We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely updated hotel in perfect location!”
Review of Hotel Maximilian

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Maximilian
Ranked #1 of 75 Hotels in Innsbruck
Certificate of Excellence
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
94 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Lovely updated hotel in perfect location!”
Reviewed November 11, 2013

I loved my stay at the Hotel Maximilian and highly recommend it.

First of all the location is perfect. On a main street adjacent to the Old Town and the Place du Bourdge-Four Plaza, it is an easy 15 minute walk from the main train station. The historic and quaint old town district is just behind the hotel and a wonderful place to wander and sightsee. Lots of restaurants and shops to explore.

My room was really really nice. It seemed as if the hotel, which is obviously in an older building, had been updated just days before I got there. Everything was spotless. The bathroom was really nice; very modern and sleek. The wall separating it from the rest of the room was frosted glass. The shower, while small, wasn't too small and was very very clean. The sink was nice and again seemed brand new.

The bed was extremely comfortable. The room was on the top floor and essentially in the attic of the hotel so the roof was slanted. But it made the room very fun and unique. There was a nice seating area under the window. And the view was priceless. I could see the Old Town Tower just across the way and the mountains in the background.

The wifi internet was very strong in my room and the free breakfast was very good with lots of variety. The staff could not have been nicer or more helpful.

I really enjoyed this hotel and would most definitely stay here again!!

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the top floor facing the City Tower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mike C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

531 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    292
    211
    25
    3
    0
See reviews for
80
286
33
52
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Canoas
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2013

Innsbruck is such an interesting city, and this hotel helped us enjoy our stay.

The bathtub is the best thing about it. It's quite long and ideal to relax.

The breakfast was the best one we had in all our European trip. Hot food, plenty of fruit, different types of bread, jam, everything you would expect in a good buffet.

And the location couldn't be better. You are a couple of minutes from anything in the Old Town.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Luciano76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
149 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2013

Awesome rooms! Totally new, very comfortable beds, compact but spacey with a huge modern bathroom. We had breakfast and dinner here and the food was wonderful! The breakfast had a huge array of specialty fruits, it was wonderful to try so many new things! Within walking distance to lots of places to eat and shop!

1st time to Europe and this was one of the top 3 places we stayed (out of 11) Highly recommended, great good, comfortable bed, friendly service, very modern, large rooms compared to most!

Room Tip: everyone in our large party of 10+ rooms loved this place
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RUaVTBaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monument, Colorado
Level Contributor
237 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2013

You will love your stay at the Maximillan Hotel., it is quaint., service is over the top., daily breakfast., and will fix boxed lunch for you., but the restaurant is truly Austrian. Downtown, Innsbruck in Old Town., close to shops, restaurants., and shopping, of course. We travel in the winter, the rooms are CLEAN, COZY, AND WARM., you will love your stay here, parking at the hotel,. so you car is warm with you get in. Have fun, enjoy the views and service at this quaint hotel., we were there for a week., and had a ball., like I said., service was great, and place is clean, clean. Enjoy!! bye

Room Tip: If you open the windows in the winter., you can hear the church bells ringing, and see the snow fall...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paula U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2013

This is a very good city hotel, fantastic value given the outstanding breakfast buffet included in the room. All seems tidy and recently renovated, simple and pleasant rooms, very friendly staff that let us work in the lobby for hours. I'm very much recommending this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stefan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
Level Contributor
104 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2013

I think we were lucky enough to have stayed in really good hotels like this oneThe Maximilian. this hotel I guess was renovated. breakfast really good and staff very friendly. well located and you can walk almost to everywhere pity weather was rainy. but a good place to stay!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank R2ro55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
229 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2013

This hotel has a great location but the rooms were the smallest of any we had on our trip. There is absolutely no place to put anything and we were glad we were only there for one night. The size of the rooms vary and unbelievably our friends had an even smaller room. The air conditioning is centrally controlled and was off in mid September. The room was stuffy but opening the window was not an option because of the street noise. The beds were comfortable and the free WiFi was appreciated.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VacationDays365
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Innsbruck hotels
0.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Hotel Goldener Adler
0.1 mi away
The Penz Hotel
The Penz Hotel
#2 of 75 in Innsbruck
635 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Innsbruck
Hotel Innsbruck
#7 of 75 in Innsbruck
1,251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Nala Hotel
Nala Hotel
#4 of 75 in Innsbruck
506 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hilton Innsbruck
Hilton Innsbruck
#14 of 75 in Innsbruck
1,877 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Weisses Kreuz
Hotel Weisses Kreuz
#6 of 75 in Innsbruck
838 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Maximilian? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Maximilian

Property: Hotel Maximilian
Address: Marktgraben 7-9 | 6020 Innsbruck, Innsbruck 06020, Austria
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Tirol > Innsbruck
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Innsbruck
#1 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Innsbruck
#7 Romantic Hotel in Innsbruck
#7 Business Hotel in Innsbruck
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Maximilian 4*
Number of rooms: 47
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Agoda, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Priceline and HRS so you can book your Hotel Maximilian reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maximilian Hotel Innsbruck

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing