We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good location and food, accommodation basic”
Review of Pension Karlberger

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Pension Karlberger
Reviewed January 20, 2013

We have just returned from a Crystal ski trip staying in the Karlberger. The chalet is more like a climbing hut in terms of comfort - small lounge area with limited bar (closed for the night between 8.40 and 9.00 pm each evening), very basic rooms and some very small. Some people complained their room was too hot while our radiators never got above lukewarm and we had to sit with ski gear on in the room! Staff very helpful (especially the chef and the food was very good), however no info point, weather reports or details of ski buses etc available. VERY noisy stairs and with guests coming in until 4.00am, it was difficult for several people to sleep. Excellent location a few metres from the Hahnenkamm lift. If you are not fussy about the comfort and don't mind the other inconveniences, it is a good place to stay.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank star-swan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (72)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

53 - 59 of 72 reviews

Reviewed January 14, 2013

We travelled as a group of 12 and booked through Crystal. We all had a fantastic holiday, made even better by the greta staff. Jillian, Jo, Jenny & Cameron really looked after us, and John is a fantastic chef. Kitzbuhel is a lovely town, with lots of nice shops, bars & restaurants.

Room Tip: A couple of the rooms have seperate bathrooms. This can be a pain, so request at booking if you real...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CazBarrowman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2013

Very basic chalet in a great location, school dinners except smaller portions. Fire never lit despite daily requests (no wood apparently!) Some of staff not interested , other tried their best but just lacked training and experience.No boot store except damp garage

In summation, dont go unless you prepared to go out to eat and have nowhere else to stay!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank hmp518
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2012

The main reason we chose here was for the location. It really is fantastic. Two ski runs literally take you to the door. The cable car is a two minute walk in the morning and you can easily pop into the beautiful town at night for a walk.
The room we had 107, was much better than expected. Spacious with a bath and no balcony, but all balconies are shared so no big loss there. We were the first guests of the season and the rooms had been freshly painted and were clean. Just be aware this is an old building so there will be polfilla in the walls and the odd cracked tile.
The chalet staff are helpful, but are obviously working within a tight budget on the food front! You won't go hungry but you won't be putting on any weight either. Meals are served bang on time. We arrived 15 mins late once and were told we couldn't have our starter. Not great. However, the food served is very good and very tasty.
You will love this chalet for it's location and informality. But it is basic so don't expect anything more than that and you will not be disappointed.
Crystal could easily up the standard by providing a games room or something for guests to do after dinner where the redundant bar area is and clearing the ski room out of old mattresses and junk. The cost of this would be minimal but would really make a huge difference to the atmosphere of the place.
Finally, the stairs......Crystal, please please please sort this out!! A work man and a hammer and no more creaking that wakes up the whole chalet. Has to be heard to be believed!

Room Tip: Go for all the extras. You have to pay for your own bathroom. You'll be glad you did.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank HollyP332
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2012

We have recently spent a most enjoyable week in Kitzbuhel staying in the Chalet Karlberger with Crystal holidays. The main purpose of the holiday was skiing and the chalet is ideally placed for quick access to the gondolas and slopes. The chalet staff were all excellent and food fabulous with a plentiful supply of wine in the evening. The hot cooked to order breakfast was a great start for a day in the mountains. Unfortunately the building is a bit tired. Basic well used furniture was in need of an upgrade. Ensuite facilities were cleaned daily but also well used and in need of up grading.

Room Tip: Ideal location for a ski holiday, no need to upgrade to a balcony room but make sure you have ensuit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank dugsmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2012

Having read through quite a few other reviews I think I should state the two obvious points about the Karlberger Chalet as run by Crystal...

First, the location of the building for skiers (i.e. proximity to the Hahnenkamm Bahn gondola) is superb!... the chalet is about 100m (uphill) from the lift. The chalet is also at the very end of the easy blue run number 20 from the top of the lift, hence skiing back to the door IS possible (snow conditions permitting.) The Ski-School meeting place is also 100 yard from the chalet, just on the other side of the road, and downhill a bit. The medium difficulty red 21 run ends at the ski-school place, hence there are two routes home at the end of the day.

Second, due to the chalet's rather basic nature, it is really CHEAP (in comparison with just about everywhere else in Kitzbuhel).

So, if you want a really short walk (no cramped ski-bus ride) to the main area lift, and do not mind your accommodation being a tad on the basic side, then the Karlberger may be right for you. If, on the other hand, you think that 5-star luxury (in Kitzbuhel) comes at the price you will pay for this place, you will definitely be disappointed!

A bit more detail... I've just returned home from the Karlberger after a skiing week (Feb half term 2012) with my son. It was our second visit, having been there in Feb 2011 also.

The layout of the Karlberger is as follows:-
The ski stall is actually the garage outside of the building. This is unheated and rather dark, but skis don't mind the cold and the dark, so that didn't bother me overly much.

The front door lets you into a reception area where all ski boots must be removed and placed in a small cupboard (which used to be a telephone booth I believe). Guests are requested to remove all outdoor shoes in this area to keep the remainder or the building clean and dirt/mud free... This approach worked really well, even though the staff DID sweep the dining room everyday. There was not enough room in the boot cupboard for everyone's boots, so some people had to leave theirs behind the front door. As the door is secure at night, again this was not a big deal. Toilets for ladies and gents were also found off this front room, as was the door to the basement where the chalet staff lived (obviously out of bounds to the guests).

There was a small 'living room' to the back of the chalet, but this was rather dark and lacking in any charm. I do not believe that any of the guests used this room whilst I was there this year, although it was utilised last year as a playroom by the smaller children of the guests.

The main room on the ground floor is the breakfast/dining room. No private tables here, you mix in with the other guests and after the first night, alomst everyone is on first name basis! The dining room had the requesite tables and chairs (comfortable enough) and a buffet table and fireplace at the far end of the room.

Tea, coffee, orange and apple juice were available for consumption at all times, which is very welcoming when returning from the slopes, or any other time for that matter! By mid week, all the guests had mingled enough to make meal times a fun occasion, and of course the endless supply of (cheap) red or white wine only contributed to the fun. Considering that we heard that the average price of a bottle of wine at the 5-star Kaiserhof Hotel (one stop downhill from us) was about £25, that has to be a bargain.

The evening meals, on the whole were filling and of reasonable quality. Starters consisted of good soups or salads, main courses were meat and veg, followed by sweets which were really quite good! All credit to the chef in performing this miracle, considering the size of the kitchen! No-one will ever describe the meals as haute cuisine, but good value, good portions and good service by the chalet girls all contributed to feeling of being well done by. NB: Last year, the chef was able to deliver childrens alternatives (e.g. fish fingers and chips) if the young ones did not like the 'grown-up' meals. I don't think anyone required this option this year, hench I cannot comment if the option was available or not. Wednesday is the Chalet Staff's day off, hence everyone has to eat out at one of Kitzbuhels many restaurants.

Breakfasts consisted of a choice of cereals, yoghurts, fresh fruits (apples/oranges/bananas), various breads and a cooked breakfast (combination of eggs, bacon, hash browns, baked beans) on request.

The dining room fire was quite welcoming when lit, although I think the staff were running short on wood to burn. The kitchen (again, out of bounds to guests) was off the dining room, next to the stairs (VERY creaky) that led to the bedrooms upstairs.

We had room 102, which is at the front (towards town centre) facing end corner. A double bed (we thought we had requested a twin, but no harm done), two bedside cabinets, a large built-in wardrobe and a small bath/shower and wc. Note: not all bedrooms do have the ensuite facilities. We also had a balcony that went round the corner of the building. Considering the amount of general hubbub noise generated by the guests after their evening meal, I found that the sound dampening in this room was quite remarkable, and I was able to get to sleep regardless of all but the loudest outbursts from below. The mattresses were comfortable-to-firm, and the duvet was very warm. I needed a second pillow and this was delivered whilst I ate the evening meal. The room is simply furnished, but clean. The bath/shower never ran out of hot water for us.


Summary: Friendly, helpful staff. Free wine at evening meal. Limitless tea/coffee any time of the day, and cake to welcome back the weary skier! The building itself could use a few quid spent on it, (come on Crystal, you must have made a bomb out of this place, how about some sauna facilities please!) but it was warm and welcoming.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank TheClarkFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2012

While the chalet itself is positioned amazingly well - right by the lift - the service was sadly somewhat lacklustre. The chalet lacked glasses, cups, and often basics such as butter. the food was mediocre at best, cold and delayed at worst. The staff were over-worked to the point of not really having time to re-fil wine etc etc. While this is a basic level holiday destination, having stayed at other basic chalet's in previous years, we found this one to be well below what we expected.

Room Tip: I'd pay the upgrade for balconies etc and i think the first floor rooms may have been nicer than...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Natalie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kitzbuhel hotels
0.0 mi away
Best Western Premier Kaiserhof Kitzbuehel
0.1 mi away
Hotel Schweizerhof Kitzbuehel, Sport- & Beautyhotel
0.3 mi away
Q! Hotel Maria Theresia
Q! Hotel Maria Theresia
#20 of 48 in Kitzbuhel
299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Tiefenbrunner Hotel
Tiefenbrunner Hotel
#6 of 48 in Kitzbuhel
306 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Resch
Hotel Resch
#17 of 48 in Kitzbuhel
43 reviews
1.2 mi away
Seebichl Hotel
Seebichl Hotel
#21 of 48 in Kitzbuhel
64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pension Karlberger? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pension Karlberger

Address: Hahnenkammstrasse 9, Kitzbuhel 6370, Austria
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Tirol > Kitzbuhel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 21 Specialty Lodging in Kitzbuhel
Price Range: $111 - $179 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Pension Karlberger 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This catered chalet enjoys a superb location overlooking Kitzbuhel. With the ski school and Hahnenkamm lift almost on your doorstep, the chalet is an excellent choice for those looking to get out early on the slopes. The dining room is bright and airy with large windows overlooking excellent views of the town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon, TripOnline SA and TravelUp so you can book your Pension Karlberger reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pension Karlberger Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing