We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An Austrian Interlude”
Review of Tautermann

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Tautermann
Ranked #41 of 75 Hotels in Innsbruck
Clevedon UK
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“An Austrian Interlude”
Reviewed July 24, 2012

Tauterman Hotel
Stamserfeld 5
Höttinger Gasse
A-6020 Innsbruck

I stayed at this hotel from Wednesday 7th September - Monday 12th , 2011, inclusive, which had been booked through Expedia.
Despite its location and distance from the centre of Innsbruck, the Tautermann Hotel certainly met my requirements in all sorts of ways.
Overall, I found this hotel extremely clean and pleasant with helpful staff. Fortunately as I speak a certain amount of German, I found that with a mixture of English and German, the staff were always pleased to help. This was particularly so especially due to the fact that I was having to use a stick due to a recent fall prior to my holiday, the hotel were very kind in moving me to a room on the ground floor after my first night’s stay.
As I was travelling at the beginning of September and with the weather conditions extremely warm at times, I rather wished at the time that there was some air conditioning available in the room and the only way that I could get some ventilation, was to open the window in the early morning when it was cool. However, despite this, the room facilities were excellent with the room being cleaned on a daily basis.
The breakfast buffet, each morning, was more that adequate with a good and ample selection of various types of bread or rolls plus cold meats and cheese. There were also various types of cereals plus a selection of various fruits to which you could some delicious natural yoghurts. In addition to the breakfast buffet, cold drinks were available from Reception on demand, which was often welcome in the warm weather. .
The only point about the hotel, on which I had reservations was the approach road, the Höttinger Gasse This was a very steep, and at times a very narrow road with quite a bit of heavy traffic going up and down the hill, often at speed, and one had to have one’s wits about oneself to avoid getting knocked down. I also found that there were very few passing places especially when other people were either coming up or going down the hill and passing with one on the same bit of pavement. This often resulted in having to tuck one’s self into a nearby convenient corner in order to be safe.
Despite the rather perilous situation of the hotel, it certainly did not detract from an enjoyable, interesting and comfortable stay at the Tautermann Hotel, Innsbruck and I would certainly recommend this hotel for an economical stay in Innsbruck.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GeoffreyClevedonUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

330 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    108
    135
    36
    19
See reviews for
107
103
14
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin
Level Contributor
110 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2012

Perfect choice for a short stay as it is very close to the centre. Modern rooms and reasonably sized. We had a family room for 2 children and 2 adults. Bathroom was a bit outdated but everything was very clean. There is no lift and the parking situation is "odd". You really need to make a decision if you need the car that day or not as you will get blocked in by other guests. This was to our surprise not an issue when leaving. Good value and nice breakfast.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank grantig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dundee
Level Contributor
48 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2012

We stayed her on way to Axamer ,had a great evening meal and a good nights sleep

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank robmi9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Romania
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed November 23, 2011

Small hotel but ok for it's price. Very small parking place, big rooms and hot ones, the breakfast was so and so, there is no elevator so you will find difficult to bring the luggage to your room. For a short stop in Innsbruck, this is a perfect choice.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Claudiu79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leysin, Switzerland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2011

Overall this hotel is good value. Ample and good quality breakfast - sweet and savory breads, spreads, cold meats and cheese, cereal and muesli, yogurt and simple fruit mix. Great views of the town, mountains and river from the bedrooms. Room decor somewhat dated, overhead bed light didn't work, bathroom tap leaked, and worst of all, bed rock hard, like wood. And curtains were sheer, I had to wear an eye mask to block the morning light. Unless you wish to wake up at the crack of dawn! But the room was kept clean, towels changed every day. Wi-fi Internet connection was questionable, hardly worked in the mornings and only sometimes in the evening. It worked best during the afternoon, when most people are out sight-seeing!
Location was fine, 5-10 minutes walk into the old town, although the walk back is uphill. Good for a leg-workout! Take a taxi from the train station when arriving with luggage, less than 10 euros.
The bed is what would deter me from staying again, otherwise it was a pleasant experience.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank slikchevy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florence, Kentucky
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2011

This was an average hotel with a helpful staff and a relatively close location. We did need to take the bus across the river but it was only one stop after that and a short walk down the street.
The rooms looked a little dated (1970's) but they were clean and very comfortable. The bathroom was decent and we felt that our belongings were very safe in our room even while we were gone.
They had a decent breakfast buffet and their staff was young and very helpful when we had questions about getting to see some of the sights. This hotel was a good value and if you're in Innsbruck, you don't want to spend too much time in your hotel room anyways since the city is so beautiful.

Room Tip: All rooms have a great view but some had a small dining nook as well and we wish we would have asked...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charlie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2011

I stayed at the Hotel Tautermann in May, It isnt a a luxury hotel but an hotel with an excellent location close to the center, clean, and with a great breakfast. The staff are very friendly and always willing to help. The rooms are very large. The hotel doen not have free parking, but you can park the car and leave the keys for the employees to park and change paking spot if needed.
I recommend anyone who wants a hotel near the center with a friendly price.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Squareman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Innsbruck hotels
1.0 mi away
Altpradl Hotel
Altpradl Hotel
#39 of 75 in Innsbruck
3.5 of 5 bubbles 250 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Gasthof Engl
Hotel Gasthof Engl
#25 of 75 in Innsbruck
4.0 of 5 bubbles 287 reviews
0.6 mi away
Goldene Krone
Goldene Krone
#36 of 75 in Innsbruck
3.5 of 5 bubbles 335 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Basic Hotel Innsbruck
Basic Hotel Innsbruck
#16 of 75 in Innsbruck
4.5 of 5 bubbles 393 reviews
0.8 mi away
Ibis Innsbruck
Ibis Innsbruck
#11 of 75 in Innsbruck
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,133 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Weisses Kreuz
Hotel Weisses Kreuz
#6 of 75 in Innsbruck
4.5 of 5 bubbles 833 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tautermann? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tautermann

Property: Tautermann
Address: Hottingerg. Stamser Feld 5, Innsbruck 6020, Austria
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Tirol > Innsbruck
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 75 Hotels in Innsbruck
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Tautermann 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Booking.com, Orbitz, HostelWorld, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your Tautermann reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tautermann Hotel Innsbruck

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing