We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very pleasant hotel”
Review of Sonnenhof Igls

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sonnenhof Igls
Ranked #24 of 73 Hotels in Innsbruck
Certificate of Excellence
UK
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Very pleasant hotel”
Reviewed December 26, 2013

We visited the Sonnenhof in early December. The hotel was quiet but the welcome was warm and friendly. They spoke very fluent English and were very eager to help us get around. The hotel is situated in a small village a few kilometres from Innsbruck. This is no problem; buses are very frequent and there is an hourly tram service (always on time) that winds through hills and forest and terminates10 or 12 minutes stroll from the city centre. You turn left from the hotel entrance for the buses but if you turn right you are walking on a walkway through snowy fields to the village of Patsch with almost 360 degree views of mountains, stunning under a sparkling blue sky.
The hotel is very clean and breakfast is the usual mix, nicely presented. Our room was spacious and the bed comfortable. We had a good view of the mountains from two windows. Christmas decorations and the crib added to the pleasant atmosphere. Our only complaint was the towels which are very old and harsh. However we would be happy to go back as the hotel is excellent value for money.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rosemary_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    76
    48
    12
    1
    0
See reviews for
44
66
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2013

I hate to begin a review with negativity, so I will say that the establishment was clean, the bed was comfortable, the shower was warm, and when we met the proprietors, they were nice enough. That being said, our visit began poorly when we arrived around 7 PM after a long day of travel to find the place locked and dark...NO ONE WAS THERE! There had been NO communication indicating that we should be there at any special time so we banged on doors, tired and in the dark wondering what to do. There was no response form the hotel number. We finally noticed, in Austrian, a note with a different telephone number, which we tried with success. We were told our key was in a lock box. After figuring that out , we proceeded to lug our suitcases up several flights of stairs (we are over 60) to our room searching for light switches...the room was tiny and quite frankly, run down and homely...Not the Tyrolean experience we saw in the pictures. The unmatched towels in the bathroom were so used and rough they were more like loofah scrubs....while the breakfast was OK, and we had a pleasant chat with the owner, I really felt that this place was happy to get by with the bare minimum in amenities and services. Perhaps this is a happening place for some... but for us, even at 88 euros per night, the Hotel Sonnenhof was a big disappointment.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bowissa52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2013

Cosy family-run hotel but a bit dated. Their breakfast is quite standard. However for those with heavy luggage do take note that there are no lifts in this hotel and you have to lug up all your heavy stuff via the stairs

Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank aiivee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 179 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2013

Room was big and there's bath tub in the bathroom. It looks worn out but I guess it will do for just a stopover. Unsure how convenient this B&B is considering I joined a tour group and I basically have my transportation covered. There's no lift in the hotel as such, if you have big luggage in tow and if the owners are occupied with other work, you gotta lift it all the way up to whichever level you are staying at. Breakfast spread is really good and the owners are more than happy to explain to you on the point of interests, or the history of this quaint B&B.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank AnnieLiew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgetown, Texas, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2013

We stayed four nights and had a wonderful experience at this beautiful b&b. The spring flowers were in full bloom. The large room was clean and comfortable with a wonderful view of the Alps from the balcony. Thomas, innkeeper, was so helpful and was able to communicate with us in English - a big plus for us non-German speaking tourists. He recommended glorious hikes and delicious restaurants. The b&b was located conveniently located near a bus station where a bus arrived every 15 minutes going into Innsbruck and a tram that had a hourly schedule. Because of the wonderful hiking right from the b&b, we only went into Innsbruck one day for sight seeing. Sonnehof had a great location, was a good value, and was truly comfortable.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Glen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 20, 2012

After two weeks in the ParkHotel doing the Mayr Cure, I moved to the Hotel Sonnehof for my final week. It was warm, clean and the owner Mr Hofbauer was very friendly and accommodating. He was totally laid back when I decided to come back to the UK a week early. All in all, it was a great place to stay while doing the Mayr Cure, and it's only a two minute walk from the ParkHotel, so it's easy to pop back there during the day.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank L B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2012

We stayed two nights in this location in august 2012: the hotel is in a quite residential tiny town 5 minutes away by car from the center of Innsbruck. The rooms are spacious and clean, the bathroom had a window. The plus is the buffet-breakfast that includes a very large selection of food and beverage (from "kase" to eggs, orangejuice, varius types of bread and cakes...) that allowed us to eat enough to avoid lunch! The price was 86 euros for a double room per night.
Definively a good choice for a short (or maybe long) stay in Innsbruck, a city that deserves at least two days due to the wide range of attractions and very nice atmosphere.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank ivanokge78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Innsbruck hotels
1.8 mi away
Baerenwirth - Hotel
Baerenwirth - Hotel
#1 of 1 in Patsch
142 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Gruberhof
Hotel Gruberhof
#37 of 73 in Innsbruck
197 reviews
7.9 mi away
Tyrolis Hotel
Tyrolis Hotel
#34 of 73 in Innsbruck
152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Sporthotel Igls
Sporthotel Igls
#23 of 73 in Innsbruck
313 reviews
2.1 mi away
Ramada Innsbruck Tivoli
Ramada Innsbruck Tivoli
#13 of 73 in Innsbruck
632 reviews
2.4 mi away
Hotel Kapeller Innsbruck
Hotel Kapeller Innsbruck
#5 of 73 in Innsbruck
427 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sonnenhof Igls? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sonnenhof Igls

Property: Sonnenhof Igls
Address: Fernkreuzweg 16, Innsbruck 6080, Austria
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Tirol > Innsbruck
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Innsbruck
#3 Family Hotel in Innsbruck
#5 Romantic Hotel in Innsbruck
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Sonnenhof Igls 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cozy family run bed&breakfast hotel. Just 15min away from the center of Innsbruck. Free Wi-fi and parking available. Nice house on a sunny plateau above Innsbruck in the Tyrolean mountains. Equipped with comfortable rooms and apartments breakfast buffet. All rooms have balcony, flat TV and panoramic view. Just 3 min to the next busstop. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and HRS so you can book your Sonnenhof Igls reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sonnenhof Igls Hotel Igls
Sonnenhof Hotel Igls

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing