We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Modern, friendly service”
Review of The Penz Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Penz Hotel
Ranked #4 of 72 Hotels in Innsbruck
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 1, 2013

The Penz Hotel is really a modern oasis in the nice oldtown of Innsbruck. The hotel has no restaurant ( there are many restaurants around in a short walk ), but an exceptional breakfast buffet on the top of the hotel ( 5th floor ), where is located also a beautiful bar for trendy evenings. Friendly service at the reception and everywhere you meet hotel staff. Rooms are small, but very nice and clean ( free WiFi ).
Ask for a high level with view on the mountains.There are 2 junior suites with 2 separated bathrooms/W.C's : exceptional. Dont miss this beautiful hotel when you are in Innsbruck !

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maki D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (695)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

209 - 215 of 695 reviews

Reviewed June 24, 2013

An excellent hotel right in the city and only a 3 minute walk to the Old town. The breakfast buffet is amazing as is the setting on the 5th floor with views over the city rooftops plus the nearby mountains
It's a shame that only breakfast is available as the setting would do justice to an evening restaurant, the saving grace that there is a great variety of local restaurants.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2013

This hotel in Innsbruck is known to eveyone who work for SWAROVSKI and ever come to Austria, Simple decoration and clean, right in the city of Innsbruck. it is located next to a shopping mall which offer you access to anything you need for your stay.
Never miss the breakfast, fantistic view and great varity of food, cheese, fruits, joices, one thing that you should not miss it,

Room Tip: Staying high floor that give great view of the mountains. 3th or 4th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Babyprotector
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2013

This was a fabulous hotel we were fortunate to stay in on our last night in Innsbruck. It was very modern with glass elevators that looked out over the town and mountains on the ride up. The room was super clean with a modern style. We absolutely LOVED the breakfast they offer on the 5th floor. So many exotic fruits to try! My husband and I had to load up because we wanted to try them all. The people at the front desk were very helpful and let us keep the room longer than the normal 11:00 check out time. They also mailed my postcards for me which was super helpful! If you want something more "Austrian", then this isn't the place for you. But if you want a modern and clean hotel right in the heart of old town then you cant beat this place!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank figomezzo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2013

This is a very nice hotel. Built in 2003 it is located in the downtown area with a very good location to all that Innsbruck has to offer in walking distance.
The building is modern and a big big PLUS is that you can open the windows!!!!!! Something that you should cherish now-a-days :)
Rooms are nice. Internet is free and fast.
....but the highlight is the FRÜHSTÜCK (in other words the breakfast)
I think I can say that I visit much more hotels around the world then the average person but I rarely come across a breakfast of this quality. It is simply AMAZING. I must try!!!!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GPeto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2013

Despite the horrendous weather a couple of weeks ago, we were delighted with our choice of hotel. 10 minutes walk from the station and three minutes walk from the key old town sights, this ultra modern hotel nestles behind one of the main streets as a peripheral part of a stylish, modern shopping centre development, in which a number of key restaurants are also found. The glass fronted lifts set the tone for the hotel, the rooms are well sound proofed and adequately sized and stylish, whilst the classy American bar upstairs (very popular) shared the upper floor with the breakfast area and a huge sheltered open space, generously provided with tables and chairs. The awning was drawn down throughout our stay because of the torrential rain, but in summer I would imagine that this is a tremendous place to be. Breakfast really does provide an outrageously varied selection of options whilst it is also true that every bar in Austria is like going back 30 years with cigarette smoke hanging everywhere, although it felt quite nostalgic for a while.

Innsbruck itself can just about entertain the tourist for two very wets days, but with better weather, plenty more options would open up.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lancashirelad1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2013

We stayed in a Junior suite and the room was clean, bright and large. The furnishings were very modern whilst still remaining classy.
The bar area was welcoming and the staff were very attentive. The balcony whilst beautiful was a little cold but it was December so really not a negative.
The reception staff were very helpful and spoke fantastic English and patiently waited while I practised my German on them!
The only negative I have is that the restaurant is only available on a pre-booked basis with a minimum head count but there are a number of restaurants nearby.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HunglishCouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Innsbruck hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Innsbruck
Hotel Innsbruck
#8 of 72 in Innsbruck
1,375 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Maximilian
Hotel Maximilian
#3 of 72 in Innsbruck
591 reviews
0.4 mi away
Adlers Hotel
Adlers Hotel
#9 of 72 in Innsbruck
635 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
TC Hotel
TC Hotel
#13 of 72 in Innsbruck
2,048 reviews
0.3 mi away
Nala Hotel
Nala Hotel
#1 of 72 in Innsbruck
589 reviews
0.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Hotel Goldener Adler
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Penz Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Penz Hotel

Address: Adolf-Pichler-Platz 3, Innsbruck 6020, Austria
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Tirol > Innsbruck
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Innsbruck
#3 Family Hotel in Innsbruck
#4 Luxury Hotel in Innsbruck
#6 Romantic Hotel in Innsbruck
Price Range: $180 - $302 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Penz Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A modern glass building with panoramic views, The PENZ Hotel openend its doors in 2002 as Innsbruck's first ever design hotel. In terms of furnishings, The Penz Hotel, located in the heart of the city, resembles the outer building - a lot of glass, paired with earthy colors and wood makes a comfortable yet sophisticated look. That extra special something is to be discovered on the 5tth floor, where the bar and restaurant offer spectacular views of Innsbruck for breakfast in the mornings or by night at the American Bar ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your The Penz Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Penz Hotel Innsbruck

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing