We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great restaurant”
Review of Das Schick

Das Schick
Ranked #273 of 4,161 Restaurants in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $29 - $49
Cuisines: Austrian, European, Central European, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Romantic, Scenic view, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Inner City
Description: Cosmopolitan cuisine in Vienna: indulge in treats of the Austrian and Spanish cuisine at the restaurant, high above the rooftops. 'Das Schick', your restaurant in Vienna (former restaurant "Himmelsstube"), combines Austrian tradition and spirited Spanish flair. Experience a unique, appealing atmosphere, delicious cuisine in Vienna, and a new head chef and menu that will enchant you.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“great restaurant”
Reviewed October 5, 2013

Beautiful roof top restaurant in the AM Parking hotel (ask for a window seat), modern food - combination of central european and spanish dishes and very good, reasonable priced wines. I reccomend the Tapas and the Porchini Tortillia starters and the Veal and beaf Fillet mains. great selection of chease. about 75 euros per person for a full meal with wine. very proffesional, high end service. must order.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ofer S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
linda_labschuetz, Internet Guest Relation Manager at Das Schick, responded to this review, October 13, 2013
Dear Ofer S,

We are very pleased to read about your impressions and thank you for recommending our Restaurant “Das Schick” to further Vienna travellers.

As you wrote it is advisable to book in advance in order to get a table at the desired date.

Looking forward to your next vacation in Vienna, we remain,

with best regards to Tel Aviv
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

254 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    158
    58
    23
    7
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wicklow, Ireland
Level Contributor
30 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Superb meal and fantastic service”
Reviewed September 21, 2013

We were a group of 5 persons. We had a great table with high chairs overlooking Vienna at night. The restaurant is located on the top floor of the Hotel Am Parking. The menu was a mixture of Spanish and Viennese food. We started with tapas and titbits which was delicious. I had the paella for main - amazing; The staff were exceptionally helpful.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ger27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
linda_labschuetz, Internet Guest Relation Manager at Das Schick, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Dear Ger27,

Thank you for posting your experience on TripAdvisor.

We are very happy to learn about your impressions and appreciate your compliments.

We hope you will keep your visit at our Restaurant “Das Schick” in good memories and would be pleased to welcome you back in future.

In the meantime, we remain,

with best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Znojmo, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
131 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
“Quite good restaurant with average food”
Reviewed September 8, 2013

After reading very good reviews of this place here on TripAdvisor we went to the Schick for dinner, but we were disappointed.
The restaurant is quite small and view at night is nothing special if you don´t have the right table. But the truly problem is the food!
The bakery is hard and not fresh at all, the cream-tomato soup taste like water-tomato soup in school cafeteria and the choices of main courses are for vegetarian very limited too and the final outcome is not very satisfactory. The best from the whole menu was small chef´s regard in the beginn and the dessert.
There are definitely much better restaurants with more outstanding view and service for the same price in Vienna as this one.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ewangelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
linda_labschuetz, Internet Guest Relation Manager at Das Schick, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Dear Ewangelle,

We are sorry to learn that you were disappointed by your restaurant visit and that you did not enjoy your dinner.

The Restaurant offers place for max. 50 persons and since its renovation in the year 2010 offers a completely new restaurant concept. The foundation of this concept is the interplay between the Austrian and Spanish cuisines.

We regret that you missed a bigger vegetarian menu choice; please do not hesitate to ask our team for some options already during your visit. They will be pleased to help you finding an alternative. Please be assured that we put great importance to the quality of our dishes and therefore feel sorry for not being able to convince you.

We hope you will give us a further chance in the future and wait for your next visit.

In the meantime, we remain,

with best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Très Schick!”
Reviewed August 20, 2013

We went here on the recommendation of my Viennese friend during a recent weekend visit to see her. It was an amazing experience from start to finish. Everything from entering the hotel's beautiful foyer and taking the lift which took us to the 12th floor restaurant. We were greeted with such a warm and friendly hospitality and were shown to our seat which was just beside the window with one of the most amazing views of the Viennese skyline.
We both opted for their 4 course Das Schick menu for €49 each with a wine option for an extra €20 per person. The menu was exotic and one of exquisite culinary excellence which fused many flavours and textures together. Amazing!
The waiter and waitress for the evening were very attentive and charming. Nothing was too much trouble for them even when I asked if I could have a fish option instead of pork which was part of the set menu, which I realise was a bit cheeky on my part. That seriously impressed me.
During the evening we took many breaks between courses to visit their rooftop terrace which is also their smoking area and enjoyed the view of the sun setting over Vienna. We took many photos of this beautiful sight.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RiveriaBear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
linda_labschuetz, Internet Guest Relation Manager at Das Schick, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Dear RiveriaBear,

We are delighted to read that you describe your visit as: „an amazing experience from start to finish“ and thank you very much for your compliments.

With pleasure we learn that we were able to completely inspire you and are encouraged to give our best to offer our guests a memorable visit.

Thank you and best regards from “Over the rooftops of Vienna”.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Oregon
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent food and service”
Reviewed August 16, 2013 via mobile

This restaurant was recommended by our Cruise Manager on our AMA Waterways river cruise. We dined at a window table overlooking the city at sunset. The food was excellent, and matched by the service. They were friendly, professional, and perfectly timed. The set 4-course menu was reasonably priced (48 euro) and the a la carte was reasonable as well. The meats (pork loin and rack of lamb) were excellently prepared, full of flavor. Highly recommended.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank DreamVacationsSPG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
linda_labschuetz, Internet Guest Relation Manager at Das Schick, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Dear AndonGES,

We are happy to learn that you followed the recommendation of your Cruise Manager and enjoyed a nice dinner at our Restaurant “Das Schick”.

We thank you for your praise and already passed your compliments to the entire staff.

We hope your river cruise continued to operate in calm waters and you had a good return home.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Das Schick also viewed

 
Vienna, Vienna Region
Vienna, Vienna Region
 

Been to Das Schick? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing