We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Like home”
Review of Happy Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Happy Hostel
Ranked #128 of 201 Specialty Lodging in Vienna
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Like home”
Reviewed December 19, 2012

The hostel simply consists of apartments in a classic Viennese house, which makes you feel like having your own flat, not really staying in hostel. We were two and got a private spacious apartment with a double bed, there were also additional bunk beds for four more people (empty in our case). The main room was really big, but the furniture and equipment was older and didn't make an impression, but did the job well, especially for the price.
No lift and high 3rd floor can be troublesome with heavy baggage, but the round staircase is otherwise nice.
Location close to Westbahnhof is fine, it is a big transfer point with many lines of U, tram and train. It is in a small street but easy to find when you have a map.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rtcx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    27
    16
    16
    13
See reviews for
4
28
18
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2012

I got a bit of difficulty finding the place when I first arrived to Vienna. The direction given from the hostel was not really accurate. But Vienna people was so nice and helpful. At the end, an old kind lady helped me to find the place and even with the local people it still took around 30 minutes walking around trying to find the place. Though the place is a bit challenging to find, once you know where it is, it would be very easy to commute as it's located nearby the main station. It was then easy to go the city center and especially if you want to go to other cities. This made things very easy to me. Overall, the place was fine and got everything I need in the room. Though it's a bit old and the bed and pillow were flat, the room was clean and that's all i needed then.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ground_space
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
82 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2012

The Happy Hostel is a great place to stay for couples on a budget. With private rooms at around 45 euros a night, it's very good value. The rooms, while a little dated, are spacious and clean. We shared a bathroom with two other rooms but we never had to wait to use it. The staff are friendly and the location is good - right next to Westbanhof, so easy to access the city centre by U-Bahn and easy to get our train to Salzburg when we left.

The only complaint I had was that our room was on the 3rd floor, which was only accessible by stairs and the staircase was not lit up at night, which was a little dangerous. This was a minor quibble in the whole scheme of things and overall I would recommend the Happy Hostel as a place to stay.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jupey12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santiago, Chile
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2012

i rent a single room for a week, as i was attending at an academic congress. They give me a single room in an appartment in front of the hostel. The appartment has two rooms, so you have to share a full equiped kitchen, a shower room and a rest room. The room has two beds, although the administrator says me that the room was little, it was enough for me (i've spent more money on more little rooms in other places), with a table, chairs, and TV. So i could have full freedom to going out at my own pace.

To connect to internet, you have to go to the hall of the hostel, but you could try to connect to wi fi from your room or the kitchen.

To eat you have many places to choice, and if you prefer, you can go to Hafer supermarket to buy food to prepare.

The staff was very helpful and speak good english. And if you need to take a taxi to the airport, they can get a special rate. (Also you can walk to Westbahnhof and take the Vienna Airport lines for 7 euros one way, and 13 for a return ticket)


The appartment was clean and secure.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChileanCossack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minsk, Belarus
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2012

Franz, Happy Hostel's founder, is always trying to improve his hostel and watching out for his guests. I have stayed in his apartments, and found them to be cozy, homey and a comfort after tredging through snow and wind. I looked forward to getting comfortable in the warm room, and watching a bit of local TV. The staff have always been helpful on my four or five visits here since 2004. And now, he has some nice partners in Gary and Inge Franceschi, the owners of the Gasthaus/Restaurant of the same name just around the corner. Great food, service and prices. Even when I have had to book elsewhere when they were full, I stopped by to say hello, even when it was out of my way to see Franz and Gary and Inge. It makes my Vienna trips feel complete.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Istanbulvermont
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
59 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2012

I stayed in a single room in one of their shared apartments for almost a week. The location was excellent, and the staff were very helpful with all my queries. But what stopped me from giving this 4 stars was the room - the door was warped so locking the door was a battle, the pillow was flat and the bathroom window directly opposite other flats had a see-through curtain so unless you wanted to show yourself to the world you had to shower at night. The bathroom also didn't have a complete 4th wall (only a 3/4 wall with a gap at the top) - so you had to be careful with the hand-held shower not to soak the next room (which was the kitchen).

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank K8ie_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parsippany, New Jersey
Level Contributor
111 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2012

Location: very near westbahnhof statn, right behind the ibis hotel

my friends had booked this for our trip - it was a nice change from cramp hostel rooms. they provided large spacious rooms, even single and double ensuites were available with a bathroom and toile to every 3 rooms; which made a nice mix of privacy and comradeship.

my mates had a six bed-2 room ensuite for the 3 of them and i had a single - both of which we liked for the space and arrangements.

the owner has a charity support for a cause in ghana to which a certain amount of the revenue goes to, which is a very nice thing.

if you opt for breakfast, you are provided with coupons for breakfast in a cafe in the next aley where a kindly old german fraulein will treat you very kindly and ply you with food.

all-in-all - very good experience. definitely wont mind going back.

Room Tip: if you want privacy, opt for a single or double ensuite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SoumitreeG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Mariahilf
Westend City Hostel
Westend City Hostel
#34 of 201 in Vienna
181 reviews
Neubau
Kaiser 23 Ho(s)tel & Guesthouse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hietzing
Hostel Hutteldorf
Hostel Hutteldorf
#48 of 201 in Vienna
168 reviews
Hostel Ruthensteiner
#1 of 201 in Vienna
898 reviews
Mariahilf
Strawberry Youth Hostel Mittelgasse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Happy Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Happy Hostel

Property: Happy Hostel
Address: Kurzgasse 2, Vienna 1060, Austria
Location: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Mariahilf
Hotel Style:
Ranked #128 of 201 Specialty Lodging in Vienna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and HostelWorld so you can book your Happy Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Happy Hotel Vienna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing