We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent choice!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel-Pension Baronesse

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel-Pension Baronesse
Ranked #208 of 367 Hotels in Vienna
Marshall, TX
Level Contributor
178 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Excellent choice!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2012

We chose this pension in Vienna because it offered a very good price with breakfast in the city, and it was close to a tram spot. We were very pleased with everything!

Our tram stop (Lange Grasse) was 1/2 block from the Pension. At this particular stop, you may choose two routes. The trams are fast and easy to use. We even used them to get back to the train station...with luggage!

PROS: comfortable, large room with huge windows and old-world charm. Double doors and double windows helped us sleep well. A well-laid breakfast with an excellent coffee machine (6 choices!). Pleasant welcoming staff who remembered us and offered good directions and tips. The charm of staying in a 1902 building that has been modernized but retains all its beautiful charm.

CONS: Vienna is a busy city. Expect noise. But we slept well each night!

We would stay here again!

Room Tip: I'm sure any request would be met with their best effort to assist you!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nittie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

233 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    63
    106
    41
    16
    7
See reviews for
52
93
25
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2012

This pension is near the tram stop that brings you to inner ring and the subway. The room is big and clean. We were place in a modern room without carpet overlooking Langegasse (113) it was a little bit noisy because of the tram and the bar next the pension but we slept well. The breakfast was excellent and one of the best of our trip from Berlin to Budapest.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JuanManuel_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2012

This hotel does not have many facilities, however anything that it is offering is pretty good. There is only breakfast served and if you wish to have a coffee or any beverage or snack at a later point you would have to go somewhere outdoors and get it. There are a few supermarkets and coffee shops nearby that solve this issue though. The staff is friendly and the rooms are spacey and clean. I stayed in a double classic room and I really liked the ivory furniture and decoration. If you don't require much of a room service or the facilities and spaces of a grand hotel, then this one would make your stay more than pleasant.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lizziefizzie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2012

We spent 6 nights in this wonderful "pension" in August, 2012.
We stayed in a traditionally furnished room overlooking Langegasse (which was NOT too noisy for us).
The property is a charming slice of "old Vienna", complete with central, lift (elevator), surrounded by a winding metal staircase.
Our room was larger than I'd expected (for a European hotel).
The hotel was very clean.
Breakfast buffet was MORE than adequate,
but the real winners here were the front desk staff, who were MOST knowledgable, courteous, friendly, and helpful, no matter what we requested.
A great place to stay in Vienna (The ""Ring" is two stops away on the 42 and 43 trams from the next corner. The #5 tram stops right by the hotel-- direct from WestBahnhof on one end and the Prater at the other).

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Larry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gothenburg, Sweden
Level Contributor
54 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2012

Prior to our trip I searched Tripadvisor to find a suitable hotel and fell for the wonderful writing about this establishment. However, I dont believe anyone stayed in room 107. It was so stuffy and warm like an oven even though windows were wide open. If you expect to find a four star "hotel standard" you will be greatly disapointed as the hotel is very dated and in need of a pick me up. The cleaning is good.
The breakfast is unfortunately not much to talk about if one is used to the Austrain ones in general. The staff also talked loudly in their native language complaining about things without realising that someone might understand. Also the breakfast staff need to be wary of that at 6-7am it is not ok to talk loudly or yell with open windows towards the courtyard as it will echo loudly throughout.
Staff were friendly and helpful. We found that if you want to be close to the pulse of the city then this place is on the wrong side. Though we found the greatest Italian restaurant 5 min away.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Makarska75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monza, Italy
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2012

Very good accommodation.
The hotel is very nice .
Rooms are well maintained , the breakfast is very rIch and different day to day.
The hotel position is close to tram/bus stop and it's very easy to reach any location of the city .
The personnel we met
is very professional , kind, competent and really focused to customers satisfaction.
We have been staying for 1 week and we suggest this hotel as good choice for a pleasant
holiday in Vienna .

Friends from Monza (Italy)

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LORIS V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laidley, Australia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2012

The room was clean and pleasant, the buffet breakfast was more than adequate, and the reception staff were knowledgeable and friendly. Its an older building but it has been well maintained and looked after. The location is tops, there are any number of bars shops and eateries within easy walking distance. The hotel is very handy to the tram and from there its only 2 or 3 stops to the edge of central Vienna. Free wifi worked well.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank r-j-ward
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Alservorstadt
Hotel Pension Baron am Schottentor
Josefstadt
Hotel Graf Stadion
Hotel Graf Stadion
#63 of 367 in Vienna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 380 reviews
Leopoldstadt
MEININGER Hotel Wien Downtown Sissi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Josefstadt
Pension Wild
Pension Wild
#128 of 367 in Vienna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 275 reviews
Josefstadt
Hotel Zipser
Hotel Zipser
#91 of 367 in Vienna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 420 reviews
Josefstadt
Mercure Josefshof Wien am Rathaus
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel-Pension Baronesse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel-Pension Baronesse

Property: Hotel-Pension Baronesse
Address: Lange Gasse 61, Vienna 1080, Austria
Location: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Josefstadt , Alservorstadt
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#116 Business Hotel in Vienna
#144 Luxury Hotel in Vienna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel-Pension Baronesse 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether it is a conference, a business trip, a sightseeing tour or you are looking for the one special place to withdraw from the hubbub of a cosmopolitan city. Enjoy the relaxation of an elegant atmosphere full of Vienna charm together with discreet and individual comfort. Baronesse is where guests feel at home. Aviano and Baronesse are a symbiosis of Vienna tradition and spirit of the times. Our 4-star pension which has been managed as a family business for decades has long been established as a stylish secret tip in Vienna. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Hotel-Pension Baronesse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Baronesse My Secret Home Hotel Vienna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing