We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Marvellous days in Best western Mondschein”
Review of Hotel Mondschein

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Mondschein
Ranked #9 of 74 Hotels in Innsbruck
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 11, 2011

Two days spent in Best Western Mondschein in Innsbruck became a real Xmas present for me and my wife. The small but very cousy hotel with a fantastic view on the river Ins and mountains combined with excellence of services, cleanness of the room and stars shining on the ceiling (I have decided to copy the idea in my appartment) made an unforgetable impression. I will do my best to return to Best Western again.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yury60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (727)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Mondschein
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

371 - 377 of 727 reviews

Reviewed December 27, 2010

This building dates back to the 1400's and is on the bank of the Inn River, just across the bridge from the Old Town. Being in an older building the rooms are not large, but they are adequate in size, the bathrooms have been thoroughly modernized and we enjoyed a very comfortable 2 night stay there. The hotel has a private garage about 200 meters away, so you have secure parking for your vehicle. Staff is very friendly and knowledgeable. A computer is available for you to check email and surf the web at no charge. They have a small (quiet) bar downstairs and it has a very quaint back room with the old pillars and brickwork dating back almost 600 years. Breakfast was generous and delicious!

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gpm55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2010

When we booked this hotel on the Best Western website we selected the "classic" room with a double bed. But when we checked in we found the room to be very small. So we asked to be changed to the "panoramic city view" room with a double bed. That room was much, much bigger and nicer (for only 10 euros more) with a lovely view of the river and the old city beyond. Exploring the old city was very easy and a great experience. We were able to park on the street at no charge.

Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
1  Thank MinneapolisTourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2010

I would highly recommend this hotel. It was very very clean, great location, and has lovely staff. We travelled with two young children and had a very large room overlooking the river. The hotel was small enough to be personal but large enough to be professional. To get to the old city you simply walk across the beautiful river and and in less than two minutes you are in the historic centre. Have a drink with the very genuine and interesting Christian in the bar downstairs. Great breakfast also.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Traveller255097
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2010

Great location, excellent staff assistance and recommendations, just across the river from the old city, easy access in and out of Innsbruck. The rooms were clean, entirely workable, and great value for money! We'd go there again, and again!

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leaddog83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2010

This hotel is in an excellant location and easy to find if you are arriving by car, the free parking is also an incentive !

The hotel itself is very dated though and the rooms have definately seen better days. They were however clean and the newly installed bathroom was nice. The bar was a little bit depressing as was the bar staff who found more interesting in watching the tv than their guests!

Overall for the price though this was a good base for one night but I definately wouldn't class it as a 4 star !

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank welshgirlNetherlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2010

We stayed for 3 nights and chose the Mondschein because of Tripadvisor reviews. It was even better than we expected. The rooms had character and were spotless, the only fear we had was that there might be a lot of road noise but this was unfounded because of the excellent sound-proofing. Breakfast was excellent. We were touring by car and needed a place with a car park: the hotel's is up a side street and is a wee bit tight for a large car, but secure and close to the hotel. However the 2 best things about the hotel are its position and its staff. The hotel is literally 3 minutes from the town centre (old part) and is perfectly located for (driving) access from main roads and for walking to the touristy bit. Even better, though , are the staff. We are used to Austrians being courteous and friendly but the Mondschein staff take this to anew level. Desk staff are welcoming, friendly and helpful (all with excellent English) but If I had to single out one it would be Michael (porter, barman, entertainer). Even when off-duty, he helped us park our car and behind the bar he is worth his weight in gold - his only problem is his unfortunate addiction to Irish music. All-in-all a very nice stay and we thoroughly recommend the hotel - we'll certainly return.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank theneills
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Innsbruck hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Innsbruck
Hotel Innsbruck
#7 of 74 in Innsbruck
1,303 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Maximilian
Hotel Maximilian
#1 of 74 in Innsbruck
563 reviews
0.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Hotel Goldener Adler
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Weisses Kreuz
Hotel Weisses Kreuz
#6 of 74 in Innsbruck
855 reviews
0.5 mi away
Nala Hotel
Nala Hotel
#3 of 74 in Innsbruck
549 reviews
0.6 mi away
Adlers Hotel
Adlers Hotel
#10 of 74 in Innsbruck
589 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mondschein? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mondschein

Address: Mariahilfstrasse 6 | 6020 Innsbruck, Innsbruck 6020, Austria (Formerly BEST WESTERN Hotel Mondschein)
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Tirol > Innsbruck
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites
Hotel Style:
#4 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Innsbruck
#5 Family Hotel in Innsbruck
#7 Luxury Hotel in Innsbruck
#14 Romantic Hotel in Innsbruck
Price Range: $116 - $236 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Mondschein 4*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Mondschein is set in a great location, just across the river from the Old Town and close to the myriad attractions, restaurants and shopping facilities. The hotel has 31 rooms in different room categories, including family rooms and 1 family suite. All rooms are comfortably furnished and provide all amenities needed to make your stay a pleasant one. All guests can enjoy the complimentary breakfast buffet served each morning or relax in the welcoming bar for after-dinner drinks. Attentive service and a friendly, family atmosphere characterize the style of the house and guarantee your well-being! The main train station and the airport (INN) are only a few kilometers away from the hotel. Garage parking is available 100 meters behind the hotel, for an additional fee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Mondschein reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Mondschein
Best Western Innsbruck
Innsbruck Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing