We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“poor service poor value expensive”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Kitzhof Mountain Design Resort
Ranked #6 of 48 Hotels in Kitzbuhel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 3, 2013

We spent a long weekend in feb 2011 as a treat to my then girlfriend for her birthday.
The price of the room was 230€ per person per night. For what we got it was very poor value, although i appreciate Kitzbuhel is indeed expensive. This year we have been invited by friends who were staying at that hotel to have the new years eve celebration and we joined them. We paid 160€ per person for a pitiful menu that left us all starving and asking for more. Beverages excluded on which we added some 90€ worth of wine (cheapest bottle 29€- Wgich is fair). The service in the lounge area was appalling, the waitresses are all young and inexperienced, we asked for a Cointreau and they asked us "What??", so we had to point it on the menu's chart for them to say "ah, ok!". This is sort of knowledge on the most common lounge drinks. During new years eve's starting drinks and canepees (included in the 160€)the same waitresses were going around with pitiful canapes with a quantity barely enough for 1/3 of the guests. They also had some breadstick with ham rolled on them, again people were rushing to catch one and probably half of the guests didn't get any. The waitresses were rushing around not even giving you the time to approach them and get one that breadstick and canepees were gone. They were also pretending not to see you to go straight and serve other people. The style of the hotel is that kind of "minimalist" that in my vocabulary doubles on dull and unfinished. Bottom line, save your money an go somewhere else, i'm sure for 500€ a day, a couple could get much more than this, even in a premium place like kitzbuhel.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Xxxb9s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (378)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

120 - 126 of 378 reviews

Reviewed December 7, 2012

Nice design, good location, food was very good. But, the staff kept telling us how busy they were, despite the fact that they always outnumbers us guests, and everything was slow. But what really annoyed me was that there was no hot water in the morning. When I spoke to reception they said I would have to wait, which is fine if you can, but I couldn't. Now I expect this sort of penny pinching from a cheap B & B in the 1970's. Not from an expensive hotel in the 21st century. As a result, I advise you stay elsewhere.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank rupertg7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2012

The Kitzhof is coming with fresh staff, fresh design and still offering the hospitality you expect when going to Austria.

The rooms are in a modern interpretation of classical Austrian living style: clear and straight lines with a lot of wood and different fabrics. The bathrooms are modern but still not too cool. Overall, rooms really make you feel home and convenient. Rooms have good space.

The staff is just perfect: the are professional and very good hosts at the same time. They keep the distance needed and at the same time time they are close to you to make you feel good. The service is always quick and friendly.

The kitchen is very good at Kitzhof:
Breakfast is a daily brunch, giving you everything you need and do not need. A huge selection of everything you can just eat and drink, incl daily champagne.
The dinner restaurant is one of the most beautiful locations we know in the Alps. And the food: awesome! Very high class Austrian cuisine in a modern way.

The spa:
Very very professional. This spa offers more medical based massages then just relaxing treatments. The staff has a fundamental knowledge to treat you right and support your health-being. Nevertheless, you can relax during treatments very very good. The spa itself is small and very nice.

The location of the hotel is also good, just 5 mins walking to "downtown".

Can fully recommend!

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank InTeMuc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2012

I stayed in this hotel for 2 nights while accompanying my husband to a conference. We really enjoyed our stay; the pool, Spa and gym were great. Very nice rooms, nice toiletries in the bathroom, attention to detail in the rooms, nice view. The food was wonderful. Great selection for breakfast, my only complaint is that the young waitress and waiter in the breakfast room could be a little bit friendlier and less snippy!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DorisMa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2012

Nice hotel with an outstanding service and great food. The swimmingpool is perfect and the Sauna is great as well.
Very kids friendly and we will come back.

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Reeijm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2012

I stayed one night in Kitzhof last week and had a real good time there. The Spa is relaxing with a nice pool and the food in the restaurant is really delicious. Good combination of traditional and modern atmosphere. There was also a very good working mood in the conference rooms...

They had only soft cushions in the room...it is a personal thing, but i would like to have a choice between soft and hard one. But I will return for sure...

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank globalmaster1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2012

Having just returned from a 1nt stay we found it amazing. We stayed in one of the lowest price rooms and were not sure what to expect, however it was lovely , very Austrian and modern at the same time, the attention to detail throughout the hotel was evident, the staff were very attentive and friendly. Fantastic buffet breakfast, we did not eat in the hotel in the evening as it is only a five minute walk into the centre of the town and we wanted to explore what Kitzbuhel had to offer..I would not say that the hotel is boring or too formal, just romantic and relaxing. Would love to return but for a little longer stay the next time.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank susikat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kitzbuhel hotels
0.9 mi away
A-ROSA Resort Kitzbuehel
A-ROSA Resort Kitzbuehel
#3 of 48 in Kitzbuhel
746 reviews
0.4 mi away
Best Western Premier Kaiserhof Kitzbuehel
0.7 mi away
Tennerhof Gourmet & Spa de Charme Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Austria Trend Hotel Schloss Lebenberg
0.5 mi away
Schwarzer Adler
Schwarzer Adler
#15 of 48 in Kitzbuhel
285 reviews
2.3 mi away
Grand Tirolia
Grand Tirolia
#10 of 48 in Kitzbuhel
489 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Kitzhof Mountain Design Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Kitzhof Mountain Design Resort

Address: Schwarzseestrasse 8-10, Kitzbuhel 6370, Austria
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Tirol > Kitzbuhel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Kitzbuhel
#2 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Kitzbuhel
#5 Luxury Hotel in Kitzbuhel
#5 Spa Hotel in Kitzbuhel
#11 Romantic Hotel in Kitzbuhel
#14 Family Hotel in Kitzbuhel
Price Range: $212 - $435 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Kitzhof Mountain Design Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 168
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stylish design meets traditional ambience in Kitzbuehel's Mountain Design Resort Hotel Kitzhof. Centrally located at the city park and offering views of the Kitzbueheler Horn and Hahnenkamm peaks, Hotel Kitzhof is just a five-minute walk from Kitzbuehel's idyllic town center. Following a complete makeover, Hotel Kitzhof offers a total of 168 guest rooms, studios and suites. The Kitz Spa measures 600 square meters and includes an indoor pool, a Finnish sauna, a Sanarium, a steam bath and five treatment rooms. Diffrent restaurant areas offer freshly prepared local and international cuisine. The Mountain Design Resort Hotel Kitzhof is a member of Design Hotels™, a collection of more than 200 creative and individually managed hotels in over 43 countries worldwide. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and Hotwire so you can book your Hotel Kitzhof Mountain Design Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Kitzhof Mountain Design
Hotel Kitzhof Ski Golfresort
Kitzhof Ski Golfresort Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing