We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Poor Service for big Money” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Unkai Restaurant

Unkai Restaurant
Ranked #717 of 4,071 Restaurants in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $31 - $38
Cuisines: Japanese, Sushi, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Special occasions, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Brunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Highchairs Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Inner City
Description: The Japanese Restaurant Unkai is a special example of exquisite service and fascinating delicacies of the Japanese kitchen. Dishes like Sushi and Sashimi are prepared on the highest level, the Teppanyaki grill being the most popular way of preparation. Two original Japanese Tatami rooms as well as two European dining rooms are available for private dining and offer up to 66 seats. Special highlight is the exclusive Sushi-Brunch, offered on weekends and public holidays. Various Bento-boxes and Sushi-Sets are also offered for take-away.
Вена
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Poor Service for big Money”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2014

Restarant is in the Vienna Grand Hotel on the 7 th floor. It offers four private dining rooms, but they should be booked well in advance (two or more weeks). The mainn dining are is separated into few area (Teppanyaki requeirs separate special tables). I reserved a table for my family (three of us) to celebrat my wife's birthday. We chose Kaiseki Zui-un Menu - Hatsusimo Tsuki with wine accompaniment, which make Euro 192 oer person. Not a cheap one, but they serve almost authentic Japanese cuisine (nothing to do with junk sushi-sashime). 8 courses plus dessert (I expected something like birthday cake with candles for my wife, since when booking they asked about special occasion, and lateron when we came to the restaurant, the manager reconfirmed who of us had a birthday). and then 200 min (sic!) of servicing the dinner, with average 25-30 min. of wating between services. Moreover, theris no warning about long waiting of this menu. Such a terrible service. Moreover, when I finally asked to expedite the service, they brought the bill with no birthday cake or dessert. The evening was spoilt.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
5 Thank Rozhkov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

208 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    93
    40
    38
    25
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
439 reviews
307 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 237 helpful votes
“Good value lunch starting from 19EUR”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2014

The lunch menus are definitely worth coming for. They start from 19EUR, which I had. It included miso-soup, small salad, tempura (vegetables and shrimps), small piece of fried salmon, small portion of cooked meat ball with sauce, small bowl of sashimi and portion of rice and egg pudink. At the end we also got dessert - fresh fruits with vanilla ice cream. The portions were small but as there were so many of them, it was absolutely sufficient. The dessert was large and very nice. Overall, the food was very nice, the fish fresh. For 19 EUR I think it was a great value. Saying that, I think the service personell was rather unexperienced, even though was nice.

Overall nice experience and would come again for lunch.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Dafne07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
219 reviews
110 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 163 helpful votes
“Nice Japanese food in a tranquil setting”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2014

I read very negative reports about this restaurant and I'm honestly surprised!
Located on the top floor of the Grand Hotel, the restaurant is tranquil with plenty of clean space.
The menu is clear and fairly extensive with a good choice and the portions are quite generous.
The sashimi was fresh and well plated as was the sushi, tempura sand the other bits and pieces we ordered. The staff were very pleasant and attentive without being overbearing.
Everything was washed down with some very good sake and all in all at a very good price.
We all love Japanese food and we will be visiting again at our next visit to Vienna as it is all within 5 minutes walk of the opera and the major hotels of the area.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank OTT12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macau, China
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Not worthy of the location”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2014

It is at the top floor of the Grand Hotel - next to the Opera House. From the outside it looks very Japanese but the inside is devoid of personality: Too modern, too cool. Most of all, the food is not of the same quality as the other restaurants in the same hotel. The ingredients are localized and the style is not traditional Japanese. Take the chinaware for example: A traditional Japanese restaurant should have many different small plates decorated with beautiful Japanese patterns. On top, be prepared to pay a pretty penny even when you are not very hungry.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Yumi0910
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doha, Qatar
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Not authentic”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 22, 2013

This restaurant is right opposite of the famous Le Ciel Vienna but no match for its neighbour. The only thing that they have in common is the price. The kitchen is not authentic Japanese and the dishes are minimal.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Noora H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Unkai Restaurant also viewed

Vienna, Vienna Region
Vienna, Vienna Region
 
Vienna, Vienna Region
Vienna, Vienna Region
 
Vienna, Vienna Region
Vienna, Vienna Region
 

Been to Unkai Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing