We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Avoid”
Review of Hotel Heimgartl

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Heimgartl
Ranked #28 of 73 Hotels in Innsbruck
Certificate of Excellence
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Avoid”
Reviewed August 22, 2012

I stayed here for 3 nights with my boyfriend earlier this year. whilst the location is good for the town and access to the slopes (via the train) the hotel smells strongly of tobacco, rooms are basic, and unfortunately, I had a pair of earrings and my passport stolen from my room.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gemma r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    84
    19
    8
    5
See reviews for
55
68
8
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Holon, Israel
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2012

We really loved our stay at this hotel. It's a bit far from the city center, but we really enjoyed our walk along the river to get there - about 15 mins. The hotel is right on the main road and we got a room overlooking the road but it also had a wonderful view of the river. Although I thought the traffic would disturb us at night, it really didn't. The staff were really friendly and Stefan at the desk helped us lug our suitcases up the stairs to our room (no elevator). The room was small but spotless. Couldn't fault the bathroom either, although I would like to have seen soap and shampoo bottles.
A very nice hotel if you're just passing through.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laura205
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2012

The shower and the bed (double bed for a single room!) were great, and the view of the mountains from the window was stunning. However, I was unable to open the window and there was no air conditioning, leaving the room quite warm. For some reason the hallway was pitch-black, and since my room was at the corner of the hall, everyone bumped into my door as they were feeling their way to their room. The road can be a little daunting to cross, as there is no crosswalk in front of the hotel, and it's hard to see cars coming around the bend. Overall an OK one-night stay, but I might not stay here if I came back to Innsbruck for longer than that, because it's a bit of a walk from the city centre.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chr15t0ph3r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2012

In April 2012, I rented a car in Frankfurt with Sixt (the best deal then) and drove through Germany, Austria, Slovakia (Bratislava only) Slovenia and Croatia for 25 days. I stayed in 20 hotels and spent an average of 72 Can/US dollars per night, which is way cheaper than the prices in Canada and USA. Based on this experience, I will rate those 20 hotels.

FOURTH REVIEW: Hotel Heimgartl, Innsbruck

Another small family hotel, not very close to the old town (but we walked anyway). When we got to the hotel, there was no one to check us in, but a message telling us which key was ours. There were no other guests, which made us fell unsafe. Only later we saw a couple of guests. The room was super basic. Parking was free but we were left without the promised free internet, as we didn't know the password. The next morning, the owner was there and he told us it was a regular procedure during holidays (it was Easter monday) in small hotels. This was the place I felt the most unsafe, not only because of the spookiness of being in an empty hotel, but also for leaving the car in the small parking lot in front of the hotel, in a street that, despite the high volume of cars passing by, was rather empty, with no pedestrian life.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lucia G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
130 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2012

We juts needed one overnight stop as we travelled by train across Europe . We found this hotel using TA and were really pleased . Nice warm welcome from the host . Nothing was too much trouble . Plenty of good advice for our brief walk around Innsbruck . Room was "roomy" , clean and tidy with comfortable beds etc . Corridors were a bit stark and echoed but heh ,what was I expecting and how long do you stay in a corridor . It just struck me that's all . We didn't manage to stay for breakfast so cant't comment . Easy walk into the Old Town form the hotel across the river and 5 minute taxi ride to the station . And how nice is Innsbruck ! A real surprise . I would certainly look at this hotel again if I was venturing back this way

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank andyh20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2011

I stayed at this hotel for 3 nights when I was visiting Innsbruck for a Conference. It was my first time in Austria and I absolutely loved it and would recommend to anyone to go there. The hotel was close to the venue for the Conference and to the furnicular railway and the old town was only a 20 minute walk away. The room was beautifully clean, the bed very comfortable and the staff very helpful. I would certainly choose to stay at this hotel again when visiting Innsbruck.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tunkaralin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
280 reviews
161 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 181 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2011

This was great place to stay, just across the river from the town centre. It is about 15 min walk from the old town, and 25 min from the railway station.
It is located on a fairly busy road, so traffic noise might be a problem if you are not used to it.
The staff are very friendly & helpful. Our room was not particularly large - but was OK for a couple of nights. The breakfast was very impressive - a cold buffet, with plenty of local & home made produce - in a fabulous setting - a very old carved wood-panelled room. The hotel does not serve food other than breakfast - but there is a small terrace overlooking the river where you could eat a pic-nic or a take-away.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the road if you are worried about noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TWinster13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Innsbruck hotels
0.8 mi away
Pension Bistro
Pension Bistro
#52 of 73 in Innsbruck
59 reviews
1.0 mi away
Basic Hotel Innsbruck
Basic Hotel Innsbruck
#17 of 73 in Innsbruck
403 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Gasthof Engl
Hotel Gasthof Engl
#24 of 73 in Innsbruck
298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.2 mi away
Tyrolis Hotel
Tyrolis Hotel
#33 of 73 in Innsbruck
152 reviews
1.2 mi away
Ibis Innsbruck
Ibis Innsbruck
#11 of 73 in Innsbruck
1,160 reviews
1.7 mi away
Technikerhaus
Technikerhaus
#47 of 73 in Innsbruck
90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Heimgartl? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Heimgartl

Property: Hotel Heimgartl
Address: Hoher Weg 12, Innsbruck 6020, Austria
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Tirol > Innsbruck
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out
Hotel Style:
#12 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Innsbruck
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Heimgartl 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Heimgartl reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heimgartl Hotel Innsbruck

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing