We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Smack”
Review of Hotel Maximilian

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Maximilian
Ranked #2 of 75 Hotels in Innsbruck
Certificate of Excellence
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Smack”
Reviewed March 19, 2014

Stayed there for 2 nights in March 2014 on a business trip. Ideal location smack in the middle of the town next to the river. All restaurants, shops and other facilities are just behind the corner. Rooms are pristine though a bit small if you're not used to european standards but everything is there. Breakfast is second to none and unequaled even in the most upscale hotels. Friendly, efficient and non-invasive staff. Thumbs up!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gekk0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

523 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    286
    209
    25
    3
    0
See reviews for
79
280
32
52
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
48 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2014

Great family hotel with friendly staff, superbe breakfast and clean rooms right next to the old town of Innsbruck.

Only minus point was the bedtroom/bathroom seperation out of glas, no real privacy, but for an overnight stay this didnt bother much

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Fabienne1504
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
1 review
Reviewed February 8, 2014

We was travelling to Innsbruck early January for few days and choose this place and where totally satisfied. Rooms good & clean a bit small alltough but all we needed in the middle of town, staff friendly and helpful especially the lady who clean up the room, breakfast for us as breakfast lovers are more than great to start the day, coffee could be better.
So well done we coming back

Room Tip: we had 5th Floor with view to the mountains....great especially for us as we living in Bangkok there...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stefan N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shakopee, Minnesota
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2014

Great hotel. I had one of the attic rooms so you had to be careful of the slanted ceiling. It was the nicest room I had my entire trip in Europe. The bathroom was quite small but it was that way in all my hotels. The free WiFi worked like a dream. The breakfast layout was great...it had a exceptionally expansive selection of fruits, nuts, breads, and more. Location was close enough to the train to walk and very close to the Golden Roof, Christmas markets and other shopping. The views of the mountains made it even better. The staff was really friendly and super helpful. I appreciated their help with train schedules and food suggestions. I would recommend this hotel to anyone traveling to Innsbruck.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chrsmrtnsn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
isolde p, Manager at Hotel Maximilian, responded to this review, January 22, 2014
Dear Guest,

thank you very much for taking your time to write your evaluation about your stay at our Hotel Maximilian Stadthaus Penz.

We are so happy that you've enjoyed your stay at our hotel so much.
It's so good to hear that you've liked our small but comfortable attic room and also the breakfast buffet, which you've kindly described a bit. :)
We do our best every day to make our guests' stay as comfortable as possible and we are glad to read that we've got everything to your satisfaction.

We are looking forward to welcoming you again at our hotel at your next Innsbruck visit.

Kindest regards,
The Penz family with team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aachen, Germany
Level Contributor
175 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2014

The location of this hotel is perfect, very close to the downtown but quiet. The taxi stop is just across the street. The room is small but it is normal for a city hotel. However when we arrived, our room was not very clean. The breakfast offers a variety of cold cuts, jams, cheese and many many fresh fruits. The staff at breakfast is very attentive.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CWU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malaysia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed December 18, 2013 via mobile

I'm so glad we stayed here. The location is perfect and the staff are so helpful. The hotel seems to be newly renovated and yes the rooms are smallish - go for the deluxe if there are two if you traveling. As a family we were well looked after - if you don't want to pay for their breakfast (which was very good) just around the corner there are coffee shops selling a great breakfast. On the same block as the Golden roof - great hotel

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank snoozle21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sussex
Level Contributor
79 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed December 7, 2013

What a wonderful find! This hotel is situated in the heart of the old town of Innsbruck and is ideally situated for exploring this beautiful city. It is very quiet, despite its central location, and has recently been renovated. The rooms are modern and well equipped with excellent showers. The whole hotel is very clean and the service faultless; we got a very warm welcome and all the staff couldn't do more to help you. The breakfasts are especially good with the choice of fresh fruits being outstanding and better than any other hotel I have stayed in.
I would thoroughly recommend this hotel and will certainly be re-visiting.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Meg M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Innsbruck hotels
0.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Hotel Goldener Adler
0.1 mi away
The Penz Hotel
The Penz Hotel
#3 of 75 in Innsbruck
4.5 of 5 bubbles 622 reviews
0.4 mi away
Nala Hotel
Nala Hotel
#4 of 75 in Innsbruck
4.5 of 5 bubbles 501 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Innsbruck
Hotel Innsbruck
#8 of 75 in Innsbruck
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,235 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hilton Innsbruck
Hilton Innsbruck
#14 of 75 in Innsbruck
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,848 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Weisses Kreuz
Hotel Weisses Kreuz
#6 of 75 in Innsbruck
4.5 of 5 bubbles 833 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Maximilian? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Maximilian

Property: Hotel Maximilian
Address: Marktgraben 7-9 | 6020 Innsbruck, Innsbruck 06020, Austria
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Tirol > Innsbruck
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Innsbruck
#2 Luxury Hotel in Innsbruck
#7 Romantic Hotel in Innsbruck
#7 Business Hotel in Innsbruck
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Maximilian 4*
Number of rooms: 47
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your Hotel Maximilian reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maximilian Hotel Innsbruck

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing