We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Could be good but.........”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Gamshof

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Gamshof
Ranked #18 of 47 Hotels in Kitzbuhel
Certificate of Excellence
Newbridge, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Could be good but.........”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2013

Crystal-run Hotel, (though locals refer to it as a Pension). Staff are cheerful and enthusiastic but not professional hotel management qualified. Hotel is run down, needs a good cleaning or makeover and a lot of small repair jobs. (our window had a damaged hinge and clothes hooks on doors were all loose. Hot water was in short supply unless you were first or lucky. The hotel has very little private space to relax, unwind, read or write and NO amenities or even wifi. Its location is at the wrong end of town and local knowledge needed to find the Hahnenkamm lift, though the skibus is close by. Food and service are at best average, the pack lunch was handy and the tea, coffee and cakes were great if you were back early enough pm. The free-drink is a gimmick, dreadful quality and leads to too much noise. Rooms near the stairwell or on the Ground floor suffer hugely as a result. Best suited to a large group of youngsters taking over the whole place - if the staff has the stamina!!!!!

Room Tip: Rooms near the stairwell or on the Ground floor are exposed to the racket from the bar.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MykOCarl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

160 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    68
    59
    20
    4
    9
See reviews for
28
58
3
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Yorkshire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2013

After an 8 year gap it was great to ski again and The Hotel Hofer & the friendly Crystal staff certainly made the experience memorable.
The food was plentiful and tasty. The choice of a cooked breakfast, toast, rolls, ham, cheese, yoghurt & cereal eating as much or as little as you want will set you up for the day. Although half board we were offered a packed lunch which we took on a few occasions. After a day on the slopes it was back to the hotel for afternoon tea & a generous slice of cake & cookies. The free bar opened soon after and we all enjoyed the beer & wine. The 3 course evening meal was exceptional and of a high standard.
On our 1st morning we took a taxi costing only 8 euros to the Intersport Rent, next to the gondola where we hired a heated locker for our skis & boots which was a great help. We walked every day to & from the gondola which took about 12 minutes it was a very easy walk which was a bit of a warm up or cool down for our aching muscles
The resort was full of beautiful old buildings with very fashionable shops. Our holiday was the last week of the season so we found some of the shops and bars closed but there was still enough for us to do.
The skiing was made all the better for the late dump of snow at the beginning of the week and we had some glorious days taking every opportunity to ski as many runs as we could.
We will most definitely return

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Samantha H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2013

The hotel is of traditional design with a small public area. We found the hotel and our room comfortable and clean. The staff very friendly and helpful. The food was very good with a choice at dinner which never disappointed. The hotel provided us with a packed lunch every day which was also very good and saved us loads and picnicing on the slopes was good fun. Afternoon tea was lovely to come back to after a day on the slopes and well done to the baker, the cake was delicious.
The hotel is very near the bus stop which takes you to the Gondola, but we rented a lock up at the Intersport near the Gondola for 6 euros a day and were able to leave three sets of ski's and boots in. This made the walk to and from the Gondola every day an easy 15min walk through the town, definitely worth considering. We would recommend this hotel for it's good value and the professional way it is run by the staff. Thank you Crystal for a lovely holiday.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janet b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2013 via mobile

My friends and I have just spent a great week at the Hofer.
The staff had a great 'can do' attitude with nothing too much trouble.
We enjoyed our days on the slopes skiing and snowboarding, and the packed lunches provided were always good.
The evening meals were excellent.
Great 3 course meals with a good red wine and great service made for a perfect start to some of the best evenings we have had.
Thanks to the Crystal staff for making a holiday which we will long remember.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KevWorthy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
74 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

We had a great week in Kitzbuhel, staying at the Hotel Hofer. The staff were great, very friendly and provided a really quick and efficient dinner service.

The room we had was large enough, clean and comfortable....even had BBC1 on the TV if you ever spend more than a few mins in your room. We had a large balcony on the top floor with views across the town and onto the main slope. Our room also had a decent bathroom with everything we needed and a good shower. NB if you need a hair dryer, then take one.

The hotel is ideally located in between the 2 main lifts, 5 mins to the Kitbuhel Horn and 10 mins to the Hannenkamn. If you go to the Hannenkamn, ensure you find the lift, just down from the bus stop, through the shopping centre, which cuts out an extra 5 min walk. I'm not sure why people have made comments on here regarding it being in a bad location - it isn't!

Crystal provide a 3 course meal every day apart from Weds, you have a choice of 2 dishes for each course and the food is of a good standard, probably better than you'd expect.

All in all, we definitely recommend this hotel and it is great value for money!

Room Tip: We were in room 330 - right at the top so a few flights of stairs but quiet, comfortable and had a g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hamstersndwally
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2013

I stayed in the hotel on a recent ski holiday, the hotel was comfortable and clean, the rooms were a little dated however. The food was very good and the staff were fantastic all very friendly and helpful.The bus stop to take you to the ski lift & other resorts was just across the road (1 mins walk) 8/10

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 600traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Level Contributor
74 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2013

This Hofer hotel is a good base for those on a budget. Rooms, although a little dated, are large with en suite facilities. There were plenty of toiletries supplied. We were a large family party and all agreed the food was excellent. Lager was very nice but the wine was just drinkable. Tea/coffee is availabe 24hrs. It was an easy walk to the centre of town, once you know where the lift is!!! The best part of the holiday is the staff. Always cheerful/helpful and couldn't do enough for you.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EricBristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kitzbuhel hotels
0.4 mi away
Q! Resort Health & Spa Kitzbuehel
0.6 mi away
Austria Trend Hotel Schloss Lebenberg
0.3 mi away
Q! Hotel Maria Theresia
Q! Hotel Maria Theresia
#21 of 47 in Kitzbuhel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
A-ROSA Resort Kitzbuehel
A-ROSA Resort Kitzbuehel
#2 of 47 in Kitzbuhel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 696 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Zur Tenne
Hotel Zur Tenne
#15 of 47 in Kitzbuhel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 122 reviews
0.5 mi away
Tennerhof Gourmet & Spa de Charme Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Gamshof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Gamshof

Property: Hotel Gamshof
Address: Franz-Erler-Strasse 7, Kitzbuhel 6370, Austria (Formerly Hofer Hotel)
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Tirol > Kitzbuhel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 47 Hotels in Kitzbuhel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Gamshof 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Hofer is ideally located about 2 - 3 minutes walk from the bustling pedestrianised town centre of Kitzbuhel where you'll find everything from festivals, brass bands and markets. After all the excitement of the town centre you can come back to the hotel and relax in our friendly and welcoming bar which comes complete with sky TV. Alternatively, catch the last of the afternoon sun outside on the terrace. We are a small and friendly British run hotel. We offer bed and breakfast or half board all for a very competitive price. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotel.de, Booking.com, getaroom.com, HRS, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Gamshof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hofer Hotel Kitzbühel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing