We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Service far from 5 stars”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Austria Trend Hotel Schloss Lebenberg
Ranked #5 of 48 Hotels in Kitzbuhel
Certificate of Excellence
Duesseldorf
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Service far from 5 stars”
Reviewed March 18, 2011

The hotel is located on a hill some 10 min. outside Kitzbühel. The facilities are as you'd expect: spacious room (many without a view), perfectly clean and well equipped. The details were very disappointing:
The dining room is very big, accomodating probably more than 150 people. Then, it's right next to the bar without a proper wall between them, so you "enjoy" the bar piano for your dinner. Of course, it's a matter of taste whether you like this or not, but at least it's a bit strange. Food was ok, but again, this is a 5-star and you'd expect something more than ok. Breakfast was good.
The wellness area has a spectacular view over Kitzbühel and the mountains. This really is beautiful.
What really disturbed me was the lack of service quality. On arrival as well as on departure there was no-one to help bringing the luggage in and out of the car. The shuttle bus starts at 9:00h. It takes 10 minutes and then leaves you in the city centre instead of at the gondola. This means a not so short walk with skiing equipment, while the temperature down there was over 10 degrees (which of course is nice, in general). You simply miss out nearly one hour of the best early morning skiing (gondola starts at 8:30h). So, if skiing is your main interest in Kitzbühel and you want to start early to make the most of the better conditions in the morning - go somewhere else or plan for taxi trips to the gondola (which is what we did; approx. 8€ one-way).

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LiaX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

580 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    342
    148
    56
    21
    13
See reviews for
132
300
17
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sevenoaks, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2011

We are here 5 days into our 8 day stay. What a wonderful hotel! We have been very lucky with the room view and weather, but frankly this is one of the best hotels we have ever been to. There are plenty of monied people here who would apparently not appreciate the nose on the end of their face, but ignore them and come here anyway! The staff and local people are fantastic.
The service at breakfast and dinner is 7 star. Beautiful table settings, impeccable glassware and silverware, spectacular 5 course fine dining menus every night including gourmet fish and vegetarian options served with aplomb. This is clever stuff.
We have had the privilege of staying everywhere - pretty much - but seldom so well looked
after.
Our room is standard double but beautifully fitted and featured with all modern comforts. Although we're fairly fussy (it might be said ) there's not a thing we would change. The view is jaw-dropping which is an added bonus but we would have been perfectly contented without.
Our son is in love, as we are, with the 7th floor pool with its panoramic views over the town.
This hotel is in a different league. What a privilege to stay here in Feb 2011. It is not cold and modern as some photos suggest, but warm and beautifully appointed.

Please fellow travelers, treat the staff with the respect they deserve for running this silver service.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RobSteric
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 6, 2011

We chose the Lebenberg as it seemed to offer great facilities for a non skiier: fantastic pool with a magnificent view over Kitzbuhel, spa ...spacious lounge area , this was certainly accurate. However if one expectsgreat austrian hospitality do not consider this hotel.

We were given a room at at the back of the hotel,it had a balcony which overlooked , a forrest, we were .. not be able tu use it, as there is no sun,its cold and of course has no view.>i asked the front desk employee as to what the criteria was for beeing allocated a standard room with a viewin the front of the hotel ( very sunny and overlooking Kitzbuhel ) and was tod that I should get in touch with Mr Matthias [-]( reservation assistant manager ) he.. refused to speak to me ( on the pretext that he was on the phone )
I have since foundout that they are allocated on a 1st come 1st served basis , hence ensure that you have a confirmation of the view in writing or you will be very dissapointed !!!!!!!! (bearing in mind that 50 % of the standard rooms are at the back of the hotel )
Some of the front desk employees have a terrible attittude , notably "Alexandra " who is immature and over familiar and would be far better suited working in a bar !!!Seems that the hotel laclksthe personal touch that one expects of a 5 str hotel.

The staff however in the dining room were most courteous and helpful and could not be faulted.Sadly the dining room is not cosy as it is so large , sitting 200 guests , its more like a refectory than a restaurant as it consists of a very long room with tables on both sides !! The food was innovative but very bland at times .
All in all you will find much better and friendlier 5 star hotels in kitxbuhel , perhaps not with such a view but certainly with that "gemutlichkeit " the austrian hotels are so renowned for. and the hospitality their employees are so proud off . .

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank simoneg1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
b,ham
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2010

i do not no what hotel the reviews were at below mine but it was not this hotel , this hotel is pure class , from the rooms to the food and the stunning view we had ,
we were in room 421 with a panoramic view the room was amazing it had a walk in shower that 5 people coulld have got in even the tiled floor was heated ,the bath was huge and deep needed a step to use to get in and the bath faced the huge panoramic windows so you rest in the bath and see the scenery , the bed was comfatable but was to singles pushed together , the only problem was the wooden floort when me and my wife were making love the beds kept sliding apart on the floor so we used the chaise long and shower more than the bed , the room had a free safe and was cleaned every day , they gave you loads of little things like sowing kits shoe horn shampoo creams slippers dressing gown the room was fantastic and the mountains either side and kitzbuhl in the middle was a great view from the room .
The food was a work of art from the starter to the dessert each meal was superbly presented a work of art some of the desserts and would not have gone a miss at gordon ramseys restaraunts we even started to photo the dishes , the staff were also great , they worked very hard to bring all there meals and always had a smile could not fault the staff at all , and on some nights there was a pianist who played for a couple of hours ,and there were to big parties there whilst we were there , and all were well looked after to some up how posh this hotel is 1 party was the italian ferrari owners club and in the under ground car park there was over 3.5 million pounds worth of ferrari in there .
the hotel bar is expensive a 300 ml drink of beer was 3.80 euros pot of tea 4.50 euros and bottled water at dinner 5.50 euros you could get a 500ml beer in kitzbuhl for 3.80 euros but when in luxury you do not mind
the swiming pool is fantasic with a view of the village and there are 3 saunas but these are for nudists
if you want a day out go to innsbruck and salzburg and also a place called zim am see here there is a large lake with a boat trip to take you around the lake takesabout 45 mins and costs i think 9.00 euros each or was it 18 euros each not sure , you can catch a train to here and innsbruck as we did and the cost was 28.00 euros , this is the price for 2 people or 5 so get some friends and 5 of you can get on the train for 28 euros in total for all 5 of you thre are 3 stations in kitzbuhl so use the main one as not all trains stop at the other stations the main one is were they are renevating it.
buy a gondala card as well this lets you use the gondal for 3 days in 7 and you can also catch the local buses as well this last all week for the buses , on Aug 31st it had been raining all night and when we got up the mountains were covered in snow , so we went upto the top of the mountain it was still raining and as we went up the mountain the rain turned to snow , on the top there was 6" of snow on the ground and was still falling it was great 31st of august and snowing you can walk across the mountain and takes about 30 to 40 mins and here you can catch a gondal back down the other side of the mountain , we could not that day due to the snow but 24 hours later all the paths had been cleared and we did do this , there are also a nice bar and restraunt on top here for a rest 2 days later in zim am see the weather was gloriuous sun and was about 23 degrees every one had red faces in the restraunt that night from the sun, , the mini bus only runs fron 9.00 to 6.00 and is always on time and great to save the walk back upto the hotel , this was probably the only down side the 15 min walk up hill in the evening after a night in town , kitzbulh is very expensive for buying cloths fur lined boots 899.00 euros a coat for a 5 year old 249.00 euros and this was in a sale 50 % off . all in all this was a fantastic break my wife loved the hotel and the whole stay was out of this world , if you want aa bit of luxury for a week then treat your self to here , trust me you can not go wrong i will be back as austrias favorite son said

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jamie6666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2010

The service was variable from grumpy through lukewarm and, at dinner, nice. The room was ok but very bland. It missed all the lovely extra bits that make it 5-star. Kitzbuhel centre is located around 10 minutes walk downhill (uphill on the way back;)). It is very pretty with some super, very upmarket, shopping. I would never wish to stay in Schloss Lebenberg again as I think there are some beautiful alternatives with far superior food. It's one redeeming feature is the amazing swimming pool.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank iloveabruzzo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2010

My husband and I have returned from a most enjoyable one week holiday staying in Hotel Schloss Lebenberg, Kitzbuhel, Austria. The hotel is located a 15 minute walk from Kitzbuhel or there is the choice of taking the Hotel's very reliable Courtesy bus service to and from the Kitzbuhel each hour between 8am & 6pm daily. Most rooms have an outlook onto the mountains. The hotel's staff were most professional, very friendly & welcoming. Our room & bathroom were stylish, spotless and very well sound proofed. For breakfast, it was buffet style with a very large choice of foods to eat - fruit salad, homemade yoghurts, large selection of breads & rolls, cakes & croissants, six different juices, champagne if you wished, smoked salmon, salami, ham, scrambled eggs, boiled eggs, rashers, sausages, fried potatoes, mushrooms, wide selection of specialized teas etc.
Our holiday was half-board, each evening we had an exceptionally well presented 5 course dinner to look forward to after spending our days walking in the mountains. Two appetizers were served by waiter, buffet salad for the third course, main course & dessert were served by waiter. Each course was like a work of art on the plate with high quality of food to match.
The swimming pool is an infinity pool on the top floor of the hotel and looks out onto the mountains & village below. There is a sauna, steam room and a few other type treatments all free to guests. There are some lovely terraced areas with sun loungers accessed from different floors in the hotel.
Every area in the hotel was spotless. We would have no hesitation in recommending Hotel Schloss, Lebenberg to anyone. The hotel has a youth entertainment room with table tennis, pool table & fuzz ball provided. There is a well equipped playroom for toddlers and a Gym for the adults.
In Kitzbuhel, you can buy an unlimited pass for all of the Gondolas, the Cable Car and Chair Lift for 32 euro for 3 days to be used within 7 days of been purchased or 42 euro for 6 days to be used within 14 days of been purchased. We bought the 6 day pass and it really opened up the mountains to us, all of the paths on the mountain tops are very well signposted with beautiful scenery and restaurants dotted along the way. We hope to return again next year as this has been the best hotel we have ever stayed in.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Olga D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Lincolnshire
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2010

The room was great! The swimming pool is fantastic with a panoramic view over Kitzbuhel and mountains. If you are part of a tour group DBB - BEWARE! We were separated from the main dining room. Breakfast very good but the so called 3 course dinner consisted of very small portions and to a poor standard! No bread with soup first night. 2nd night allowed to use the salad buffet after tour driver made representation. 3rd night - No salad buffet access - unless we pay 10 Euro each extra!! What a pity - we were let down over dinners!

  • Stayed June 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JohnM57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kitzbuhel hotels
1.2 mi away
A-ROSA Resort Kitzbuehel
A-ROSA Resort Kitzbuehel
#3 of 48 in Kitzbuhel
728 reviews
0.8 mi away
Best Western Premier Kaiserhof Kitzbuehel
0.6 mi away
Tennerhof Gourmet & Spa de Charme Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Kitzhof Mountain Design Resort
0.4 mi away
Q! Resort Health & Spa Kitzbuehel
0.9 mi away
Schwarzer Adler
Schwarzer Adler
#15 of 48 in Kitzbuhel
278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Austria Trend Hotel Schloss Lebenberg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Austria Trend Hotel Schloss Lebenberg

Property: Austria Trend Hotel Schloss Lebenberg
Address: Lebenbergstrasse 17, Kitzbuhel 6370, Austria
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Tirol > Kitzbuhel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Kitzbuhel
#4 Spa Hotel in Kitzbuhel
#5 Family Hotel in Kitzbuhel
#14 Romantic Hotel in Kitzbuhel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Austria Trend Hotel Schloss Lebenberg 5*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enthroned high above the rooftops of Kitzbühel, Hotel Schloss Lebenberg enjoys views of an imposing Alpine backdrop. The Palace unites the Magic of days past with the luxuries of today. From here, you will be able to discover the beautiful sights of our Region and enjoy a truly unforgettable stay.Our establishment´s 150 rooms and suites serve as your personal realm of Relaxation and ease. The tastefully furnished rooms provide the perfect Setting for an enchanting vacation.You will discover an Array of culinary delights in our "Residenz" Restaurant. Enjoy the sunrise over an Extended breakfast and, in the evening, allow us to treat you to mouth-watering specialities of Austrian cuisine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Austria Trend Hotel Schloss Lebenberg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Schloss Lebenberg Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing