We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unfriendly, arrogant, far overpriced, zero service”
Review of Pension Johanna

Pension Johanna
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Pension Johanna
Ranked #27 of 35 Kitzbuhel B&B and Inns
Dusseldorf, Germany
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Unfriendly, arrogant, far overpriced, zero service”
Reviewed February 28, 2013

We, my girlfriend and me, stayed at pension Johanna for a weekend.
When I booked the room I was already surprised, as the rates were ridiculously high (€340+ for a double for 2 nights). As per se I like staying in upper class hotels or little boutique B&Bs and this is Kitzbühl I thought that its gonna be alright. You will get a nice place for that amount of money.
WRONG.
Right after the booking you get the "contract" saying you pay sum x if you cancel x days in advance and this is the austrian law etc... Nowadays, with late cancellation possibilities all over the place, I thought this is quite oldschool. As we checked other hotels and B&Bs we saw why they do this. Cheaper & better. Fact.
To look stylish, they put up a Nespresso machine in the entrance. I thought, excellent, lets have one. But NO, first pay a Euro to the owner, who was standing next to you. What a nice welcome when you check in.
Then they wondered where we parked and why not in front of the house etc. As I found a parking 2 meters away (very lucky in Kitzbühel!) I didnt care but found out later, that they even charge you 5 € for that.
The room:
Warning signs in the very small room all over the place... do no use towels to clean shoes, do not run the water too long, do not STEAL anything etc. Ridiculous. Never seen anything like it. And no, it was not any boutique style. Just a plain, IKEA in the 90s furnitured room.
The sleep wasnt good either. Foam pillows, foam-ish-feeling blankets, windows couldnt be properly openend, super tiny 10" TV (and no, I do not judge a hotel by its TV size!), poor wifi reception in our room.

Breakfast was, apart from warning stickers saying that you are not allowed to make lunchbags, good. Well, and the owner sat basically next to us, "arranging" stuff. Weird.

At the check out, which is obviously not only at 12 but before (I think it was 10?) they even do not accept ANY cards. Too stingy to pay the 2% fee?!

My conclusion:
Never ever go there again.
This couple should have never ever gotten into the hospitality industry in the first place.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank jiha335
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    5
    1
    1
    4
See reviews for
2
10
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Newport, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Very warm sincere welcome and atmosphere throughout the stay. We were 5 guys on a birthday trip and found the location excellent for access to the pistes. Loved the breakfast - great bread and selection I continental style meat/cheese/boiled eggs/cereal/yoghurt. Trina and Fritz were really great. A good experience of Austrians or sure.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Manofmoss77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wymondham, Norfolk
Level 6 Contributor
149 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2012

We have been staying at Pension Johanna on and off for the last 15 years. It is very close to the town centre and all amenities. Our hosts, Trina and Fritz have made a lot of improvements , the most important being to the breakfast room, which they have extended. The breakfast is very good with plaenty of choice of breads and cereals and fruit. Our room was comfortable and spacious, the only down side being that the room is overlooked by the kitchens of the hotel next door. So judicious use of curtains required! That said we would always recommend this little B&B. If you are cycling on your holiday, be sure to talk to Trina &Fritz as they are both keen cyclists and are a mine of information on routes

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Norfolkseagull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2011

During a recent trip to Kitzbuhel we decided to stay an extra couple of nights after our 1 week package and went for the Pension Johanna.

On booking I asked for a room for 2 men for 2 nights. The answer we had from Pension Johanna was that the had only a room No6 available which was a 3 bed room. Fine, we thought. On arrival, I asked the check person if the room had at least 2 separate beds since we were 2 males. She replied "no, just a double bed, but we can do something don't worry."

The place is pleasant enough and the breakfasts are basic until you find out that they charge you extra even if you want just 1 egg. (4 EUR). [To me bed and breakfast should be included regardless of what you want to eat].

When we got to the room our chins dropped a bit. The rooms are very small. The bathroom is so small that it's difficult to get in and close the door. (call it small world charm). There is 1 x double bed in the room and then pushed up against the wall is a small single bed, which I guess they added to the room. Ok we thought, the place is clean, they seem friendly enough, etc..

Then check out came and she presented us with a bill for 3 x persons for 2 nights and we asked why it is this price as we were only 2 people. So 74 EUR/night for 2 nights, we thought that should mean that we pay 4 x 74 = 296 EUR. But oh no she had other ideas, she went on to explain to us that this room can accept 3 persons (2 in the double bed and 1 in the single which wasn't even in the room when we checked in) so we must pay for all 3 persons (despite never having asked for a room for 3 persons). In addition they market this tiny room as a 3 bed room. Only 2 beds are in it. It could NEVER accept 3 beds. In the end we paid 444 EUR for a tiny room which was inadequate and small.
They said that was the only room they had available but there was a vacancy sign outside and there must have been other rooms available when we were there as the place seemed empty.

When I got home I emailed the property to ask again why she had made this charge to us and she was always very defensive and insisted that she had not forced us to book the room.
"We are sorry that you are not able to see, that YOU booked the room under the conditions we offerd you !
We did not force you to book the room !"



Please be very careful booking this accommodation as they are misleading misrepresentative and everything about their manner is that they want your money however they can get it.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank mcnessie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pensionjohanna, Inhaber at Pension Johanna, responded to this review, March 4, 2011
Mr. Mcnessie booked in our Pension "with his knowing" a 3-bedroom - we also told him there is a double and a single bed in the room. He accepted all conditions. Our 3-bedroom always has 1 doublebed & 1 singlebed - we did not put up an extra bed at the check-in ! He also told our Tourisminformation that we offer Eggs for Breakfast for the price of 4 €, which is not the truth. 1 boiled Egg costs 0,70 €, and the scambled Egg with Bacon- (3 Eggs with Bacon) costs 4.0 €.
Breakfstbuffet: Yes everything from the buffet is included, also the drinks - only eggs are extra to be payed..Did Mister Mcnessie expect a buffet like in a 5star-Hotel ? Most Guest are very Impressed to find a buffet like the one we offer in a small Pesion like ours.
Dear Mr. Mcnessie - once again - we are very sorry that you feel treaded - but we still thank you for your opinion.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing, China
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 6, 2011

I stayed there for a week to enjoy both the snow of Kitzbuehel and the hospitality of the host couple. The pension is small but is maintained up-to-date. It is 10-15 minutes walk to the famous Hanenkamm gondola and train station. The shuttle bus stop is located right in front of the front yard gate. The host couple are nice and ready to answer whatever questions. The pension is great for friends and family holidays.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank abrahamhuang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kitzbuhel hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Resch
Hotel Resch
#17 of 47 in Kitzbuhel
41 reviews
0.6 mi away
Q! Resort Health & Spa Kitzbuehel
0.0 mi away
Q! Hotel Maria Theresia
Q! Hotel Maria Theresia
#20 of 47 in Kitzbuhel
284 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Schwarzer Adler
Schwarzer Adler
#15 of 47 in Kitzbuhel
277 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Zur Tenne
Hotel Zur Tenne
#13 of 47 in Kitzbuhel
128 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sporthotel Reisch
Sporthotel Reisch
#10 of 47 in Kitzbuhel
156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pension Johanna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pension Johanna

Property: Pension Johanna
Address: Hammerschmiedstr. 10 | 6370 Kitzbuehel, Kitzbuhel, Austria
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Tirol > Kitzbuhel
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Ski-In / Ski-Out
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 35 B&Bs / Inns in Kitzbuhel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Pension Johanna 2*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
**-Pension Johanna - "The hearty B&B in the heart of legendary Kitzbuehel". Perfectly located, quiet in the centre of the alpine city, just only a few minutes walk to the historic centre, to the cable cars (to the top of the famous Hahnenkamm), golf, tennis, railway stations etc. Bus stop just in front of the house. Limited space for car parking (pls. Reserve). A cosy small house with intimate atmosphere, individually styled accomodations, inkl. Shower/WC, flat-TV, hair dryer, non-allergic bedlinen etc. Non-Smoking! Breakfast will be served on MON-FRI 08:00-10:00 hrs, on weekend 08:30-10:30 hrs. CHECK-IN 14:30-18:00 hrs (later till 21:00 hrs on demand) CHECK-OUT 8:00-11:00 hrs RECEPTION 8:30-11:00 hrs & 14:30-18:00 hrs ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Pension Johanna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing