We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful view from the room, good central location, not the best bed, very basic breakfast”
Review of Pension Paula

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Pension Paula
Ranked #4 of 28 Innsbruck B&B and Inns
amsterdam
Level Contributor
25 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Beautiful view from the room, good central location, not the best bed, very basic breakfast”
Reviewed February 26, 2013

Good central location and such a beautiful view. Very nice area and street.

Room was specious but abit dated, the bed wasnt great. I think its different from room to room, some of them have new beds.

The owners are very friendly and helpful and our dog was no problem what so ever.

We loved the location and the view. The only minus was the very basic breakfast and not a great bad.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank miechiel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    76
    44
    15
    4
    0
See reviews for
29
69
9
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lawrenceburg, Kentucky
1 review
Reviewed December 12, 2012

My wife and I stayed here for 4 nights. It was a very nice place to stay. While the breakfast was the same every morning, we felt as though it was very good, filling, healthy, and fresh. The owner is very polite and helpful and we did not feel a language barrier even though we speak English only. The room was clean and comfortable. It was a good value for the money.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Darin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
37 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2012

Pros: A quiet place. Rooms have balconies with nice view of the city. An OK breakfast. An OK value for money.
Cons: Not too close to the town center - about 20-25 minutes walking distance. Parking is limited to only a few cars. The reception room was full with cigarette smoke when we came. Almost no WiFi signal in the rooms.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank 779Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2012

We were greated nicely enough by the owner when we arrived, although I think his English was admittedly lacking so anything beyond the basic exchange of pleasantries and showing us to our room might have been a challenge.

After we dropped off our luggage, we went into town for the afternoon and then up to the alpenzoo. We came back to freshen up before dinner and found 20-30 ants crawling out of the woodwork by the door to our en suite bathroom.

We did what we could and then went out, not having seen the management at that time.

The next morning, the ants had not returned (maybe we got them all or sent a message to stay away from our room - or maybe someone else had food in their room). We didn't say anything, but it would definitely make us think twice about staying here again.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank matt987321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex, UK
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2012

For the cost of the rooms, this pension offers very good value for money. Rooms are simple and plain, but clean and comfortable. The owner is very welcoming and helpful. We had room 5, with a private bathroom, a shower and toilet, with the sink in the bedroom. This was probably worth paying a bit extra for, as the shared bathroom on our landing only had a bath with a shower attachment, but no shower curtain. Not sure what was on the upper landing. We did have a balcony and a lovely view from the front - when the clouds cleared on the last day!
The room could get warm, and with the windows open the noise of the bells in town chiming might disturb some.
Breakfast simple, just cereals, bread, yoghurt and fresh fruit, with juice, tea and coffee.
Wifi was a bit sporadic, had to stand on the stairs to get a signal.
Got a taxi there from the station when we arrived, which cost 8.50 euros.
We bought the Innsbruck card so the bus was free to use during our stay. The service runs from the markethall to the zoo and is very reliable. It runs every half hour, but we found it easy enough to work around as it was so punctual. It only took 4 mins to get from town to the pension!
The walk into town was also very easy and pleasant along the river bank and took about 10 mins to get to the old town.
The Innsbruck card was well worth getting. Apart from the bus we used it for lots of other sights, cable cars and tram rides as pretty much everything is included. The price is just about to go up to 45 euros, but over 3 days we easily saved over 50 euros on what we did with it.
Would recommend Pension Paula. If your expectations are realistic, you won't be disappointed. We would stay there again.

Room Tip: Front is good for views, back and side might have less noise from bells. Private bathroom could be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank haveh0rsewilltravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Level Contributor
65 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2011

We were so glad to drop our car for the two nights and three days that we stayed in Innsbrcuk. You can walk to the main medieval section in 15 minutes, but we always took the bus, becuase it is included in the Innsbruck card. The bus stop is literally righ across the street from the pension. We were on the top floor in a lovely room and so enjoyed pushing up our chairs to the window to see the view. The other rooms had a balcony with the same view, but probably did not have a private bathroom. We definitely plan to stay here again!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank VisitorfromMaryland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2011

Overall I wasn't unhappy with our stay: the price was fair and the place was clean. The owner is friendly and the breakfast was good. However, it is a little out of town and you can wait a while for a bus. Also, the beds were uncomforatble and there was no air con or fan, so it got pretty hot.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a balcony, it would have been a lot nicer!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ami i
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Innsbruck hotels
6.9 mi away
Tyrolis Hotel
Tyrolis Hotel
#33 of 75 in Innsbruck
4.0 of 5 bubbles 146 reviews
1.5 mi away
Ramada Innsbruck Tivoli
Ramada Innsbruck Tivoli
#13 of 75 in Innsbruck
4.0 of 5 bubbles 612 reviews
0.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Hotel Goldener Adler
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Mondschein
Hotel Mondschein
#10 of 75 in Innsbruck
4.0 of 5 bubbles 699 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Heimgartl
Hotel Heimgartl
#30 of 75 in Innsbruck
4.0 of 5 bubbles 156 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hilton Innsbruck
Hilton Innsbruck
#14 of 75 in Innsbruck
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,854 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pension Paula? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pension Paula

Property: Pension Paula
Address: Weiherburggasse 15, Innsbruck 6020, Austria
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Tirol > Innsbruck
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 28 B&Bs / Inns in Innsbruck
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Pension Paula 2*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HRS, Booking.com, Priceline and Hotel.de so you can book your Pension Paula reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pension Paula Hotel Innsbruck

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing