We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hotel lovely, but room was too hot.”
Review of Penz Hotel West

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Penz Hotel West
Ranked #20 of 75 Hotels in Innsbruck
Certificate of Excellence
Herts
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Hotel lovely, but room was too hot.”
Reviewed September 29, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here on the 23rd August 2012 as part of a 50 car European rally.

We were one of the first to arrive, got pole position in the free carpark. The hotel looks a little dated from the outside but inside was lovely. The free wifi is fast and we made good use of it uploading the days pictures to Facebook. The bar has a good selection of beers and wines.

Our room was smallish but very warm. No air conditioning but a small fan on the desk. Because the hotel is so close to the airport, we didn't open the windows due to noise. In the morning we were wrecked due to the heat and having been kept awake but the fan.

The breakfast was great and set us up for the rest of out trip.

I wouldn't stay here again in summer due to the heat.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Gary H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

308 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    115
    130
    47
    10
    6
See reviews for
79
92
23
65
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
287 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2012 via mobile

Very clean and quiet hotel by the airport. Absolutely no noise problem, airport is miniscule and operated by small planes.
Rooms are modern and big enough for business traveller. Excellent breakfast included in the price (90€) so I would call this a bargain.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jvtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goring on Thames, Oxfordshire
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2012

Please ignore the "Avoid if you can" review below - it is utter nonsense! The airport is very quiet, and although the hotel is next to the airport, there is hardly any noise as the airport is very small and only handles a few light planes each day.
We found the hotel to be lovely and clean, very well maintained, and all the staff we encountered (particularly on reception and at breakfast) were extremely friendly and helpful.
The breakfast was absolutely delicious - whilst not being too vast the standard was very good quality and there were many interesting and unusual items, a lovely selection of fresh fruits, and many types of fresh bread to try. And a nice touch was the real fresh brewed coffee (not the usual immitaion coffee sludge from a machine in most hotels).
Although a bit out of town, the hotel was easy to find - we walked into town one day by the river - very nice, and otherwise it was only a 10 minute bus ride (1.80 per adult, or for 1.80 for 2+2 kids if you ask for a family ticket). Also, only a 10 minute walk from Innsbruck Hotting station if you are travelling by train. I think they also had a free car park.
The best bit was to be able to walk 2 minutes down the road and straight into checkin when we headed home after a fantastic holiday.
One tip for Innsbruck itself, if intending to use the Hungerbergbahn and Cable Car system, try to buy the one day Innsbruck Card for around 30 Euros (15 for kids) - it was excellent value and includes free travel on all local trains, buses, and trams (including getting back to the hotel), and free entrance to all museums along with the return trip to the top of the Nordketter Cable Car.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GoringFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Innsbruck
1 review
Reviewed September 3, 2012

when ever i need to stay in Innsbruck, i will stay there.the team was fullfilling every wish. txs the good Penz Team.
kurt

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Kurt S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2012

Overall not very good value. The rooms were very sparse. The lack of carpeting and cheap doors allowed you to hear everybody walk by in the hallway. Very noisy being right by the airport. The rooms were overpriced and the hotel staff at the front desk was awful. Breakfast was nice and the restaurant staff were friendly.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eric B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
138 reviews
128 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2012

This hotel is situated close to Innsbruck airport. But it’s a small airport with few arrivals and departures and most of them are with small aircrafts so it’s not noisy at all. With a car it takes 10 minutes to drive to the hotel from Innsbruck city.

The hotel, surrounded of very nice mountains, has an own parking lot, free of charge for hotel guests. The hotel staff were extremely service minded. The room was OK, however in this cheaper category without any air condition. The wireless Internet was free of charge and running fast (almost 2 Mbit/sec). The breakfast had a lot of choices and of a high quality.

By my opinion this hotel is perfect for the traveler who wants to explore Innsbruck and comes with a car. Easy to reach, easy to park, kind staff, fast Internet and a nice breakfast to start the day with.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Someishere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
India
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2012

excellent hotel to stay,very good staff,very good rooms,very good breakfast,close to the airport,i must stay hotel and value for money.rooms are spacious and very clean and neat not too far from the city centre,an absolute treat to stay in a 4* hotel.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vinit2811
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Innsbruck hotels
1.7 mi away
The Penz Hotel
The Penz Hotel
#2 of 75 in Innsbruck
4.5 of 5 bubbles 623 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel Innsbruck
Hotel Innsbruck
#8 of 75 in Innsbruck
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,238 reviews
1.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Hotel Goldener Adler
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Adlers Hotel
Adlers Hotel
#9 of 75 in Innsbruck
4.5 of 5 bubbles 559 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hilton Innsbruck
Hilton Innsbruck
#14 of 75 in Innsbruck
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,854 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel Mondschein
Hotel Mondschein
#10 of 75 in Innsbruck
4.0 of 5 bubbles 699 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Penz Hotel West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Penz Hotel West

Property: Penz Hotel West
Address: Fuerstenweg 183, Innsbruck 6020, Austria (Formerly Sporthotel Penz)
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Tirol > Innsbruck
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Innsbruck
#14 Luxury Hotel in Innsbruck
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Penz Hotel West 4*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Penz Hotel West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sporthotel Penz Innsbruck
Sporthotel Penz Hotel Innsbruck

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing