We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great location. small room nicely designed”
Review of Hotel Maximilian

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Maximilian
Ranked #1 of 73 Hotels in Innsbruck
Certificate of Excellence
Mexico City, Mexico
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“great location. small room nicely designed”
Reviewed October 8, 2013

I think we were lucky enough to have stayed in really good hotels like this oneThe Maximilian. this hotel I guess was renovated. breakfast really good and staff very friendly. well located and you can walk almost to everywhere pity weather was rainy. but a good place to stay!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank R2ro55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

540 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    296
    215
    26
    3
    0
See reviews for
83
289
33
52
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, MA
Level 6 Contributor
231 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2013

This hotel has a great location but the rooms were the smallest of any we had on our trip. There is absolutely no place to put anything and we were glad we were only there for one night. The size of the rooms vary and unbelievably our friends had an even smaller room. The air conditioning is centrally controlled and was off in mid September. The room was stuffy but opening the window was not an option because of the street noise. The beds were comfortable and the free WiFi was appreciated.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VacationDays365
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herzliya, Israel
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 27, 2013

Good location. Nice staff. Although noisy at night unless you arrive when windows can be closed. We were there in September when it was hot during the days, cold at night but still - we wanted the windows to be open. You hear the street noise on the 5th floor. Breakfast was great. Worth the 9E each. Exotic fruit I have never seen before and all great. Parking is in hotel Penz close by. 13E per day. Old city behind the hotel. Lots of restaurants and cafe's nearby.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing back of hotel. Don't miss the fabulous breakfast.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carmi Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2013

Stayed 5 nights - first time in Innsbruck - great location - took cable car to Hungerberg and hiked some of the trails - saw wild red deer -

The hotel was 10 minute walk from train station - right in the old town section - great location. Staff were very friendly and helpful.

Room was a bit sparse with very little space to put anything - but we would definitely stay here again. Great beds!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarkandMary42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
montreal, quebec
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2013

I stayed there for one night only before starting a hiking tour in the mountains.
The room was on the 5th floor with a great view over the roofs of Innsbruck.
Very convenient location in walking distance from the main attractions.
Sound proven windows and I slept like a baby.
Very helpful staff, my baggage was delayed upon arrival and the front desk was very helpful.
Breakfast buffet with a huge variety of local food and even seafood

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ueberflieger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hasselt, Belgium
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2013

Although I typically travel for work, I recently stayed at Hotel Maximilian on a family visit with my wife and kids. Maximilian is a typical hotel like you find in so many European city centres. Rooms were fairly small but modern, clean and well equipped.
Speaking from experience though, the hotel wifi is pretty exceptional. Typically in many European hotels you pay through the nose for mediocre speeds and spotty connections. Not at Maximilian. They actually have a wifi network per floor, with great connectivity and download speeds, and it's free! It might seem odd to focus on this in a hotel review, but especially when traveling on business, hotel networks can be a real pain. Maximilian sets itself a part with its wifi investment and therefore it gets a special mention from me.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pjdq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2013

This hotel is a great little hotel. It is very new and modern. Rooms are a bit small but everything else made up for that - very clean and the staff were fantastic. Conveniently located right next to the old town, it is within easy walking distance of dozens of restaurants and bars. We stayed two nights but should have stayed longer as Innsbruck is a fantastic town. Breakfast was included and had the best selection of fruit we have seen so far.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Holidayhound62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Innsbruck hotels
0.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Hotel Goldener Adler
0.0 mi away
Hotel Innsbruck
Hotel Innsbruck
#7 of 73 in Innsbruck
1,271 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Penz Hotel
The Penz Hotel
#4 of 73 in Innsbruck
646 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Nala Hotel
Nala Hotel
#3 of 73 in Innsbruck
522 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hilton Innsbruck
Hilton Innsbruck
#14 of 73 in Innsbruck
1,917 reviews
0.5 mi away
Adlers Hotel
Adlers Hotel
#9 of 73 in Innsbruck
571 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Maximilian? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Maximilian

Property: Hotel Maximilian
Address: Marktgraben 7-9 | 6020 Innsbruck, Innsbruck 06020, Austria
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Tirol > Innsbruck
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Innsbruck
#1 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Innsbruck
#7 Romantic Hotel in Innsbruck
#7 Business Hotel in Innsbruck
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Maximilian 4*
Number of rooms: 47
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Maximilian reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maximilian Hotel Innsbruck

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing