We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A relaxing end to the holiday.”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Penz Hotel West

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Penz Hotel West
Ranked #20 of 75 Hotels in Innsbruck
Certificate of Excellence
Totnes, Devon
Level Contributor
54 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“A relaxing end to the holiday.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2014

We chose this hotel for one night before a morning flight from Innsbruck airport. It is well placed, just 5 min walk from the arrivals/departure hall. Leaving the airport on the main road into Innsbruck it is situated on the right hand side. From the outside the hotel looks functional, but the rooms are comfortable. Sadly on the night we stayed there were some noisy residents speaking in the corridor, this was not the fault of the hotel but rather their clients.

The hotel restaurant is spacious, modern and the waiters were very efficient and spoke excellent English. Like other comments here we were impressed with the food and felt that it was reasonably priced and compared well with other places we had tried during our week in Austria. The breakfast buffet was very good, especially the fresh fruit selection. We will certainly be happy to stay here again!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RPDSPD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

306 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    115
    128
    47
    10
    6
See reviews for
79
92
23
63
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nyon, Switzerland
Level Contributor
105 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2014

We were there for a biz trip plus some leisure time. It's a bit out of town if you're spending most of your time in Innsbruck downtown. You can take the bus (2 euro) or a taxi (about 13 euro) to the old town.

Room is modern and simple. Staff is friendly and helpful. Nice breakfast with a lot of choices. (included in our booking) We had a dinner in the restaurant one night and it was actually the best meal we had in 4 days.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fusionchef_sc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2014

The hotel is very nice. sufficient private parking (no extra fee). Just outside the city (10 min by bus, runs every 15 min) The rooms are spacious and modern. Centrally positioned for several ski-resorts in the area. The restaurant is OK, a bit overpriced though.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Galahotels.com

Helpful?
Thank FV64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bovey Tracey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
165 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2014

This hotel is perfect for travellers who wish to use Innsbruck Airport as it is just across the road and within easy walking distance. It has recently been through a major refurbishment programme and everything is what you would expect from a modern, Austrian, spotlessly clean, and up to date business style hotel.
We always enjoy a great nights sleep there and an awesome breakfast before flying home.
The service is good, the staff are friendly and the prices are reasonable. We were upgraded free of charge to a suite on this occasion as they had run out of standard rooms which was very nice.
It makes a very pleasant end to our stay in Austria and takes the hassle out of travelling home.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChristinaBirtles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level Contributor
136 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2014

We found this hotel on hotel.com and were pleased with the result. The staff is very helpful, rooms are good and clean, and the restaurant was a pleasant surprise --our best meal in three days in Innsbruck

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Edward H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2013

First of all, do not confuse this hotel with Penz Hotel. Penz Hotel and Penz West are two different hotels. This hotel is out of nowhere and if you are short on time do NOT stay at this hotel.
Secondly, this hotel is un-necessarily costly. I paid $235 for one night through Hotels.com and got a very average room. Worst of all, room did not have AC and when we stayed there, it was around 80 degree inside the room. The balcony outside the room is a shared one and people from other rooms can walk into your balcony. We were almost baked inside the room. When we complained at reception, they responded that our room rate was for a Non-AC room. I talked to Hotels.Com and they did not help either. Breakfast was below average and we did not have many vegetarian choices.
Terrible, terrible, terrible.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Anand S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
93 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2013

This hotel was perfect for us - on the outskirts of the city with plenty of free parking and a regular bus service into the centre of Innsbruck and close to the airport. We stayed twice at this hotel as we liked it so much, both times in the same room which was very comfortable with a king bed. Electric blinds which powered up or down at the flick of a switch - a well thought out bathroom and great shower. Our room looked out over the sports fields and mountains to the north of the city. There was a lift to all floors which is helpful when you're traveling around Europe like us in a car. Breakfast was fabulous with hot and cold choices and freshly cooked bacon and eggs. The only drawback was when we wanted to go outside for a breath of air, the terrace was polluted by smokers. I found the rooms extremely warm but luckily we could open the windows.

Room Tip: A very quiet area of Innsbruck
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Viaggio46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Innsbruck hotels
1.7 mi away
The Penz Hotel
The Penz Hotel
#1 of 75 in Innsbruck
4.5 of 5 bubbles 616 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel Innsbruck
Hotel Innsbruck
#8 of 75 in Innsbruck
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,219 reviews
1.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel Goldener Adler
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Adlers Hotel
Adlers Hotel
#10 of 75 in Innsbruck
4.5 of 5 bubbles 547 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hilton Innsbruck
Hilton Innsbruck
#15 of 75 in Innsbruck
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,820 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel Mondschein
Hotel Mondschein
#9 of 75 in Innsbruck
4.0 of 5 bubbles 693 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Penz Hotel West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Penz Hotel West

Property: Penz Hotel West
Address: Fuerstenweg 183, Innsbruck 6020, Austria (Formerly Sporthotel Penz)
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Tirol > Innsbruck
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Innsbruck
#14 Luxury Hotel in Innsbruck
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Penz Hotel West 4*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Penz Hotel West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sporthotel Penz Innsbruck
Sporthotel Penz Hotel Innsbruck

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing