We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel-Pension Baronesse
Ranked #207 of 361 Hotels in Vienna
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful Hotel”
Reviewed August 21, 2011

This is a wonderful hotel. The character of the rooms is beautiful, the elevator, the floors and the high ceilings everything we were wanting to find. The staff were wonderful and always very helpful with maps to guide us through Vienna, finding restaurants and sightseeing. Everyone spoke English which was great. Breakfast was excellent - love the European breakfasts! We were there during a couple of very hot summer days so we only had a fan in our room but that was fine - we had an excellent stay! I would return for sure and maybe in the winter to enjoy the Christmas market - we have been told Vienna is beautiful at that time as well!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kiwi230
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

237 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    63
    108
    43
    16
    7
See reviews for
53
95
25
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level Contributor
117 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2011

Have just left the Pension Baronesse a couple of nights ago and couldn't be happier with my stay there.
Location: Only 1 minute walking to catch the tram # 43 or 44. Then you get off in 2 stops to be at the 'university stop', which is your starting point to visit Viena walking! You are right at the 'ring' and ready to discover this great city!
Breakfast: Excellent!
Staff: Have stayed in several hotels, pensions, etc., and it's hard to beat the service provided by Denise! I've probably asked 1000 questions and she was always very helpful with a great smile on her face! Thanks a lot, Denise.
Thanks to all staff as well.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FlavioNZBR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baronesserl, Front Office Manager at Hotel-Pension Baronesse, responded to this review, August 9, 2011
Dear Guest,

thanks for taking the time you write a review. We are really glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay so much and we are indeed very proud of our staff, which is a big bonus to our house.

Sonja Kavka
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 27, 2011

We stayed in this location because it was close to the family we were visiting. It turned out to be quiet and safe and close to a variety of restaurants and bars. Also, it was only a short walk from the underground and the centre of the city. The hotel is in a great building with an amazing lift. The room was comfortable and very clean and although there was no air-con, there was a fan which did the job. One negative was the hair drier in the bathroom which was not great. The staff in this hotel were wonderful. They went out of their way to help with queries and were very friendly. The breakfast was good and once again, the staff very helpful.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ulster_traveller57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2011

We got one of the modern rooms. The best thing about the stay was the friendliness of the staff. We had to leave early to catch a train to the airport, and they started the breakfast service early just for us. It was a pleasure working with everyone there. We would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank from_chicago_1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baronesserl, Front Office Manager at Hotel-Pension Baronesse, responded to this review, August 9, 2011
Dear Guest,

We want ot thank you for taking the time to write a review about our house and we hope to welcome you again in the future.
Sonja Kavka
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
arb59181
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2011

I stayed here for three nights with my husband and we enjoyed our time at the Baronesse. Yes, the furniture and trimmings are a bit outdated, but that is the charm - - the slightly Victorian and doll house-esque decor is part of the package. Nothing fancy and no extra frills but the breakfast is plentiful, the beds are comfortable,the rooms are large, the location fantastic, and the staff is amazingly helpful offering tips and directions at all hours. All in all, I highly recommend the Baronesse as an exceptionally affordable and comfortable option in Vienna. Is it 5 star, no, but it is certainly well worth it and the service is definitely above and beyond many of the hotels I have stayed in on my travels. Well worth it, book before it's too late!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank arb59181
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baronesserl, Leiter Front Office at Hotel-Pension Baronesse, responded to this review, June 18, 2011
Dear guest

Thank you very much for your kind review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay at Baronesse.
For those who prefer contemporary furnishings we offer modern rooms on the ground floor, which have been redesigned recently. But as you said, many guests expect (and love) the traditional style as part of the package.

Kind regards
Sonja Kavka
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bergen, Norway
Level Contributor
56 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed May 22, 2011

Yes its more a homefeling than hotel but hardly 4 stars. Many nice restaurants pizzeria near by. A bit "pinky" as the name. Nice breakfast that also close at 10 sat, and sundays.
Would prefere 10.30 in weekends. Not much local trafic, but the tram wake you up early if you not used to the sound.
Despie this, i would reccomend it and come back.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank peergynt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baronesserl, Front Office Manager at Hotel-Pension Baronesse, responded to this review, May 24, 2011
Dear Guest's,

We thank you very much for taking the time to write a review about our house. As you say, if you are not used to the tram, it can be a problem. But we also have rooms facing the courtyard which are more quiet and if possible we can offer a room change to one of those rooms. So the best is always to check with the Reception staff and see if a room change is possible.
We are also working on our breakfast times - so we might extend it on weekends.

Kind regards from Vienna
Sonja Kavka
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Pole
Level Contributor
92 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2011

Overall pretty good, but VERY noisy!!!

Overall, we really enjoyed our stay! We felt the 4-star rating was a bit of a stretch - very basic furnishings, quite old in parts, etc. We appreciate that it is an older building, of course, but it just didn't feel like it had the finishings or services of a 4-star hotel. But overall, that really didn't matter!

PROS:

Good location - a very short walk from the Lange Gasse tram stop, where you can catch tram 43 or 44 to Schottentor then change for a quick tram ride into the town centre (Opera, etc). It was a very simple, pleasant way to travel - so much nicer than undergrounds!

Plus, there is a Billa supermarket very close, plus all the great restaurants of the Josefstadt area the hotel is in. We can personally recommend Die Fromme Helene which is about a 5-10 minute walk from the hotel. Very yummy food :)

Friendly staff - staff were generally really helpful and nice... Ina and Stefanie in particular were really lovely. They helped with restaurant recommendations, helped with a reservation (as our German is far from good, haha!), were very helpful with directions into town, etc. Overall, just really nice staff! The room cleaners were friendly too - although the lack of 'do not disturb' signs was irritating!!

Hotel services - we appreciated that you could buy tram tickets from reception, as well as postcards and stamps :)

Breakfast - fresh and plentiful! We were always offered hot drinks as soon as we arrived which was wonderdul, as I cannot start my day without green tea and lemon!! :D Staff in the breakfast room were also very friendly. The lady with short blonde hair was just lovely.

Elevator - great old-style elevator in the hotel! Small point, but it was still nice :)

Internet - fast, free wireless internet that actually worked!

CONS:

Noise - oh.my.gosh. So, so noisy!! Renovations seemed to be going on across the courtyard, as well as beside our room wall. We appreciate that this may be a temporary thing, but it wasn't all that great being woken up at 6:30am each morning to the sound of drilling and hammers...! Staying in a courtyard-facing room, we could also hear a lot of what was going on in the building (which was a residential one, I guess!) across the other side of the courtyard - screaming babies, a few domestic arguments, hahah - so that would be something to consider if staying at Baronesse.

No air-conditioning or fans - it was only early April, but a warm April at that, and we found at night it became quite hot and stuffy. If you opened the windows and left the curtains open to get some air during the night, you woke up facing the residential apartments across the courtyard - awkward!!:)

I would absolutely recommend Baronesse to someone on a budget for the location (proximity to decent restaurants, easy access to trams into the town centre). We will definitely consider staying here again when we are next in beautiful Vienna!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank voyageuse_81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baronesserl, Leiter Front Office at Hotel-Pension Baronesse, responded to this review, May 13, 2011
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for taking your time and writing such a long review. We are sorry to hear that you have been disturbed from the construction in the neighbour house.
It would have been easy for us to offer you a roomchange to a room facing another courtyard.
We would also like to point out that the Baronesse is not a 4 star hotel - it is actually a 4 star Pension, more similiar to a B&B. Pensions differ from Hotels in that they concentrate on the essential: bed and breakfast. These are normally smaller establishments in blocks or flats and offices, personally managed by the owner, with an individual flair and many regular patrons. Do not expect a restaurant or social facilities and conference rooms.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Serviten Quarter
Hotel Pension Baron am Schottentor
Josefstadt
Hotel Graf Stadion
Hotel Graf Stadion
#63 of 361 in Vienna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 392 reviews
Ottakring
Boutique Hotel Donauwalzer
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Josefstadt
Hotel Zipser
Hotel Zipser
#113 of 361 in Vienna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 430 reviews
Josefstadt
Cordial Theaterhotel Wien
Cordial Theaterhotel Wien
#169 of 361 in Vienna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 318 reviews
Josefstadt
Pension Wild
Pension Wild
#101 of 361 in Vienna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel-Pension Baronesse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel-Pension Baronesse

Property: Hotel-Pension Baronesse
Address: Lange Gasse 61, Vienna 1080, Austria
Location: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Josefstadt , Alservorstadt
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#116 Business Hotel in Vienna
#144 Luxury Hotel in Vienna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel-Pension Baronesse 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether it is a conference, a business trip, a sightseeing tour or you are looking for the one special place to withdraw from the hubbub of a cosmopolitan city. Enjoy the relaxation of an elegant atmosphere full of Vienna charm together with discreet and individual comfort. Baronesse is where guests feel at home. Aviano and Baronesse are a symbiosis of Vienna tradition and spirit of the times. Our 4-star pension which has been managed as a family business for decades has long been established as a stylish secret tip in Vienna. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel-Pension Baronesse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Baronesse My Secret Home Hotel Vienna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing