We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good value for money” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Happy Hostel

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Happy Hostel
Ranked #120 of 202 Specialty Lodging in Vienna
Warsaw, Poland
Level Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good value for money”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2014

We were there for 3 days at the end of December. Had a private double with shared bathroom. We got a room in a small appartment of two locked rooms, a bathroom and a small kitchen corner. We were lucky cause there was noone else in the second room, so it was quiet. The room was clean and warm, a bit small but hey, it's a hostel. We got linen and towels. Bathroom was fine - there was an issue with hot water once but they fixed it quickly. We did not use the kitchen but it looked ok.

What we liked most is the location which is really close to the Westbanhof and it takes 15 mins to get to the centre by metro. But the small street is hard to find, so take a good look on the map.

What we did not like: when we got lost and I called the hostel, they guy at the reception spoke very poor English and was not able to help us. Which was just a small inconvenience but to add up to this - when we showed up he made me feel it was only my fault that I don't speak German and he couldn't communicate with me. When he learnt I was Polish, he kept comementing on how Austria is not like an Eastern poor country - I kept ignoring him but I guess he needed very much to show me I'm from a worse part of the world. Except for this guy, other people in the hostel were super nice.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Anna R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    27
    15
    15
    13
See reviews for
3
27
18
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
121 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 25, 2013

This is budget hotel/hostel so adjust your expectations accordingly or you will be disappointed; I paid 35 euros for single room with shared bathroom. Lay out is unusual in that it is rooms in apartment layout being rented; rooms without dedicated bathroom will share kitchen and bathroom with two or three other rooms. I stayed five nights. Pension Kraml is cheaper [35 euros for single room including all you can eat buffet breakfast] and nicer but location is not so convenient. so Happy Hostel is my second choice but for the location and value, I would gladly stay here again.

PROS
1. Excellent location, within 5 minute walk from WestBahnhof railway and subway station; you can get bus to airport for 8 euro one way or 13 euro round trip, running about 3 times per hours [cash only; no credit cards for airport bus]. McDonalds, Subway and many other fast food and full service restaurants at West Bahnhof and surrounding area
2. Accepts credit card
3. Run by Franz and two African American origin ladies; they try to please guests within reason
4. Free access to kitchen with microwave, stove, fridge, freezer and oven. Kitchen has full cutlery, cups, plates and utensils. You can buy groceries from Billa or Hofer other grocery store on Mariahilder strasse, only five minute walk. Great value at Billa; 400g frozen vegetarian lasagna for two euros; you cannot beat that value and tasted great. Buying food at grocery store can save lots of money compared to eating out.
5. Breakfast is five euros if you reserve ahead [or 4 euros if you buy directly from front desk, a sign at reception said that ??]; I had breakfast one day only and it was substantial with bread, egg, jam, cheese, tea, meat
6. I stayed in room 14a on floor above ground floor and was spacious enough for budget room.
7. Old CRT TV but cable enable with many channels; English channels were BBC and CNN; most channels in german
8. Area seemed safe; I did not have any misadventures
9. Awesomely fast, free wifi

CONS
1. My room was very cold. Heater had been turned off but even when turned on, it was always very cold inside the room; corridor outside was always warmer.
2. Soap is not provided nor are clean towels provided daily unless you ask for it.
3. Shower hose in shared bathroom had leak and sprayed water everywhere

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PULAOKHAO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duluth, Minnesota
Level Contributor
128 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 254 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2013

Yes, great location.
No, It is not a happy hostel, it is a worst hostel in Vienna, creeper works at the hotel, chases people in the hotel, spiders and spiders web everywhere, loud and noisy, full of drunk people, table full of dirts, blood on radiotors,
please, please, avoid this place as it is very unsafe, very noisy, very unprofessional staff.

women that cleans changed towels with the one that you use to put on the floor, How can I use that for my face?? it is very dramatic, they can have a reality show about it.

be aware you will get allergies, mold, and mildew in your.

oh, and Internet is so bad!! very bad!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Curly E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level Contributor
34 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2013

It was alright for what we paid, a bit grubby. We stayed in a two person apartment. It was very spacious but a bit musty, could definitely do with a revamp. Also the toilet was in a separate room to the shower/sink which was unusual. The shower head fell numerous times and is quite heavy, was lucky not to get hurt! No air-con but it wasn't too hot when we were there. The location was okay - it was a little far out from the centre but near a metro stop and westbanhof. To be honest I probably wouldn't stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RachelEllen89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teddington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
120 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2013

Considering our twin room cost over 40 euro a night in total (the price of a cheap hotel), we were left disappointed. The hostel is not happy; there is no real communal area to meet people and the staff are helpful enough but seem to go through the motions of reading out places to visit and what time checkout is with no personality or warmth, which left us feeling a little uncomfortable. There was one shower and one toilet between us and another room; I saw the same mess/hairs in the shower from the Sunday morning we arrived until the Tuesday we left, so the bathrooms aren't cleaned daily. Also the shower holder was broken and at one point the heavy shower head fell off and hit me on the head! The room had a tv (poor reception) and the beds were comfortable enough, though it's true that the pillows were flat (I folded mine in half) and something sticky had been spilt and not cleaned all over my bedframe so I couldn't sit down on the bed or the backs of my legs got sticky! Also I had read somewhere that the room would have bunkbeds, air-con and a basin - none of these were there. Our room was right next to the street so we were kept awake by traffic noise and the sound of people dragging suitcases back and forth outside our window, which we needed to keep open as again there was no air-con. All in all very disappointing for the price; I have stayed in hostels half this price that were twice as good!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sazmeister88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2013 via mobile

This place could have easily been rated 3/5 from me if it weren't for the little things that affected our stay here.
When we arrived at the hostel we were greeted kindly by the woman at the desk, who told us how yo get to the rooms etc. One thing we did notice was a lack of communal area in the hostel which is great if you don't want one, but as we wanted to meet other travellers this is always a downside to a stay.
The apartment we stayed in was spacious and and had a kitchen, toilet and shower room, this area would be shared by a maximum of 8 people in two 4 men rooms, which is fine.
A problem we did have however was that the boiler broke down which meant that water was cold, although they did have a shower downstairs we could use, the kitchen sink would still only five us cold water.
The things in the room are old and slightly outdated.
The location isn't great, and it is a quite a walk to the centre of the city, however the hostel is really close to Westbahnhof which is a bonus.
Overall the hostel isn't a great place to meet people, with no community feel. They could easily improve the rooms though and if this was done it would be a nice budget place to stay in if one wanted peace and quiet.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ChippoHQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2013 via mobile

Rather than having huge dormitories, this hostel has more of an apartment format with a private kitchen and bathroom between two rooms. This is excellent if you are looking for more privacy although not so good for socialising. The hostel is cheap, very close to the Westbahnhof and between the city centre and Schonbrunn palace. The rooms are basic and our shower was a bit grubby but it was exactly what was required for our 3 night stay in Vienna.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank vt26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Dobling
Chicilli Hostel
Chicilli Hostel
#148 of 202 in Vienna
3.0 of 5 bubbles 15 reviews
Do Step Inn
#14 of 202 in Vienna
3.5 of 5 bubbles 495 reviews
Mariahilf
Strawberry Youth Hostel Mittelgasse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Neubau
Kaiser 23 Ho(s)tel & Guesthouse
Mariahilf
Westbahnhof Hostel One
Westbahnhof Hostel One
#102 of 202 in Vienna
3.5 of 5 bubbles 13 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Happy Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Happy Hostel

Property: Happy Hostel
Address: Kurzgasse 2, Vienna 1060, Austria
Location: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Mariahilf
Hotel Style:
Ranked #120 of 202 Specialty Lodging in Vienna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Happy Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Happy Hotel Vienna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing