We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice and cosy”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Weisses Kreuz
Ranked #6 of 73 Hotels in Innsbruck
Certificate of Excellence
Nizwa, Oman
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Nice and cosy”
Reviewed November 11, 2012

Its in the middle of the older part of the Innusbruck and nieghbours Swarosky Store, Mc Donalds and many local stroes. In evening there are many open band performances and so on that happen just next to this place, the location is just incredible. Its also very close to the point from where you can take the Hop on bus tours and a minute walk to the cable car station in case you want to take the cable cars up into the mountains. It has a lovely view. The rooms were comfortable and the breakfast was good too... historical hotel, when you get there you can read its history, also that Mozart had visited this Hotel, when it was a simple Inn, in the18th century...

Its walking distance to the main station, probably a 10-15min walk. if you have too much luggage then just take a taxi, otherwise walking is fun, cause you see the transition from the newer parts, into the historic district...

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AyeshaMualla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

843 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    409
    336
    73
    15
    10
See reviews for
217
382
67
30
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2012

I have nothing but good things to say.
The property it self has kept some of it's authenticity.
The furniture in the room was made of light colored wood, and looked very traditional, that was just adding to the charm. The room was spacious, with separate shower and toilete areas. Very clean. We had a great view of the colorful roofs and balkonies and the bell tower of the White church. The sound of the bells was waking us up in the morning, which made us feel like we were traveling back in time.
The breakfast was amazing - with a lot of different local style breads and pastries, teas, coffee, cereal, 8 different juices, cold cuts and regional cheeses and a lot more. The dining rooms have walls decorated with Mozart portraits, copies of his music sheets, old travel papers.
Staff was helpful.
The hotel is in the center of the old town, walking distance from the Imperial Palace, Imperial Gardens and the station for the Innsbruck Nordkettenbahn funicular.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vikiterzig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2012

The location of this hotel could not be better - right in the centre of the Old Quarter and close to tram/bus and within walking distance of the Hbf. Although hundreds of years old and with lots of history it has been well updated and our room, though small was bright clean and very comfortable (apart from the pillows) WiFi is free but a bit erractic and the guest computer was not working. Breakfast selection was good. Staff were efficient but a bit off hand - a smile would not go astray! Excellent value for money and on balance a good place to stay

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank itsingers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern California
Level 6 Contributor
69 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2012

The location of this hotel is fantastic. Walk outside the hotel and you are right in the heart of all the action. The hotel is very old, and has such charm. The breakfast was great, quite the spread! There was cereal, pastries, coffee, hot chocolate, tea, meats, cheeses, hard boiled eggs, etc. The last day we had to leave very early, and the staff arranged to have breakfast for us early, it was not quite the spread as normal, but they took the time to lay food out for us for breakfast, and made us coffee and hot chocolate. I cannot say enough about the staff, they were just fantastic. We had some issues with our train reservations and they helped us. We used the computer that was for common use, but the staff printed things for us, and helped us get all settled with our train reservations. The staff definitely went over and beyond, making our stay very pleasant. I would have given this review 5 stars, but the room kept this to a 4 star review. We had a 'double room simple' for 80 euros a night. There were two twin beds, private bath, and it was small. It is the second picture on the hotel website for that room class. There was a window, but it was very small, and opened from the top and pulled down. It opened to a light shaft (center walled area that was open from first floor up), and there was no air flow at all. We stayed there in October, and we were very hot in the room. There was no fan or AC. We also heard all the noise from the other rooms facing that same walled light shaft. You could see their lights, and hear all that they were saying. The bathroom door for some reason would not stay shut. It was a sliding door, and always would slide open. We showered late the first morning and the water was warm, never got hot. The second day we showered very early and had lots of hot water. I don't think I could stay at this hotel in the summer with no AC, it would be difficult. The hotel is in a fantastic location, and staff are superb, and at 80 euros a night I think it was a good value.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pirokp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anchorage, Alaska
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2012

We really enjoyed our stay here, so much so that when we unexpectedly found ourselves needing a hotel in Innsbruck, we went straight back to the Hotel Weisses Kreuz. The two rooms we stayed in were both deluxe doubles on the top floor with partial views of the mountains and the Golden Roof. The rooms were very comfortable and spacious. The staff were very helpful in making our trip enjoyable. The neighborhood is very quaint and tourist friendly with many good restaurants close by. And we really enjoyed the breakfast spread the hotel lays out every morning. If we ever return to Inssbruck, we will certainly stay here again.

Room Tip: Splurge for the superior double for a great room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jonathan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2012

This hotel has a great location and atmosphere and architeture. The history background is very interesting. Mozart stayed here with his father during his trip through Austria. 10 minute walk to the Hauptbahnhof and Nordkette. The breakfast was also very good. The only downside is that when we made the reservations we asked for smoking rooms, but the hotel is 100% non smoking.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marilia A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2012

500 years old hotel, wow.And, everything works all right from lift to washrooms. Rooms are nice and tidy, minimal furniture, bed is comfortable, washrooms adequate. Staff is every smiling and helpful. Breakfast is just super, and an experience to be eating on furniture that is centuries old. Location is bang in the city center, in the middle of so many eating options. When you are in Innsbruck, life is great, everything is great.

Room Tip: Go for standard rooms with washroom
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shalini S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Innsbruck hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Maximilian
Hotel Maximilian
#1 of 73 in Innsbruck
540 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Innsbruck
Hotel Innsbruck
#7 of 73 in Innsbruck
1,269 reviews
0.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Hotel Goldener Adler
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Nala Hotel
Nala Hotel
#3 of 73 in Innsbruck
522 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Penz Hotel
The Penz Hotel
#4 of 73 in Innsbruck
645 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hilton Innsbruck
Hilton Innsbruck
#14 of 73 in Innsbruck
1,916 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Weisses Kreuz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Weisses Kreuz

Property: Hotel Weisses Kreuz
Address: Herzog-Friedrich-Strasse 31, Innsbruck 6020, Austria
Phone Number:
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Tirol > Innsbruck
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Innsbruck
#2 Family Hotel in Innsbruck
#5 Business Hotel in Innsbruck
#5 Best Value Hotel in Innsbruck
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Weisses Kreuz 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tyrolean inn; views of the Nordkette mountain range; near the Gothic Arcades & the Golden Roof. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Hotel Weisses Kreuz reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Weisses Kreuz Hotel
Weisses Kreuz Innsbruck

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing