We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“average hotel”
Review of Gutwinski Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Gutwinski Hotel
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Feldkirch
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 1, 2013

it is an average hotel, with old fashioned and not comfortable rooms.
Definitely a non 4 stars hotel, despite tha high price (especialy the prices of the mini bar).

the stuff is polite, the internet connection is slow.
the location is good, but the access is throufh a very narrow small street..

overall, i would not recommend it.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank S P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (134)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

52 - 58 of 134 reviews

Reviewed January 18, 2013

Cant really fault the Alpenrose. Nicely appointed rooms, friendly staff, good breakfast and a beautiful location in a picturesque town.
Good value for money as well.
Be warned though, the access road is incredibly narrow - I was in a normal sized estate car, and it was very, very tight. Wouldnt fancy it in ice!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TwoCarpets
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2012

My husband stays at Alpenrose every time he visits University of Lichtenstein and this year I joined him for a few days. Feldkirc is a beautiful small town, charm enhanced during Christmas time when the streets are filled with stands selling everything for the coming holidays wrapped in a scent of glogg. You can almost not wait till Christmas.
The hotel is nice and elegant. Rooms are decorated with an elegant mix of original period furniture and modern appliances. Everything is impecably clean.There is even an elevator, so you should not worry about carring suitcases up the stairs.
There area few things I was slightly dissapointed of :
The breakfast is quite plain , with bread from supermarket and sliced cheese that stick to each other, there are several bakeries around, it would be such a nice touch to get fresh bread and pastries in the morning.Orange juice was so diluted with water that it hardly resembled orange juice.
We had dinner in the restaurant couple of times and this is highly recommended, the standard is few steps higher.
There is only generic, all-in-one wash liquid in the bathrom,with a plastic holder fixed on the wall. You may consider taking your own cosmetics.
And the TV - it offers 30 plus channels, all in German. Not even the classical BBC and CNN that all hotels offer. Minor detail, though on a longer stay you can feel a bit isolated from the outside world. Wifi is free of charge, so you can compensate on this.
Alltogether we are happy with the hotel and will most likely choose the same next year.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CristinaDK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2012

We stayed a night at the Alpenrose whilst in transit from Italy to Germany. Feldkirch with its historical buildings is a friendly small town, no doubt a wealthy town as well, located right next to the Lichtenstein border. The A;lpenrose was booked for us by my local business contact, and it was a totally pleasant experience. The hotel is listed as a 4-star product , and it truly is 4star.

Rooms are elegantly modern but not cold, wifi was free of charge, the front desk person was a bit gruffy during our late check-in but the morning staff made up for it. Typical for Austria and Germany, the double bed featured two single mattresses. We had dinner at the hotel restaurant and we were not disappointed ..in fact it was a 4star meal with a bottle of great local red wine. The Alpenrose is an asset to Feldkirch.
By the way, the previous reviewer from the US feigned surprise to find such a quality hotel in such a small town ..well small it may be ..but the hotel building was there before the North American continent was settled by AngloSaxons, this is old Europe and not some hick town in the US. Another US reviewer actually mentioned that they went for a Doner Kebab for dinner ..how tacky is that - you stay in a 4star hotel and then eat at a low-class Turkish joint whilst there are plenty of restaurants and cafes with fresh and good Austrian food to choose from, rather than kebab made up from meat left-overs.

Coming back to the Alpenrose ..we opted to have breakfast just round the corner in the pedestrian precinct ..it was Saturday morning and market day ..we sat at Cafe Rauch, had a great late breakfast and watched the market activities ..good start to a nice day.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Michael P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2012

Alpenrose was a real surprise, as was Feldkirch. We picked the location because it was a convenient stop on our planned itinerary, but were very plesasntly surprised. The hotel is in an old building the the center of a beautifully restored town from the 1500s. The staff was extremely helpful, although the restaurant which I was looking forward to trying based on the reviews was closed the night we stayed. The rooms were amazing. They appeared to have been professionally decorated and looked like something from a design magazine. Everything was new, modern and spotless. One thing to consider is while our room had huge windows which opened above the terrace, I don't think it had airconditioning, so it might have been a little stuffy in the summer. Breakfast was excellent. The town itself has lots of restaurants of all sorts and prices, so while we missed out on the Alpenrose's own restaurant, we had no problem finding another place for dinner. The historical buildings of the town are also worth exploration.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank D_PN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2012

To keep it short: Up a backstreet, historic hotel, intimate surroundings, fabulous staff, clean rooms, fantastic food, nothing more to say. Try it.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DrTel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2012

We are all going through difficult economic times. In this environment it is important to seek out excellent places to stay and eat, without having to compromise too much on quality and service. I just have the place for you. Hotel Alpenrose in the old town of Feldkirch, Austria, near the Swiss and Liechtenstein border. It is a small family-run place, I believe in the 5th generation. The food is very good if you are into good, wholesome home cooking. Do not expect the french tiny, little portion, designed as if they were modern paintings. Good portions of excellent home grown products ,nicely presented on fine china. Try the Austrian red wines! I myself, am a fan of super-tuscans and Brunellos, but lately the Reserves of blaufrankisch grapes have really satisfied.
The rooms are contemporary , and nice. In average 200 sq.feet, very clean, free wifi and LCD TVs. Only that there are very little channels in English. Never mind! As I said, in these difficult times , maybe we should watch less CNN and CNBC and go out more.
For smokers, pls be advised that in lots of bars in Feldkirch smoking is allowed inside, not that I particularly like it.
The Hotel staff is very friendly and accomodative. And all this at prices that are WELL below the ones you will pay over the border (in Liechtenstein or Switzerland).

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DRC1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Feldkirch
0.2 mi away
Hotel Baeren
Hotel Baeren
#4 of 6 in Feldkirch
153 reviews
0.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Central Hotel Leonhard
1.9 mi away
Hotel Weisses Kreuz
Hotel Weisses Kreuz
#1 of 6 in Feldkirch
203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Central Hotel Loewen
Central Hotel Loewen
#6 of 6 in Feldkirch
88 reviews
3.5 mi away
Hotel Restaurant Mohren
Hotel Restaurant Mohren
#2 of 2 in Rankweil
40 reviews
3.4 mi away
Kommod
Kommod
#1 of 2 in Ruggell
21 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gutwinski Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gutwinski Hotel

Address: Rosengasse 4-6, Feldkirch 6800, Austria
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Vorarlberg > Feldkirch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Feldkirch
Price Range: $212 - $497 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Gutwinski Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Gutwinski Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alpenrose Hotel Feldkirch

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing