We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Folk Art museum.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tyrolean Folk Art Museum (Tiroler Volkskunstmuseum)

Tyrolean Folk Art Museum (Tiroler Volkskunstmuseum)
Book In Advance
More Info
$114.31*
and up
Innsbruck Combo: Innsbruck Card, Traditional Café and Austrian Dinner
Ranked #14 of 86 things to do in Innsbruck
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Newcastle Upon Tyne
Level Contributor
99 reviews
42 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Folk Art museum.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2012

This was an excellent museum. I'm not really a fan of museums, but the Innsbruck card allowed us in for free, and I was suprised at just how good this was and how interesting it was. I recommend it.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank johnj1950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

279 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    142
    106
    29
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Honolulu
Level Contributor
72 reviews
52 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Tyrolean Folk Art Museum”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2012

This was an interesting side trip. Tyrolean arts, crafts, tools costumes, and typical home interiors are pleasantly presented.

I enjoyed it.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank j_d_kopetsky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steamboat Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
251 reviews
179 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 161 helpful votes
“Window into Tyrolean life”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2012 via mobile

More than just folk art, this museum does a wonderful job of explaining Tyrolean beliefs and customs throughout history. There are a number of totally preserved and reconstructed rooms, showing how non-aristocratic people actually lived at various times. A clothing room has manikins dressed in the distinctive costumes of different regions. This room also has pull-out drawers with beautiful clothing pieces for closer examination. An entire section on child-rearing displays artifacts such as christening gowns, and explains the beliefs of the people who used them. There are figures used in religious processions, again with fascinating explanations of the meanings.
The visit includes entry into the Hofburg chapel, also beautiful and interesting.
If I had to choose one sight in Innsbruck, it would be this one.

Helpful?
Thank tallpinesCO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai, India
Level Contributor
50 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Somewhat boring”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2012

An Ok place to spend a couple of hours but personally I found it somewhat boring, displays were somewhat "static", in the sense they were just conventional museum displays, displayed in a very conventional manner, nothing to really grab you. However it does give an insight into life in a bygone era.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank sekharr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Smyrna, Delaware
Level Contributor
129 reviews
86 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“"A WIERD AND UNUSUAL MUSEUM"”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2012

We toured this museum while in Innsbruck. We found it to be rather strange in many ways but most definitely educational! It is not what I am used to (being called Folk Art). The museum has many strange sort of demon looking statues and artwork. What it does have that I liked is a full line of manakins dressed in Tyrollean Clothing through the centuries. Sort of Pilgrim Like in appearance.
Both men and women's clothing. There were also rooms in the museum that simulated in furnishings and appearance what housing was like in the old days. Parlors and living courters and places that the people would gather in to socialize.
It is directly next door to the Hofhirche which holds Maximilian I, Holy Roman Emperor's cenotaph with it's larger than life bronze statues of Kings, Queens and Emperors.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank RLW306
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tyrolean Folk Art Museum (Tiroler Volkskunstmuseum) also viewed

 

Been to Tyrolean Folk Art Museum (Tiroler Volkskunstmuseum)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing