We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Covenient but very basic”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Josefstadt Appartements
Ranked #86 of 209 Specialty Lodging in Vienna
London
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Covenient but very basic”
Reviewed August 22, 2010

We stayed there for a few nights - it was an 'ok' place to stay, very convenient, but there is a room for improvement.

Arrived late evening, but were not informed by the staff about the entry code (despite informing them of our late arrival), took some time to figure out where to get it from as we first went to the reception (which was closed).

We had the small studio (tiny, in fact...) - it was fine, with a little kitchen area which was very useful during our stay. The room was nice but not too clean. No washing machine inside.

Location - very close to a couple of tram lines, easy to get around. Easy to walk around, too.

Lobby/reception - well, it is an apartment block, not very fancy, and the entrance area had a very strong cigarette smell during the time we stayed there.

Food & shopping - many good options around, but remember that Vienna is almost dead on Sundays.

Will recommend this place if you are looking for something very basic with kitchen facilities.

Loved Vienna, beautiful city with an excellent public transport system!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ElinorinUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    21
    7
    0
    4
See reviews for
16
12
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2010

We stayed at the Josefstadt Appartements for 3 nights in mid December 2009.
Apartment was clean and location is excellent with tram stop right outside front and shops to purchase food etc. Plenty of good (and fair priced) local restraunts nearby.
We often walked into the city centre (about 20 mins).
Closest Christmas markets were in university 5 mins walk down road market was not bad but not as good as other towns. Other main market was at the Rathausplatz. Christmas lights in the city were wonderful.
Points to note;
If you intend to arrive outside of regular business hours ensure you obtain a passcode for the front security door from where you can get a ket to your apartment. Lift was not working when we stayed there which did not bother us but might others. We stayed in a 2 bedroom apartment which consists of entry with kitchen, separate bathroom, dining room with sofa bed and separate bedroom with queen bed.
Apartment is an excellent alternative to a hotel especially with family.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank prlanger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2009

An apartment is defnitely the best option in Vienna.

These are located just outside of the main city centre, but still really easy to get around everywhere and it's a short walk to U-bahn stations. The best thing is that you experience a bit of the local Vienna and not the heavy tourist areas. Great selection of local restaurants behind the apartments.

Had a Deluxe apartment - so had an extra room. It was quite spacious and the decor modern and clean. Kitchenette was great - with full cutlery, china and even salt and pepper. Everything looked as though it was newish. Had all the home comforts of tv/ radio cd player/ toiletries and complimentary tea and coffee kit. Should note though that it was quite hot when we stayed and there was no air conditioning so we just slept with the windows open (bit of noise as we faced the main road) - but don't know if other apartments have air-con?

Overall was very pleased, and would stay again!

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PrettyPerfect
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2009

We stayed in a studio apartment, number 18. Lovely huge comfy bed, loads of space, nice coffee table and chairs, basic but OK kitchenette with fridge but tiny kettle. Shower no bath tub. Very clean and bright. Good location, supermarket 2 minutes walk open for fresh bread, croisssants from 07:15. Trams frequent with connections to metro and other trams or walk to most places in the centre in half an hour or so.
I'll stay again - great discounts on Expedia. Love Vienna!

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank frequentflyerSeaford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Como, Italy
Level 4 Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2009

We stayed here for 3 days with my family (2 childs 3-6 years old).
The Superior Apt. was great for position, cleaning and spacious accomodation.
The staff was kindly with us.
With tram in 2 minutes you could be in Rathaus then in 5 minutes walking in the centre of wien.
The lobbies and the entrance was not too great but cleaning.
I think it's a prefect accomodation for a family with childs.

  • Liked — The position near vienna centre an
  • Stayed December 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank ChildsFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
2 reviews
Reviewed December 26, 2008

The apartments were great and the service too. I think that the staff were helpful! We found the comments helpful.

Stayed December 2008
Helpful?
Thank stevejonesson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 12, 2008

Firstly, this is a great option if you like a kitchen and dont mind a 25 minute (lovely) walk to the centre. Public transport is easy and taxis out front cost EUR 7 to the centre.

Second, take the Supreme Room over the deluxe or residential. Its not much more but the quality is way better. Bookings.com sells a supreme at the same rate as residentials on other sites.

Third, the reason we recommend the Supreme is because we tried all 3 room types! We booked the supreme but were initially given the residential and we had to wait 20 minutes for the girl to arrive to fix the problem as it was after hours. We then got put into a deluxe room for the night as no supremes were available (even though we'd booked one 3-4 weeks before). The next day we were finally put into the supreme which far exceeded the quality of the others. The staff were ok about it all. Not brilliant but slightly apologetic and eventually gave us a complementary champagne and flowers for the inconvenience after my husband said it was our wedding anniversary (true). They did try to charge us for a supreme for all our nights though even though we stayed in the deluxe on the first night.
So I would say its a great option for being slightly out of the centre, The supreme has lots of space and comfort. BUT be careful to get what you pay for!

  • Liked — The supreme room
  • Disliked — They gave us the wrong room to start with
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Nicole B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Josefstadt
Vienna Comfort Apartments
Vienna Comfort Apartments
#287 of 361 in Vienna
17 reviews
Josefstadt
Hotel-Pension Baronesse
Hotel-Pension Baronesse
#209 of 361 in Vienna
242 reviews
Josefstadt
Pension Excellence
Pension Excellence
#281 of 361 in Vienna
83 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Josefstadt
Hotel Arpi
Hotel Arpi
#305 of 361 in Vienna
84 reviews
Josefstadt
Pension Ani
Pension Ani
#278 of 361 in Vienna
52 reviews
Josefstadt
The Levante Laudon
The Levante Laudon
#90 of 209 in Vienna
253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Josefstadt Appartements? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Josefstadt Appartements

Property: Josefstadt Appartements
Address: Alser Strasse 29 | Entrance Kochgasse 36, Vienna 1080, Austria
Location: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Josefstadt , Alservorstadt
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #86 of 209 Specialty Lodging in Vienna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Josefstadt Appartements 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Josefstadt Appartements reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing