We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic hotel in excellent location”
Review of Hotel Zach

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Zach
Ranked #15 of 72 Hotels in Innsbruck
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 13, 2013

I stayed here with my husband and daughter very recently. We chose the hotel because it was near the Hauptbahnhof, although in the event, we chose to drive. The hotel offered parking for 15 euros per 24 hours, but we were told we couldn't park until we checked in. This turned out to be impossible, as the street outside was so busy, there was no way we could park anywhere near. So in the event we just found our own 24-hour car park, which was slightly more expensive but still only round the corner from the hotel. A minor inconvenience, but might have been a bit of a pain if you had heavy luggage or frail passengers.
The hotel is nothing much to look at, but it's perfectly acceptable, although the garden/yard area outside the rooms is a bit dismal. Our room was big enough for three (just), spotlessly clean and adequately furnished with towels/toiletries etc. It was very quiet, which was amazing given the central location (old town just a few minutes' walk away). The WiFi was very flakey, which was annoying as you had to log in every time you used it, and the strength of the signal was dependent on whereabouts in the room you were seated.
The girl on the reception desk was very friendly but unfortunately not very well-informed. We said we wanted to take the Hungerbahn and the Nordkettenbahn to the top of the Hafelekar mountain, and she said it was an excellent day to do this trip, as the weather was so good. She also pointed out how much money we would save by each getting the Innsbruck card, which gives you free entrance to most attractions, as well as to public transport. What she omitted to point out was that both the railway and the cable car were actually closed all week, so we had paid nearly 80 euros for three cards that we didn't really make the most of. To be fair, she obviously hadn't known that the railway was closed, but we kind of felt that as a hotel receptionist it's part of her job to know these things. So just double check that what you want to see is actually open before you pay for it!
Breakfast was excellent - a really good selection and all delicious.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LizAtk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (275)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

70 - 76 of 275 reviews

Reviewed April 1, 2013

Our flight from Bristol meant that we arrived at the hotel at around 11 a.m. Expecting to be able to leave our luggage and then make our way into town, we were extremely pleased to find that our rooms were actually ready. This meant we could have a welcome rest before making our way into the centre.
We stayed on our way back from skiing a week later and received the same friendly welcome. The place is extremely clean, breakfast is good and the proximity to the station (to a) catch a train and b) a bus to and from the airport) as well as the centre means that we would stay there again.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Renate P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2013 via mobile

Great location, nothing was more than a few minutes walk. Very friendly staff that were extremely helpful. The breakfast was good too. And we had a strong signal for the wifi in our room.

The only issue was the sheets, which looked like they hadn't been changed from the previous tenant.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank emdaves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2013

This hotel was neat and clean, with simple furnishings and decorations, but everything you could want. The beds were comfy and the bathroom had nice quality fittings. There was a good breakfast buffet served, and the staff were very helpful with allowing us to check in early and giving us advice about how to find our way to the cable car. It is in a central location in Innsbruck, about an 8 minute walk to the train station and a 10 minute walk to the Congress cable car station that whisks you to the top of the alps in 20 minutes. It is also a short stroll to the heart of the old town. Overall, I would love to visit Innsbruck again and I would choose Hotel Zach to stay at.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tina G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2013

I wanted to try something different during my business trip to Innsbruck and for budgetary reasons I opted for this hotel. The location is nice, central, but that´s it I´m afraid, especially compared to other choices.
Can´t say a word against the staff, all were friendly and helpful. The hotel doesn´t have own parking, the public garage is around the corner, roughly 100m away. The room on the 2nd floor was OK matching with the 3* rating, however the bed was awful - due to the mattress. I woke up totaly broken in the morning. Breakfast was not impressive, no signs of the advertised tyrolean speck and generally speaking, poor choice.
Value for your money ? Well, at best average, I trust there are better options in Innsbruck where to stay.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tomazzo69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2012

We stayed there one night on our way from Bolzano to Munich. The hotel had a great location close to the train station. The young lady at the desk was very helpful and directed us to the Christmas marts and recommended a nice restaurant for dinner. The double room was a little small, but the bathroom was a nice size. The breakfast buffet is ok.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sl0tta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2012

We reached at 1900hrs and managed to get a triple room for Euro110/-per night which was a great rate. The rooms are spacious, neat and clean with comfortable beds.The toilets are well maintained and clean towels provided.
The staff at the reception are very friendly and helpful. Very centrally located and 5 minutes walk from the train station. The breakfast has a very good selection and is value for money. I really enjoyed my stay here and will love to stay here again.

Room Tip: Our room was at the rear end and there was no noise so I guess this location should be good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Majorramesh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Innsbruck hotels
0.2 mi away
Hilton Innsbruck
Hilton Innsbruck
#13 of 72 in Innsbruck
2,010 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Weisses Kreuz
Hotel Weisses Kreuz
#6 of 72 in Innsbruck
865 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ibis Innsbruck
Ibis Innsbruck
#12 of 72 in Innsbruck
1,213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Hotel Goldener Adler
0.3 mi away
Hotel Innsbruck
Hotel Innsbruck
#7 of 72 in Innsbruck
1,329 reviews
0.2 mi away
Adlers Hotel
Adlers Hotel
#10 of 72 in Innsbruck
606 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Zach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Zach

Address: Wilhelm-Greil-Strasse 11, Innsbruck 6020, Austria
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Tirol > Innsbruck
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 72 Hotels in Innsbruck
Price Range: $101 - $263 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Zach 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Zach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Zach Hotel Innsbruck

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing