We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Authentic, friendly, good value”
Review of Villa Mellon

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Villa Mellon
Ranked #45 of 48 Hotels in Kitzbuhel
Reviewed March 8, 2013

I'd echo much of what has already been said about this place, but emphasise that Frau Herta Scheiterbauer (the owner / manager) is an absolute delight. One of the most welcoming people in any hotel I've stayed in.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hildysar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (29)
There are newer reviews for Villa Mellon
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

5 - 11 of 29 reviews

Reviewed February 25, 2013

We just come back from a week of sky in Kitzbuhel and staid at Villa Mellon with our two young kids. The athmosphere was extremely friendly and welcoming, with drinks by the large fireplace when you come back from a day on the pist, very authentic! Although not the most trendy and modern setting, It is very comfortable and easy with kids (though it can get noisy in the corridors and common areas when there are several families staying at the same time, but the rooms are very quiet). Also, food is absolutely delicious, it was so good that we preferred to stay there rather than eating outside! Only downside: quite a distance from the ski slopes (but doable by foot, even with young kids, if you leave your skis and ski shoes in lockers by the lifts). Service was very friendly and reactive (they managed to find a quick solution to a very uncomfortable bed, which was good)

Room Tip: Ask for a room with the view
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Angie747474
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2013

This B&B may not be to everyone's taste but we loved it. It's very handily placed for walking into town and also out to (lake) Swartzsee. The hostess, Herta, makes everyone feel at home and the beds are comfortable the rooms are warm and clean. Decor is kindof faded glory - think 'Sound of Music'. There are two comfortable day rooms...the library and smaller 'Green Room' - both with large real fires available. We played cards there for a couple of evenings - just the thing after a day's skiing. Decorating with antlers & bricabrac. So definitely not a modern box hotel...but really nice and quirky. Breakfast is simple but filling and best of all is that they have a young chef who provided us with two excellent meals. There's a swimming pool if you go in the summer and there's a small sauna you can book. Don't go if you like modern. Do go if you like character.

Room Tip: Room 6 on the first floor was a large corner room and had nice views from windows on two sides. High...
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mary C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 5, 2012

Just back from a road trip to Kitzbuhel, and we stayed 2 nights at Villa Mellon. A beautiful authentic Austrian lodge crammed with books, paintings, mounted deer heads, and the like! A quirky lay-out, (we were on the lower ground floor), our rooms, 16 and 17, were not en-suite but the personal bathrooms are situated across a corridor. Heaps of hot water, fluffy towels and complimentary slippers more than make up for the one step across the corridor issue. The Lady of the house is charming and could not do enough for us, and the food is of a fantastic standard. Will return soon.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PertLittleBottom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2012

Herta is such a welcoming hostess and it's far more like staying in a private home. There is oodles of character to Villa Mellon and the rooms are lovely - although are lovelier than others. If you like antiques and period fixtures and fittings then Villa Mellon is for you. It's more of a B&B than hotel though. It's a short walk of about 10 minutes into the centre of Kitz. Lovely.
I've booked groups to stay here and they have all really enjoyed it too.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Classic T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2011

What a gem of a place! nestled in the back of Kitzbuehl this family run hotel is just what we wanted for a weekend getaway in the mountains. We went in summer with some friends to go on some hikes and generally get away from the city.
The hotel is small so you really get that family feel. for breakfast the lady of the kitchen had made jam from the holunderbushes in the garden. My husband and i stayed in the little cottage outside of the hotel while our friends stayed at the hotel itself. beautiful gardens, fantastic views of the mountains, we felt like Heidi and Peter. THe hotel has a great sitting room with a cozy fireplace where we sat at night, drinking wine and playing guitar. would have loved to stay longer than one night so we will definitely be back@

Room Tip: if you are a couple, the outdoor cottage is really nice and cozy and romantic
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Corinna2711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2011

I think the previous reviewers summed up Villa Mellon well. It is a rare gem, a very unusual place. I can't say enough good things about it. Very quiet and relaxing, tucked away on a bluff between the Hahnenkamm and the Kitzbühelerhorn, about a 10 minute walk from town. Great for winter or summer, for skiing or cycling vacations, and an enormous den is available for business meetings. A perfect refuge from the party atmosphere of the town area, with personal service and a friendly vibe. Free WiFi.

The Lady of the House, Herta Scheiterbauer, is a long-time local and has been involved with the hospitality industry there for decades, so she's a great resource for planning trips to local attractions or events such as Kitzbühel's winter polo series, ATP tennis tournament, or the Tour of Austria bicycle race.

The rooms at VM are all unique, with different sizes, shapes, and amenities (including rooms in the pool house), so be sure to ask what's available.

I am a hard core road warrior, I typically stay in hotels over 100 days a year, and VM is always a highlight of any year I get to Kitzbühel.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TMSHawaii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kitzbuhel hotels
3.9 mi away
Gasthof Hechenmoos
Gasthof Hechenmoos
#33 of 48 in Kitzbuhel
37 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Schweizerhof Kitzbuehel, Sport- & Beautyhotel
0.5 mi away
Landsitz Romerhof
Landsitz Romerhof
#30 of 48 in Kitzbuhel
19 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Q! Hotel Maria Theresia
Q! Hotel Maria Theresia
#20 of 48 in Kitzbuhel
296 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Bruggerhof
Hotel Bruggerhof
#38 of 48 in Kitzbuhel
88 reviews
0.6 mi away
Seebichl Hotel
Seebichl Hotel
#21 of 48 in Kitzbuhel
63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Mellon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Mellon

Address: Franz-Walde-Weg 1, Kitzbuhel 6370, Austria
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Tirol > Kitzbuhel
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #45 of 48 Hotels in Kitzbuhel
Price Range: $84 - $195 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Villa Mellon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mellon Hotel Kitzbühel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing