We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The only disappointing restaurant visited in Vienna”
Review of Griechenbeisl

Griechenbeisl
Ranked #163 of 4,234 Restaurants in Vienna
Cuisines: Austrian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Neighborhood: Old University Quarter
Zurich, Switzerland
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“The only disappointing restaurant visited in Vienna”
Reviewed June 27, 2013

I did a reservation for the evening directly at the restaurant. The responsible persons were very friendly and I was looking forward to the dinner.

Unfortunately, the expectations were not met. The food (Wiener Schnitzel and Tafelspitz) was not flavored, fanciless and unlovingly arranged.
I ordered an additional side dish, which was not served and the waiter refused to reorder it as "this would take too long".
The waiter was very unfriendly and had an argument with his collegue next to our table.

After this experience I was not suprised that there were only tourists in the restaurant. There are several other good restaurants in the same streets, so I would not recommend to choose the Griechenbeisel.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank bkker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,604 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    523
    554
    283
    138
    106
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Istanbul, Turkey
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“For typical Austrian food in an inn from the Middle Age”
Reviewed June 22, 2013 via mobile

It was a business trip arranged by others, so I don't know about the prices. However, the food was excellent (we had a salad, schnitzel and apfelstrudel). We were sitting outside, but the inside looked promising as well. Very close to Stefansplatz, so could make a good touristic lunch followed by a long stroll.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank microcebe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Amazing Building”
Reviewed June 20, 2013

The food at the restaurant was very good but the atmosphere was incredible. The building is mentioned in records going back to 1350. Prices were reasonable and service was excellent. Nice selection of wines.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lwood_23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Wien, Austria
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Tourist Trap”
Reviewed June 20, 2013

This may be one of the oldest restaurants in the city, but its just a tourist trap. This place charges € 3,10 for tap water, and tricks you by calling the tap water "Wiener Hochquellwasser." Well, all our tap water in the city actually comes from a mountain spring. Outrageous! I have lived in Vienna for about a decade, I've never eaten here and I don't know anyone who has... I felt compelled to write a review based on the fact that there was a newspaper article published today on how this restaurant just rips tourists off....

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Tina2316
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Freising, Germany
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“A place to go to”
Reviewed June 9, 2013

Griechenbeisl (as one of the oldest restaurants in Vienna) is a place I have visited multiple times - and every time it was a pleasurable visit with very good food. But don't forget to make early reservations - it's quite busy. But despite that the service is excellent, the food is great, the ambience second to none!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Cugash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Griechenbeisl also viewed

Vienna, Vienna Region
 
Vienna, Vienna Region
Vienna, Vienna Region
 

Been to Griechenbeisl? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing