We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Short Weekend”
Review of Gutwinski Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Gutwinski Hotel
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Feldkirch
Certificate of Excellence
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Short Weekend”
Reviewed April 10, 2012

To keep it short: Up a backstreet, historic hotel, intimate surroundings, fabulous staff, clean rooms, fantastic food, nothing more to say. Try it.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DrTel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    76
    42
    5
    1
    0
See reviews for
16
43
11
39
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
41 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2012

We are all going through difficult economic times. In this environment it is important to seek out excellent places to stay and eat, without having to compromise too much on quality and service. I just have the place for you. Hotel Alpenrose in the old town of Feldkirch, Austria, near the Swiss and Liechtenstein border. It is a small family-run place, I believe in the 5th generation. The food is very good if you are into good, wholesome home cooking. Do not expect the french tiny, little portion, designed as if they were modern paintings. Good portions of excellent home grown products ,nicely presented on fine china. Try the Austrian red wines! I myself, am a fan of super-tuscans and Brunellos, but lately the Reserves of blaufrankisch grapes have really satisfied.
The rooms are contemporary , and nice. In average 200 sq.feet, very clean, free wifi and LCD TVs. Only that there are very little channels in English. Never mind! As I said, in these difficult times , maybe we should watch less CNN and CNBC and go out more.
For smokers, pls be advised that in lots of bars in Feldkirch smoking is allowed inside, not that I particularly like it.
The Hotel staff is very friendly and accomodative. And all this at prices that are WELL below the ones you will pay over the border (in Liechtenstein or Switzerland).

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DRC1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
126 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2011

Well located in centre of old town. We particularly enjoyed dining in the courtyard in front of the hotel and the decor and furnishings inside the hotel. The bedroom and bathroom were really big. Staff were friendly and helpful. A great hotel

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tim R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2011

It is very rare in this day & age to find somewhere to stay that is a diamond in a sea of overpriced, overhyped accommodation. We stayed at this immaculate hotel in the Old Town of Feldkirch for a week and were sorry we couldn't stay longer. From the instant we pulled up outside the front entrance we were made to feel like part of the family. The hotel is a mixture of old & modern - beautifully kept antique furniture, fittings & decor in the rooms is mixed with the latest clean, up-to-date en-suite bathrooms. Although in the middle of the Old Town it was wonderfully quiet at night. The young staff are extraordinary - anything we needed was promptly delivered. Likewise information on sightseeing, places to eat (the dining room is closed for lunch & dinner on Sunday) the free web access, the parking. The food in the restaurant was especially tasty & plentiful and seemed to be a popular haunt with the locals. The town itself is steeped in history and is a great place to stay to visit Liechtenstein (by local bus), Bregenz & Lindau on Lake Constanz and, if you fancy it, a two hour train trip to Innsbruck.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gerigypsies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
durham
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 10, 2010

Visited Feldkirch recently with my husband, found this hotel to be one of the best hotels we have ever stayed in and we have been to a lot of places all over the world. From stepping through the door, the girls behind reception were friendly and helpful. The hotel is decorated to a very high standard in keeping with the age of the hotel but also with a modern twist. Our room and the whole hotel , bar etc, were very warm and cosy. Bathroom very high standard with very modern fittings etc. Lovely polished furniture and very large comfy bed and really good quality flat screen on which we could even get ITV2. Breakfast - continental was great, laid back and help yourself. Really nice little town, loads of bars and restaurants, all cobbled streets and little alleyways. Lots of high quality shops. Great weekend all round would love to go back in July when there's a jugglers festival, loads of street entertainers from all over world or the wine festival !

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank durham33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2009

This is a charming hotel in the heart of the old city, within easy walking distance of shops, restaurants and sights. It is family run; immaculate and welcoming - nothing is too much trouble for the staff. The rooms are clean and comfortable; the restaurant has some of the best food in Feldkirch; reception will help with all arrangements if you are planning to visit other places. Definitely worth staying here if you are in the area and you could use this as a base to visit other places.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tiggerlot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2009

We actually came upon the city of Feldkirch and Hotel Alpenrose by accident.

We were driving from Munich to Switzerland, and it was late in the afternoon - and we needed a place to stay.

Since it was after 6-7 in the evening, the girl at the desk offered the normal 140 Euro room for 110 Euros, as we were only going to be there for a few hours.

The room was on the second floor, and had a wonderful view of the square.

The beds were the typical double bed, very soft and we had a corner room with a plasma TV. Once the sun went down, we opened the windows to the sounds of people enjoying dinner, walking down the street, and enjoying the city.

We did go out to get a Doner Kebap around the corner, and walk around the city.

There is a huge river that runs thru town, and is about a block away from the hotel - which adds a sense of small town, charm to the city and room.

There was free Wi Fi in the lobby which was a very nice perk.

In the morning, we had a very nice breakfast, which was a typical european meat, cheese, cereal, eggs, and bread breakfast.

Definitely tank up with Gas before heading to Lichtenstein or Switzerland. Very cheap compared to the rest of Europe.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank T-Bags
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Feldkirch
1.9 mi away
Hotel Weisses Kreuz
Hotel Weisses Kreuz
#1 of 6 in Feldkirch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 188 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Baeren
Hotel Baeren
#3 of 6 in Feldkirch
4.0 of 5 bubbles 131 reviews
0.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Central Hotel Leonhard
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Central Hotel Loewen
Central Hotel Loewen
#6 of 6 in Feldkirch
3.0 of 5 bubbles 82 reviews
13.3 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Panoramahaus Dornbirn
3.4 mi away
Kommod
Kommod
#1 of 2 in Ruggell
4.0 of 5 bubbles 15 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gutwinski Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gutwinski Hotel

Property: Gutwinski Hotel
Address: Rosengasse 4-6, Feldkirch 6800, Austria
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Vorarlberg > Feldkirch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Feldkirch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Gutwinski Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Hotel.de so you can book your Gutwinski Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alpenrose Hotel Feldkirch

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing