We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great holiday in a great hotel.”
Review of Hotel Gruberhof

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Gruberhof
Ranked #36 of 73 Hotels in Innsbruck
Scotland
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A great holiday in a great hotel.”
Reviewed September 17, 2010

Had a two week holiday in the Gruberhof in August/September 2010. It was a last-minute deal from Inghams and was very good value. We previously visited the Gruberhof in 2006, and therefore knew that the quality was good. This is a small family-run hotel and the welcome was warm. For the first week, we were in one of the older rooms (hence the discount) but received an upgrade to the newer part of the hotel for the second week. The rooms are very clean and comfortable, although the beds creak a bit! While there is no choice, the food is excellent and the service very good.
We spent the holiday either walking or seeing the sights in and around Innsbruck and the hotel location is handy for both. Although we didn't use it, there is a free walking programme available via the Tourist Office in Igls.
We had a great holiday, both in the hotel and in the area around Igls and we would definitely go to the same hotel again. It may be simple in its approach, but is very good at what it does.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Landie1948
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

198 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    72
    32
    21
    17
See reviews for
53
69
6
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
UK Newcastle upon Tyne
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2010

Stayed for a week at the Gruberhof, booked with Inghams for just over £300 - half board. We booked with Inghams as it seems to get you in the newer wing, whilst booking with lastminute puts you in line for the older wing.
When I say the newer wing it looks to be about 10-15 years old, and becoming a more than a little tired - but clean for the most part - balcony was a low point wiht grubby floor coverings and chairs, and the refuge of the smokers - bad news if you like your window open.
Bio pool a definate no - no for swiming but a nice feature to look at.
There are roooms on the front of the hotel that have aview of the mountains and some at the back that have a view of garages, flats and some tall trees. Go for the front if you can swing it.
The breakfast is marginal - fruit juice / tea / coffee. Two cereals, one a basic alpen type and the other the rather cardboard corn flakes that you can find in the cheaper hotels in Austria. Two breads - quite a surprisingly poor quality crusty bun and brown sliced bread, plus butter and jam. No sign of fresh fruit at all - ever.
The main meals were plentiful, so much that out of the 10ish tables 3 or 4 asked for 2kinder" portions. The lack of any choice was a minus point though as some of the dishes were not to english tastes even though it was all english people in the hotel - never a good sign if the locals don't frequent - have to be fair though some others did lap it up.
The hotel is at the top of a big hill 5-10 mins walk outside the centre of Igls, near to the cable car but a long way from the Tram to Innnsbruck - which stops running at 7pm ish so no good for a evening in Innsbruck.
Igls is a one horse town with no horse - one shop and a Spar - think Innsbruck has sucked the life out of it - most people congregate around the bus stop to get the bus somewhere else.
Overall the price of the hotel/holiday needs to be taken into account, and as it was low the Gruberhof gets an avareage rating - if we had paid anywhere near the brochure price (don't think anyone does) we would have struggled to give anymore than a one star.
Don't take any notice of the 5 star ratings - it's not.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mychuno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2010

Stayed at Gruberhof last week 26th August great location, fabulous views, very homely Elisabeth was great. Uphill from village may cause problems for less able. Good value for money paid.
Food good but no choice and very big portions, very clean, friendly place meet some nice people, stayed in new wing rooms excellent, but no hairdryer. Local tourist information office excellent, lots of free trips and info. Great place to stay to visit other villages or Innsbruck either walking or tram. Public transport excellent, cheap, and reliable.Had a couple of good evenings at Jeromes bar very friendly. Will go back again Ann,Don & Maureen

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HolsAug2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oldham
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2010

Stayed here with Inghams 26/8 to 4/9 and for what we paid it was excellent value for money,transport into Innsbruck with either tram or bus very regular,Transfer from airport 15 mins,not much in hotel at night but after a busy day and a hearty meal ,a couple of drinks,we were ready for bed.Rooms very spacious in new wings and views from the front of hotel are breathtaking.In summer worth buying an Innsbruck card if you want to see the sights etc.Would come here again.Phil and Pauline and family.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OldhamPhil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2010

Just returned from a two week holiday at the Gruberhof,if you love good walks,views and a homely atmosphere then this is the place for you.The views from our balcony in the new wing were not to be missed,rooms cleaned daily,good,tasty food.The hotel was only yards away from the cable car to Patcherkofel,buses and trams to Innsbrook within easy reach.We made full use of the Innsbrook card available through the rep or tourist office which allows you into most attractions and one ride up and down on the cable cars in the area for free for a certain period. The hotel is perched on the top of a steep hill in Igls so you do need to be physically fit ,there is also currently no lift for those with heavy suitcases,but if you can cope with this then it is worth the extra effort.A really superb holiday,would have no Qualms about returning here.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marveloussnessess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2010

Booked last minute with Inghams. First night in 2 * room which we would have happily stayed in, but got moved to newer part of hotel following day without asking. This room was better than some 4* we have stayed in and the views from both rooms were fantastic (compensates for the hike up the hill to the hotel) Food was good with carvery twice a week; rest of time no choice but did not find this a problem as the three courses and salad buffet were always tasty. Would recommend this hotel for a summer break.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chatty-7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ckbell63
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 8, 2010

I am just back from a superb weeks holiday at the Gruberhof. The location and views from the hotel are stunning. First night I ate outside next to the pond and the views were out of this world.

Food was superb, staff friendly and they work long hours. I stayed in the 2 star part but it had all I needed. The room was ideal and again had stunning views.

Igls is a superb location for popping down to Innsbruck with a regular bus and tram service. The bus runs several times an hour, look for buses with J on them. Trams run at 38 mins past the hour down to Innsbruck.

Lots of walks from Igls and many right next to the Gruberhof. Igls offers free hiking and nordic walking. I did both and they were superb.

I will be back for sure as it bettered my expectations.

It is high up in Igls so you need to be fit to get up there. Would not suit someone who does not like walking up hills. It is only 5 mins from the centre of Igls but it is all uphill.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ckbell63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Innsbruck hotels
8.4 mi away
Tyrolis Hotel
Tyrolis Hotel
#33 of 73 in Innsbruck
152 reviews
1.6 mi away
Baerenwirth - Hotel
Baerenwirth - Hotel
#1 of 1 in Patsch
142 reviews
0.5 mi away
Sonnenhof Igls
Sonnenhof Igls
#23 of 73 in Innsbruck
137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Pension Zillertal
Pension Zillertal
#38 of 73 in Innsbruck
112 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Eagles Inn
Hotel Eagles Inn
#35 of 73 in Innsbruck
148 reviews
3.4 mi away
Penz Hotel West
Penz Hotel West
#20 of 73 in Innsbruck
314 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Gruberhof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Gruberhof

Property: Hotel Gruberhof
Address: Heiligwasserweg 12, Innsbruck 6080, Austria
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Tirol > Innsbruck
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 73 Hotels in Innsbruck
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Gruberhof 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HRS so you can book your Hotel Gruberhof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gruberhof Hotel Igls

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing