We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Treat to Eat”
Review of die Wilderin

die Wilderin
Ranked #2 of 442 Restaurants in Innsbruck
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Austrian, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Description: die Wilderin offers modern and yet traditional alpine cuisine. All produce used is sourced directly at local farmers and producers in adherence with seasonal offerings - only what is available at any given moment in time will find its way into die Wilderin's kitchen and onto the plates. Animals are bought as a whole and used that way - meaning, whatever a whole animal can offer on different cuts will be offered. No more, no less. die Wilderin's team is by no means perfect but we are all trying hard, love our jobs and hope our guests take the plunge with us - it's a hell of a ride.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
210 reviews
125 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“Treat to Eat”
Reviewed June 7, 2013

After a week in Austria we decided to not eat "classic". After reading reviews on TA decided to try this restaurant. We were totaly delighted. With a small selection I found it was still hard to decide what to choose. As they change menu daily the waitress was happy to explain menu in English. Great wine & beer and all at a very reasonable price. Didn't book and were glad we managed to get a table. Well worth it.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank TheWilk0s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dieWilderin, Inhaber at die Wilderin, responded to this review, September 16, 2015
Dear TheWilk0s,

so good to see that you had a nice evening with us and enjoyed our not-so-classical offerings. Using regional and seasonal produce on an ever changing menu is a lot of fun to us and it is fabulous when this is also appreciated by guests like yourselves.

Best Regards,

die Wilderin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

474 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    312
    98
    29
    22
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
345 reviews
253 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
“No wonder it is number 1”
Reviewed June 2, 2013

Die wilderin seilergasse 5 Innsbruck
0512 56 27 28
Www.diewildein.at
No wonder this is the number 1 restaurant in Innsbruck. It is amazing with incredibly good staff. We let the wait person decide our menu and we weren't disappointed. The starters were fantastic and the four of us shared each. We did the same with the mains and were all very happy with the choices. We had so much delicious food, we could not fit in dessert nor coffee. Complimentary schnapps completed our meal and warmed us up for the very wet and cold conditions on this 1st June night. Book a table as it is very popular. Thank you staff and trip advisor followers! NB there is no outdoor seating but I have inadvertently clicked it!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank RickyG48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dieWilderin, Inhaber at die Wilderin, responded to this review, September 16, 2015
Dear RickyG48,

thank you so much for your kind words. We love to host guests who are so wonderfully open minded as you were and just go with flow, having a good time. It makes our „job“ so much more fun!

Best Regards,

die Wilderin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Megeve, France
Level Contributor
73 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Nice and Different, Tasty and Comfortable”
Reviewed May 25, 2013

We love the old center of Innsbruck and stay at he Goldener Adler (wonderful) but it is not easy to find a place for a lighter dinner. To enter die Wilderin you have to go through a short corridor from the street and you just see the blue lights from the bar. At that point, don't be afraid, just go in. It is a nice change from tavern. People are friendly and food is very good. We were quite surprised and had a very nice dinner.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Grepon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dieWilderin, Inhaber at die Wilderin, responded to this review, September 16, 2015
Dear Grepon,

many thanks for your kind words - we are happy you enjoyed our food offerings as well as our service.

Kind Regards,

die Wilderin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Interesting place to eat”
Reviewed May 24, 2013

We found this restaurant using trip advisor and were not disappointed. Booking is probably a good idea; we hadn't and were lucky to get a table. We called in at 7.00ish when it was already full and they took our name and told us to come back around 8.00. The bar staff were very friendly and explained everything in English. The outside of the place looks a bit dark and gloomy but don't be put off as it is worth a visit. We had a drink at the bar and a table was produced by 8.15.
The menu is in German and contains some unusual dishes. These were explained to us in English and we had a great meal. It felt like we had tried something and somewhere different from the norm. It was all very reasonably priced with starters from 5 euros and main courses from 8 euros. My husband had the most expensive main course involving wild boar at 15 euros. I would recommend anyone passing through to look this restaurant up and give it a go, not for a sophisticated and romantic dinner but for a good fun evening out.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Lulurose3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dieWilderin, Inhaber at die Wilderin, responded to this review, September 16, 2015
Dear Lulurose3,

many thanks for your positive feedback to your stay at die Wilderin. We are very happy that you had a good time and enjoyed our food offerings.

Best Regards,

die Wilderin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Something different”
Reviewed May 22, 2013

Love this place. They don't have a set menu as it changes every day. The waiters explain the menu to you in English. The food is classical but with a twist and makes you try things you wouldn't necessarily choose. We have been here twice now and on both occasions the menus have been really different but the food equally as superb. Staff are very friendly. I would recommend booking as it is quite small.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank ns246
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dieWilderin, Inhaber at die Wilderin, responded to this review, September 16, 2015
Dear ns246,

We really appreciate your kind words - it is always wonderful when our efforts and our take on trying to go a different way when it comes to regional and seasonal produce is being so fully understood and enjoyed.

Kind Regards,

die Wilderin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed die Wilderin also viewed

 
Innsbruck, Tirol
 

Been to die Wilderin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing