We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Just wonderful”
other traveler has booked this property
Large Pool area with Pergola for shade and ample sun loungers for all the family, private & tranquil
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Large Pool area with Pergola for shade and ample sun loungers for all the family, private & tranquil
BBQ area Enjoying the large  Swimming pool and Sun Deck
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
9 reviews
Large Pool area with Pergola for shade and ample sun loungers for all the family, private & tranquil
BBQ area
Enjoying the large  Swimming pool and Sun Deck
Bar area with fridge freezer and music system
Romantic four poster bed
Large Dining and lounge area with settees, quality fittings and well equipped
Snug & Dining Room
Dining room and Snug
Bedroom with traditional furniture
Bedroom with traditional furniture
Luxury spacious Bathroom
Bathroom
Kitchen with ample comfortable seating, spacious  area
Kitchen log burner
Front garden
Local cycling on quiet roads
Wild deer roaming in the garden
Garden in the evening
Large swimming pool with decking and grassed surround, overlooking private lawned and woodland area
Bar, Al Fresco Dining with music system and WiFi
Beautiful  Brantome
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Cussac, Haute-Vienne, Nouvelle-Aquitaine

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 9 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Kay T
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Just wonderful”
Reviewed June 27, 2017 for a stay in May 2017

My third stay at this wonderful property. It never fails to impress me. Tranquil, peacefull and full of charm. The garden and pool area are breath taking. Nothing is too much trouble for "Ruthie" the owner. We used the BBQ and bar area. Using the pool feels very luxurious and no fighting for sun beds!!! We had some lovely local walks and visited the tavern for a night of music with the locals who are very friendly.

Can't wait for my next visit.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 29, 2017
Hi Kay, thanks so much for the review, till next time. Xx
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
neilmagso...
Healing, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Perfect oasis.”
Reviewed June 5, 2017 for a stay in May 2017
1
person found this review helpful

I will start by saying that we booked this house for a weeks holiday based upon the photographs and description. Having stayed at many such rental properties our experience has often been that the photographs give a better impression of the house than we have actually found once we have arrived. That is so not the case with Ruth's house. In fact it is the opposite. The photographs do not do it justice. The house, the gardens and the grounds are breathtaking. Literally as we entered and looked around it took our breath away.

When we arrived Ruth was ready to greet us in true french style and give us a quick tour. During our stay Ruth stayed in a smaller house which is attached to the main house. Ruth stayed very much out of the way and was very respectful of our privacy during the stay yet at the same time was accessible if we had a problem or a question.

Once you enter the house it has been restored with fitting period style furniture yet with all the modern conveniences; UK based tv channels; wi fi; American style fridge freezer, washing machine etc. Perhaps the one exception being a dishwasher which to be fair we did not miss as we don't have one at home (which I realise is unusual these days). The three bedrooms were all double bedrooms but the master........ Wow. A four poster bed, five or six chairs including a chaise lounge and a small table. The step down en suite bathroom had a freestanding roll top bath as well as the usual bits. Perhaps the best bit was the view with all three bedrooms having a view out onto the garden and pool.

In the garden there were about five or six or maybe more seating area's or hidey holes. Some easier to spot than others. The pool had a couple of seating/ lounging areas and a seating/ dining area underneath a pergola which we used most days. There was a BBQ area with BBQ and seating area. Ruth supplied us with the first lot of charcoal. There was also an undercover bar area with bar stools and a table and chairs. In this area there was a small CD/ stereo as well as an outside fridge and drawers of outside cutlery and utensils. There were a further couple of seating areas at different locations in the garden.

Inside the house was an information folder and a business card holder. Both giving vital information about the area, the facilities, the restaurants and the local attractions/ things to do.

During our stay we ate out most nights at local restaurants. We visited a local market. A day was spent at lake St Estephe, with its man made beach, which was our best day there. We also visited Lismoges, Chateau Montbrun and Oradour-sur-Gane.

The only improvement I could possibly think of would be pool heating. The pool felt very cold to get into, and for the first few minutes, due, I think, to the contrast with the hot weather outside of the pool. But honestly this is such a small thing and did not stop us from using it. I would also say that Ruth was meticulous with her maintenance of the pool early in the morning each day and the pictures do not do it justice with how clean and well kept it is.

Being our first visit to France I would caution anyone else who has not been before that the rural french way of life is very laid back but in particular when Ruth tells you that everywhere is closed on a Sunday she literally means everywhere. So if you arrive on a Saturday be prepared with provisions (or go and get some on the Saturday) to last you through to Monday as you will struggle to find anywhere open.

All in all we had a great week there and I could not think of a better place to base yourselves for a very relaxing and chilled out week in rural France. I would definitely stay here again but next time I would want it to be for longer.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 29, 2017
Hi, thanks so much for you time and effort to write this review, it will really set me up for the season. Hope to meet you all again.
Take care, Ruthie .
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spencer D
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Superb all round”
Reviewed November 16, 2016 for a stay in September 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Ruthie is a very welcoming host and her lovely home is a superb holiday venue. The house has been beautifully fitted out and furnished. The gardens and pool area are idyllic and offer plenty of options for alfresco dining and soaking up the peace and quiet. Nearby Cussac has everything you could need and there are several superb restaurants within an easy drive.
I would thoroughly recommend this gite, I will be back!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Beautifully presented property, peaceful and quiet.
Liked least: A little remote if you like facilities on your door step
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 17, 2016
Hi, thanks so much. Regards Ruthie.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SandraSW
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“This holiday had everything we could have wished for...”
Reviewed August 26, 2016 for a stay in July 2016
1
person found this review helpful

My family and I had a wonderful time at Ruthie's 17th Century Farmhouse.

We loved it from the moment we parked on the drive and were then happily surprised with all the 'wow' factors of the house and the grounds. There was plenty of room for the five of us (all adults). The bedrooms were very comfortable, especially the master bedroom and sumptuous bathroom. We loved the grounds, which had different seating areas dotted around, including the gazebo, the barbecue area and the outside bar (with music and fridge).

Although Ruthie is on-site in the adjoining property, we hardly saw her, other than the times we wanted to ask her for her recommendations about places to visit and restaurants etc.

We decided to fly to Bordeaux Airport and then drive to Limousin, stopping en-route to do some sightseeing along the way, including a visit to the beautiful Brantome for crepes. We had some lovely meals out, including lunch at La Taverne opposite Chateau Montbrun.

One of the places we visited was Oradour-sur-Glane, which was very moving...

The French people we met during our stay were all very friendly and helpful.

Only one thing wrong with the holiday... it wasn't long enough!!

Thank you Ruthie. We look forward to coming back

(PS. The deposit was returned to us promptly after our stay)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: All the different seating areas around the pool, barbecue, gazebo, outside bar... so relaxing
Liked least: Coming home...
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 27, 2016
Hi Sandra, thanks so much for the brilliant review, so glad you had a lovely holiday and hope to see you back soon.
Love Ruthie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
telcision
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“I did not want to leave”
Reviewed July 11, 2016 for a stay in June 2016
1
person found this review helpful

If you want to experience total and complete relaxation then my recommendation is this wonderful oasis in rural Limousin. The accommodation is second to none. Beautifully decorated and tastefully furnished throughout, this C17 renovated French farmhouse has a fully fitted kitchen, a large dining area and lounge, spacious bedrooms and even a four poster bed. Outside I was able to relax by the pool and sunbathe from morning until evening. Popping to the outside bar for a cool drink every now and then. I made use of the bbq too and usually had breakfast under the gazebo by the pool. The whole place was spotless. The farmhouse is surrounded by forests and apart from the birds and the butterflies which were lovely to see in the area, I saw a few Bambi which were so cute. It's a good base from which I was able to visit a plethora of historical sites within easy reach by car. Most villages have a good selection of shops café bars and restaurants and I especially enjoyed the lunchtime specials which the French are famous for. The main thing was that I could spend a full week winding down and relaxing in these most beautiful surroundings. Thank you Madame Haslam for making my holiday one that I will never forget and hopefully I shall be back very soon.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Walking through the wonderful landscape
Liked least: Having to leave at the end of my holiday.
Traveling group: Solo Traveler
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 13, 2016
Dear Mr. Hallows, thanks for that lovely review and your kind remarks. Looking forward to your return.
Ruthie.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kay T
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fabulous”
Reviewed March 24, 2016 for a stay in March 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Farmhouse stunning, beautiful traditional French antique furniture. Tranquil location with wonderful wildlife and walks. Weather has been exceptional for this time of the year. If your looking for the great escape!!! Fantastic peaceful location to unwind and relax and enjoy the French culture and a glass or two of the local red wine !!! Outside facilities are exceptional and has everything you need and more!! This is my third visit and never disappointed

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gina M
Ilkeston, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Comfortable and relaxing”
Reviewed July 20, 2015 for a stay in July 2015
1
person found this review helpful

If you are looking for a quiet, relaxing and comfortable place to stay, look no further. Ruthie (the owner) will make you feel very welcome and despite living on site, does not intrude on your holiday unless you need her to.
I would just point out that the single bed is actually a small blow up mattress probably only suitable for a small child.

Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing