I enjoyed the pumpkin soup. However, the Apfelstrudel was a disappointment. You get a lot better strudels elsewhere.

Now... The less-than-great aspects of our stay:
When we arrived, we were early. We asked if there was a chance to get our room, and were told that we COULD get a room but only one with separate beds and if we checked in later we could get a kingsize. That was what we wanted, so we took the exceptionally nice receptionist (Christina) up on the offer to use the fitness area to freshen up and then stashed our bags (GREAT system with this, by the way! Safe and nice.).
We were also given a map and the receptionist helped us figure out the u-bahn. (She should get a gold star. :))
We came back later and got our room keys - the "first receptionist" wasn't there anymore..
...and - we got a room with two beds anyway. A bit disappointing but at this point we were tired and didn't want to fuss.
I'm not writing this to complain - but to tell you to ask specifically at check-in even if you get to check in twice. :)

The cleaning wasn't perfect. There was alot of places in the bathroom, especially, that needed dusting and there were hand- and finfger prints all over the doors and wardrobe surfaces and such. Probably because this is usually used as the children's room - we had an adjoining room and guessed that this was the "parent's room".
Also - the cleaning personnel took one of our keys which we had in the system slot (not activated!) while we were out. No big deal, but annoying.

A few things to notice about Vienna, as a whole:
* The Viennese make weak coffee. The hotel's machine is an exception, but we found that almost all the cafes we visited had very weak coffee. Especially the Wiener Coffee (weak coffee with lots of milk).
* Bring good shoes. You'll want to walk a lot.
* If you think Vienna is expensive, just leave the Innere Stadt and the prices get significantly lower.
* The Vienna Card is a very good investment - it lets you travel buses and u-bahn for free (within the inner zone) and gives you a lot of discounts.
* Try to get to your intended destinations (museums and such) before lunch. After lunch the crowd gets a looooot bigger and messier.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mikza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2012

The Courtyard is a nice hotel, more of a business hotel but also good for tourist. Its not located at the heart of the tourist locations but has easy access to all the tourist locations in a few minutes by the underground. The Underground station is located just next to the hotel and with Vienna's good transportation network, getting around is never an issue.

The rooms are good and modern. The breakfast is OK and if you require any food or drinks you can buy them from the small utility store at the reception...

Overall its a good hotel with good rooms, next to transportation that can get you anywhere around and comes at a good price.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank abystander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
berlin
Level Contributor
79 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2012

I will rate it as an excellent place for a business travel, esp. if you have to stay in Messe, Vienna. However, since this place is a bit far from the city center, I will not recommend it for a Family or Holiday travel. This also owes to the fact that the rates are a little on the higher side. If you are, however, on a business trip, you can always request for a Corporate rate and you can get very good offers.
My overall experience has been quite good, here is a little summary:
1. Location - as described above, a little far from city center.
2. Rooms and overall atmosphere - Very good
3. Staff - nice and helpful
4. Food - very good, it is worth mentioning that in evenings, you get free snacks and they are really tasty. During the business lunch hours, Grü lounge offers very good lunch buffet at a very reasonable price of 7,90€
5. This hotel also offers a gymnasium and sauna which are well maintained.

Room Tip: While reserving a room, please let the staff know about your choices very clearly, for example, in c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SurjeetSachdeva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, CA
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2012

It is a tad further than you want to be but if you don't mind taking the train for about 20 minutes to downtown, then its fine. We didnt realized it was that far until we got there. It is a standard limited service hotel. The restaurant closes around 10-11pm and there's no room service. I never stayed at a limited service before and realized how much i love room service when i got here with none available. We really enjoyed the spa facility with sauna, steam room...we went there a few times and enjoyed the quietness of the place.

There was construction across the way when we were there...so didnt sleep well the whole time.

Room Tip: Check the map and calculate train ride to/from locations before you decide to book this. Im used to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank beemail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai
Level Contributor
72 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2012 via mobile

Hotel is close to the U bahn and Ernst Stadion in Vienna. Rooms are quite big and clean. New furniture inside. The Prater is 15 minutes walk. They have their own garage for your car for 18 euro per day. Breakfast is correct. If you are going for a concert or an exhibition , best place to stay.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Bea B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Leopoldstadt
Austria Trend Hotel Messe Wien
Renaissance Wien Hotel
#76 of 362 in Vienna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,026 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Leopoldstadt
Hilton Vienna Danube Waterfront
Margareten
Holiday Inn Vienna City
Holiday Inn Vienna City
#59 of 362 in Vienna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,045 reviews
Kaisermühlen
NH Danube City
NH Danube City
#98 of 362 in Vienna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 986 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Vienna Prater/Messe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Vienna Prater/Messe

Property: Courtyard Vienna Prater/Messe
Address: Trabrennstrasse 4, Vienna 1020, Austria (Formerly Courtyard Vienna Messe)
Phone Number:
Location: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Leopoldstadt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#48 Family Hotel in Vienna
#50 Luxury Hotel in Vienna
#62 Business Hotel in Vienna
#62 Romantic Hotel in Vienna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Courtyard Vienna Prater/Messe 4*
Number of rooms: 251
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Minutes from Vienna's lively center stands the Courtyard Vienna Prater/Messe. Ideally located in the business quarter "Viertel 2", our modern hotel sits near the Vienna fairgrounds, Reed Exhibition Messe Wien, the green Prater and the Ernst Happel stadium. The city center can be reached within 10 minutes as the hotel offers direct access to the underground U2. All major highways and the airport are within immediate reach away by car. All guest rooms offer individual air condition, comfortable Courtyard beds, laptop safe, W-LAN, flat screen with satellite TV, coffee & tea making facilities, refrigerator, iron and ironing board and hair dryer. On the 8th floor we provide on 430 m2 of fitness and wellness overlooking Vienna. Work-out in our cardio and strength training area with professional support and then relax in our panorama sauna, steam bath, solarium and relaxation room. At our restaurant, allow us to make you feel comfortable by experiencing the traditional flair of Viennese hospitality together with our modern and contemporary interpretation of culinary art. Experience real treat by tasting local products combined with fresh herbs, luscious and crisp vegetables and a drink of fantastic, high quality Austrian wine. Savor fresh seasonal specialties, popular Viennese classics or American delicacies of our international hotel cuisine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Courtyard Vienna Prater/Messe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Vienna Messe Hotel Vienna
Vienna Courtyard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing